PDA

View Full Version : Announce: WinSlim



radish
2006-01-08, 20:13
As part of another development effort (see my post on the developers forum) I've ended up with WinSlim - a very simple, small control panel for your players which runs as a native Windows app. Current features are basic - play, pause, skip tracks, volume, etc but it suits my needs. It also responds to the Media Control buttons found on many keyboards. The library stats also update in real time which is nice when watching a rescan to see when it will be done :)

More details and the download are here:

http://www.adamreeve.com/software/

Note - this is a beta and so comes with no guarantees!

It's not open source yet but will be soon. I'm not touting this as the best thing ever, more as a demo of the SlimCliLib I'm developing.

ezkcdude
2006-01-08, 21:47
This is off topic, but I love your safari photos. If you don't mind me asking, what equipment do you use? I'm interested, because I went on a safari this past summer in Masai Mara, Kenya. I have some pics online here:

http://www.cellandtissue.com/Africa2005/Slides/index.html

radish
2006-01-08, 22:25
This is off topic, but I love your safari photos. If you don't mind me asking, what equipment do you use? I'm interested, because I went on a safari this past summer in Masai Mara, Kenya. I have some pics online here:

http://www.cellandtissue.com/Africa2005/Slides/index.html

Glad you like them :) Most are taken with a Canon 20D and 75-300 IS USM - the specs should be below each one.

eliw
2006-01-08, 23:36
Hello mate,

Great work !

Does "rescan" on Winslim the same thing as rescan when done on the web interface? ie willit pick up new addes tracks etc...

Also why not just go the full nine yard and reproduce the entire option setting capability of the web based interface ?

I'd love something that ca do that, as using the web interface is so cumbersome and slow...

Well done again.

mherger
2006-01-09, 01:02
> Also why not just go the full nine yard and reproduce the entire option
> setting capability of the web based interface ?

Because this is work, and work needs time. Everybody can't work 25h a day
;-)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

radish
2006-01-09, 06:52
Hello mate,

Great work !

Does "rescan" on Winslim the same thing as rescan when done on the web interface? ie willit pick up new addes tracks etc...

Also why not just go the full nine yard and reproduce the entire option setting capability of the web based interface ?

I'd love something that ca do that, as using the web interface is so cumbersome and slow...

Well done again.

Yes it does. There are three buttons - Rescan, Rescan Playlists, and Wipe & Rescan. I think that covers the options available in the web interface but if I missed something let me know :)

afblaster
2006-01-09, 11:33
I have hit a problem:
I have installed Microsoft .NET Framework Version 2.0 Redistributable Package (x86), and WinSlim.
If I attempt to run WinSlim with SlimServer already running I get an immediate error - 'WinSlim has encountered a problem and needs to close.....'
If I stop SlimServer, WinSlim then loads ok, and when I restart SlimServer it finds the music library. When I ckick the OK button it generates an error msg - Unhandled exception has occured in a component in your application. If you click Continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. InvalidArgument=Value of '0' is not valid for 'SelectedIndex'. Parameter name: SelectedIndex

If I hit Continue I get the same message.

Any thoughts what's wrong, please?

radish
2006-01-09, 12:33
I have hit a problem:
I have installed Microsoft .NET Framework Version 2.0 Redistributable Package (x86), and WinSlim.
If I attempt to run WinSlim with SlimServer already running I get an immediate error - 'WinSlim has encountered a problem and needs to close.....'
If I stop SlimServer, WinSlim then loads ok, and when I restart SlimServer it finds the music library. When I ckick the OK button it generates an error msg - Unhandled exception has occured in a component in your application. If you click Continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. InvalidArgument=Value of '0' is not valid for 'SelectedIndex'. Parameter name: SelectedIndex

If I hit Continue I get the same message.

Any thoughts what's wrong, please?

Not right now, but I'll take a look tonight. Thanks for the report :)

EDIT: How many players do you have connected and what type are they?

afblaster
2006-01-09, 16:10
Only one SB2 player connected

radish
2006-01-10, 09:38
Only one SB2 player connected

I took a look, and the problem is it's not able to get your list of players, exactly why not I can't really tell.

There will be a new version soon with better error reporting which should help. In the meantime my best guess is you're running an incompatible server version, or possibly have a login password enabled (which isn't supported yet). Which version do you run?

afblaster
2006-01-10, 09:48
I'm running 6.2.1, no login password.

coldslabs
2006-01-10, 16:46
Everytime I launch WinSlim I get an error. I tried rebooting with the same result. Any advice?:

"WinSlim.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close...."

EventType : clr20r3
P1 : winslim.exe
P2 : 1.0.2199.39419
P3 : 43c1d046
P4 : system.windows.forms
P5 : 2.0.0.0
P6 : 4333aefa
P7 : 2309
P8 : 5d
P9 : system.argumentoutofrange

----------------------------
Specs
----------------------------
1 x SB1 (wired)
SlimServer 6.2.1
.NET 2.0 (downloaded today) - Microsoft .NET Framework Version 2.0 Redistributable Package (x86)
Windows 2000
no password set

radish
2006-01-11, 06:44
Thanks for the error report - this looks like the same issue as before.

There's a new version up on my site now which doesn't fix this, but it will handle errors better. In the event of an error you'll find a file called "error.txt" with the details in it - please send me a PM with the contents of the file. Hopefully then I'll be able to fix it properly.

Thanks!

coldslabs
2006-01-11, 17:02
I may be dense, but I downloaded the new zip file (whose included files have modified dates of 1/10), but when an error occurs, no error.txt file is created. Should I be looking somewhere other than the EXE's folder for the text file?

I changed my setup a bit:
-Running SlimWin on Win2000
-SlimServer 6.2.1 is on Ubuntu linux box on the same local network.
-Still no password

Is accessing a Slimserver on a remote system supported?

I can get the preferences dialog to display now, but when I enter in the information for the server (IP and port) I get an unhandled exception. Let me know if its complete output will help you:

"System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException: InvalidArgument=Value of '0' is not valid for 'SelectedIndex'.
Parameter name: SelectedIndex"

--G

radish
2006-01-11, 22:58
Don't worry - you're not being dense. If you get the "unhandled exception" message then it means the error has managed to get around all my attempts to trap it, hence no error.txt file. How that happened, I don't know :( I've tried to simulate the same error you're getting here and it handles it just fine. Can you check the version number being displayed for WinSlim in the preferences box? Should be 1.0.2201.41709.

Certainly a remote slimserver instance is supported, that's how I run it here. The problem you're getting is that it's not seeing any of your players, that's what's causing the crash. The interesting thing, of course, is why it can't see them/it.

afblaster
2006-01-12, 01:08
Here's the error txt I get when attempting to open ver 1.0.2201.41709.

ERROR: System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException: InvalidArgument=Value of '0' is not valid for 'SelectedIndex'.
Parameter name: SelectedIndex
at System.Windows.Forms.ComboBox.set_SelectedIndex(In t32 value)
at Com.AdamReeve.Slim.WinSlim.MainForm.reconnect(Stri ng host, Int32 port)
at Com.AdamReeve.Slim.WinSlim.MainForm..ctor()
at Com.AdamReeve.Slim.WinSlim.MainForm.Main(String[] args)
at System.Windows.Forms.ComboBox.set_SelectedIndex(In t32 value)
at Com.AdamReeve.Slim.WinSlim.MainForm.reconnect(Stri ng host, Int32 port)
at Com.AdamReeve.Slim.WinSlim.MainForm..ctor()
at Com.AdamReeve.Slim.WinSlim.MainForm.Main(String[] args)

coldslabs
2006-01-12, 11:00
WinSlim Version: 1.0.2201.41709
SLimCliLib Version: 0.5.2201.41705
SlimServer Version: 6.2.1

I noticed today that WinSlim finds the library of SlimServer (the library specs are displayed in the "Library" section). I tried turning off my firewall and uninstalling .NET 1.1 but still got the error when trying to connect to the player. Anything else I can try?

System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException: InvalidArgument=Value of '0' is not valid for 'SelectedIndex'.
Parameter name: SelectedIndex

radish
2006-01-12, 20:24
Just to let you guys with problems know, I've figured out what's wrong. I have a general bug with handling extended responses containing only one result (which is what you get if there's only one player connected). I have 3 players, hence I don't see the bug. I'm working on a fix and will post a new version asap.

coldslabs
2006-01-12, 22:13
Great. Thanks for all your work on something that I think will be very useful.

--G

radish
2006-01-12, 22:35
OK, new version is up (same link as before). This should have fixed the odd issue people with a single player were seeing, I've also added a basic "Now Playing" display, click the "i" button to show it. Note - the controls & display will update when you use the remote or web interface, but there may be a couple of seconds lag. I'm working on that :)

coldslabs
2006-01-12, 22:48
I was able to launch and use it with no trouble. Thanks! Controlling the volume with keyboard keys is something I always wished for.

--G

afblaster
2006-01-13, 01:01
Works very well - thank you.

tomsi42
2006-01-13, 04:23
Glad you like them :) Most are taken with a Canon 20D and 75-300 IS USM - the specs should be below each one.

Nice website - can you tell us what tools you are using ?


Tom

radish
2006-01-13, 06:53
Nice website - can you tell us what tools you are using ?


Tom

For the website? The main site is running WordPress 1.5 with a custom theme. The photo pages are running Gallery 2.0 pretty much stock. At some point I'll get around to reskinning it.

tomsi42
2006-01-13, 06:57
For the website? The main site is running WordPress 1.5 with a custom theme. The photo pages are running Gallery 2.0 pretty much stock. At some point I'll get around to reskinning it.

Thanks for the info. I asked because I need to clean up my home page and I was thinking of Wordpress.

radish
2006-01-13, 08:24
Thanks for the info. I asked because I need to clean up my home page and I was thinking of Wordpress.

I can recommend it, takes a while to setup (particularly if you want to skin it yourself) but very reliable in operation. I don't exactly get a lot of traffic (few hundred hits a day) but it seems to perform OK too. Version 2 just came out, I'll be upgrading at some point soon.

Kyle
2006-01-13, 21:52
I've got the program working on my computer, but the interface is truncated at the bottom. It cuts off in the middle of the keys. In info mode, I only get 2 lines of info. On my laptop, the UI is fine. Suggestions?

radish
2006-01-13, 22:05
I've got the program working on my computer, but the interface is truncated at the bottom. It cuts off in the middle of the keys. In info mode, I only get 2 lines of info. On my laptop, the UI is fine. Suggestions?

Not sure what would cause that. Can you send me a screenshot? Email my firstname @ the domain you got the download from if you get a chance. Thanks!

Kyle
2006-01-14, 05:08
Not sure what would cause that. Can you send me a screenshot? Email my firstname @ the domain you got the download from if you get a chance. Thanks!

Email sent. Thanks.

twynne
2006-01-14, 10:39
Putting the machine into suspend and then resuming seems to cause some problems. .net details attached. Let me know if you want/need further info.

Cheers,

Tom

radish
2006-01-16, 16:23
Putting the machine into suspend and then resuming seems to cause some problems. .net details attached. Let me know if you want/need further info.

Cheers,

Tom

So it does - I guess it loses the network socket. Will put a patch into the next release - thanks for the report!