PDA

View Full Version : Search Music - Live Search



Philip Meyer
2005-03-08, 01:50
Using the Fishbone skin in the latest 6.0a2 (07/03/05), I notice that if I select "search for songs" and enter something to search for, but then change the search selection type to "Search Music", I get a page of results, but the background colour of the search results panel is white.

Other observations about "Live Search":

1. If I enter something to search for, eg. "Athlete", I get one and only one matching Artist as it performs a live search whilst I type. If I press return in the "Live Search" field or press the search button, this lists "athlete": 0. I assume this performs a song-search only, which is a bit confusing. If it is only meant to seach songs, perhaps change the button text to "search songs", and then change the search type drop-down list to "Search for Songs". Perhaps the type of search it should do should match the browse type drop-down selection (or have different search buttons on the form)? Eg, if "browse artists" is selected, then performing a live search would search for artists, rather than songs.

2. When I have performed a live search, there is no easy way of going back to perform another. Obviously whilst typing text, I can clear the field and enter something else, but once I press return or the button and get a list of song results, the resulting page has no back button. Selecting "search music" from the drop-down search type doesn't take you back to the initial "Live Search" page. I have to select a different search type, or press Home and start again.

3. As I type in the live search, I see a list of results automatically updated. However, if I delete a character, the list is not refreshed. Eg. type 3 chars "let", get loads of results; type a 4th char, get subset of those results, press backspace, no change, press a different 4th char, get different subset of results.

4. My settings are set to "search within words". Should this apply to live search for artists? If I search for "Athl", it finds an artist called "Athlete". But if I search for "hlet", it doesn't find the artist. However, if I search for "floy", it finds "Pink floyd" (so it is looking for the starting string in any word, but not any part of any word).

5. If I select the link "More search results" at the bottom of the search results, the server crashes with the following error:
"Modification of non-creatable array value attempted, subscript -101 at /PerlApp/Slim/Web/Pages.pm line 1601."

Other than that, I love the new search capabilities!

Phil

kdf
2005-03-08, 02:20
Quoting Philip Meyer <slim (AT) hergest (DOT) demon.co.uk>:

> Using the Fishbone skin in the latest 6.0a2 (07/03/05), I notice that if I
> select "search for songs" and enter something to search for, but then change
> the search selection type to "Search Music", I get a page of results, but the
> background colour of the search results panel is white.
>
> Other observations about "Live Search":
>
> 1. If I enter something to search for, eg. "Athlete", I get one and only one
> matching Artist as it performs a live search whilst I type. If I press
> return in the "Live Search" field or press the search button, this lists
> "athlete": 0. I assume this performs a song-search only, which is a bit
> confusing. If it is only meant to seach songs, perhaps change the button
> text to "search songs", and then change the search type drop-down list to
> "Search for Songs". Perhaps the type of search it should do should match the
> browse type drop-down selection (or have different search buttons on the
> form)? Eg, if "browse artists" is selected, then performing a live search
> would search for artists, rather than songs.
>
> 2. When I have performed a live search, there is no easy way of going back to
> perform another. Obviously whilst typing text, I can clear the field and
> enter something else, but once I press return or the button and get a list of
> song results, the resulting page has no back button. Selecting "search
> music" from the drop-down search type doesn't take you back to the initial
> "Live Search" page. I have to select a different search type, or press Home
> and start again.
>
> 3. As I type in the live search, I see a list of results automatically
> updated. However, if I delete a character, the list is not refreshed. Eg.
> type 3 chars "let", get loads of results; type a 4th char, get subset of
> those results, press backspace, no change, press a different 4th char, get
> different subset of results.
>
> 4. My settings are set to "search within words". Should this apply to live
> search for artists? If I search for "Athl", it finds an artist called
> "Athlete". But if I search for "hlet", it doesn't find the artist. However,
> if I search for "floy", it finds "Pink floyd" (so it is looking for the
> starting string in any word, but not any part of any word).
>
> 5. If I select the link "More search results" at the bottom of the search
> results, the server crashes with the following error:
> "Modification of non-creatable array value attempted, subscript -101 at
> /PerlApp/Slim/Web/Pages.pm line 1601."
>
> Other than that, I love the new search capabilities!
>
> Phil
>
>

kdf
2005-03-08, 02:27
Quoting Philip Meyer <slim (AT) hergest (DOT) demon.co.uk>:

> Using the Fishbone skin in the latest 6.0a2 (07/03/05), I notice that if I
> select "search for songs" and enter something to search for, but then change
> the search selection type to "Search Music", I get a page of results, but the
> background colour of the search results panel is white.

I have committed a fix for this.

> Other observations about "Live Search":

can you try these with other skins, please. much of the livesearch is hardcoded
in the server. Some may not be skin related

-kdf

> 1. If I enter something to search for, eg. "Athlete", I get one and only one
> matching Artist as it performs a live search whilst I type. If I press
> return in the "Live Search" field or press the search button, this lists
> "athlete": 0. I assume this performs a song-search only, which is a bit
> confusing. If it is only meant to seach songs, perhaps change the button
> text to "search songs", and then change the search type drop-down list to
> "Search for Songs". Perhaps the type of search it should do should match the
> browse type drop-down selection (or have different search buttons on the
> form)? Eg, if "browse artists" is selected, then performing a live search
> would search for artists, rather than songs.
>
> 2. When I have performed a live search, there is no easy way of going back to
> perform another. Obviously whilst typing text, I can clear the field and
> enter something else, but once I press return or the button and get a list of
> song results, the resulting page has no back button. Selecting "search
> music" from the drop-down search type doesn't take you back to the initial
> "Live Search" page. I have to select a different search type, or press Home
> and start again.
>
> 3. As I type in the live search, I see a list of results automatically
> updated. However, if I delete a character, the list is not refreshed. Eg.
> type 3 chars "let", get loads of results; type a 4th char, get subset of
> those results, press backspace, no change, press a different 4th char, get
> different subset of results.
>
> 4. My settings are set to "search within words". Should this apply to live
> search for artists? If I search for "Athl", it finds an artist called
> "Athlete". But if I search for "hlet", it doesn't find the artist. However,
> if I search for "floy", it finds "Pink floyd" (so it is looking for the
> starting string in any word, but not any part of any word).
>
> 5. If I select the link "More search results" at the bottom of the search
> results, the server crashes with the following error:
> "Modification of non-creatable array value attempted, subscript -101 at
> /PerlApp/Slim/Web/Pages.pm line 1601."
>
> Other than that, I love the new search capabilities!
>
> Phil
>
>

kdf
2005-03-08, 03:50
Quoting Philip Meyer <slim (AT) hergest (DOT) demon.co.uk>:

> 2. When I have performed a live search, there is no easy way of going back to
> perform another. Obviously whilst typing text, I can clear the field and
> enter something else, but once I press return or the button and get a list of
> song results, the resulting page has no back button. Selecting "search
> music" from the drop-down search type doesn't take you back to the initial
> "Live Search" page. I have to select a different search type, or press Home
> and start again.

I've committed a fix to have the manual search selected at all times, so
reselecting search music or advanced search will reload the page. refreshing
the frame also works.


> 5. If I select the link "More search results" at the bottom of the search
> results, the server crashes with the following error:
> "Modification of non-creatable array value attempted, subscript -101 at
> /PerlApp/Slim/Web/Pages.pm line 1601."
>
>
I've dropped in a fix that should remove this problem. If you are using the
svn, you can update to get the latest changes. These are too late to make the
daily build, so you'll have to wait 22 hours for a new one with these fixes
included.

The other issues, I'll have to leave for Dan. I'm haven't had any chance to
look at the input aspects of the live search.

cheers,
-kdf

Philip Meyer
2005-03-08, 12:44
>> Other observations about "Live Search":
>
>can you try these with other skins, please. much of the livesearch is hardcoded
>in the server. Some may not be skin related
>
I tried all the things previously mentioned using the default skin. All failed in the same way.

Phil

Philip Meyer
2005-03-08, 13:11
>I've committed a fix to have the manual search selected at all times, so
>reselecting search music or advanced search will reload the page. refreshing
>the frame also works.
>
>I've dropped in a fix that should remove this problem. If you are using the
>svn, you can update to get the latest changes. These are too late to make the
>daily build, so you'll have to wait 22 hours for a new one with these fixes
>included.
>
Great. I can wait a few more hours.

>The other issues, I'll have to leave for Dan. I'm haven't had any chance to
>look at the input aspects of the live search.
>
Should I raise a bug report on these items then? All issues on one bug report, or is it best to keep them separate?

Cheers,
Phil

kdf
2005-03-08, 13:28
Quoting Philip Meyer <slim (AT) hergest (DOT) demon.co.uk>:

> Should I raise a bug report on these items then? All issues on one bug
> report, or is it best to keep them separate?

My preference is always for separate bugs. They can always be marked as dupes
later one if they turn out to be directly related. This means the reports can
be more specific, and when you have outside contributors, it is also easier to
deal with things in smaller, quicker chunks :)

-kdf

Philip Meyer
2005-03-09, 01:37
>1. If I enter something to search for, eg. "Athlete", I get one and only one matching Artist as it performs a live search whilst I type. If I press return in the "Live Search" field or press the search button, this lists "athlete": 0. I assume this performs a song-search only, which is a bit confusing. If it is only meant to seach songs, perhaps change the button text to "search songs", and then change the search type drop-down list to "Search for Songs". Perhaps the type of search it should do should match the browse type drop-down selection (or have different search buttons on the form)? Eg, if "browse artists" is selected, then performing a live search would search for artists, rather than songs.
>
bug# 987 raised

>2. When I have performed a live search, there is no easy way of going back to perform another. Obviously whilst typing text, I can clear the field and enter something else, but once I press return or the button and get a list of song results, the resulting page has no back button. Selecting "search music" from the drop-down search type doesn't take you back to the initial "Live Search" page. I have to select a different search type, or press Home and start again.
>
kdf has applied a fix.

>3. As I type in the live search, I see a list of results automatically updated. However, if I delete a character, the list is not refreshed. Eg. type 3 chars "let", get loads of results; type a 4th char, get subset of those results, press backspace, no change, press a different 4th char, get different subset of results.
>
bug# 988 raised

>4. My settings are set to "search within words". Should this apply to live search for artists? If I search for "Athl", it finds an artist called "Athlete". But if I search for "hlet", it doesn't find the artist. However, if I search for "floy", it finds "Pink floyd" (so it is looking for the starting string in any word, but not any part of any word).
>
bug# 989 raised

>5. If I select the link "More search results" at the bottom of the search results, the server crashes with the following error:
> "Modification of non-creatable array value attempted, subscript -101 at /PerlApp/Slim/Web/Pages.pm line 1601."
>
kdf has applied a fix.

Philip Meyer
2005-03-09, 18:40
Hi kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>,

>> Using the Fishbone skin in the latest 6.0a2 (07/03/05), I notice that if I
>> select "search for songs" and enter something to search for, but then change
>> the search selection type to "Search Music", I get a page of results, but the
>> background colour of the search results panel is white.
>
>I have committed a fix for this.

Using nightly 09-03-05, the following now happens:

Selecting "Search Music" brings up the "Live Search" page. The drop-down list search option changes back to "search for songs".

Similarly, selecting "Advanced search" brings up the advances search options page, and the drop-down list search option changes back to "search for songs".

It doesn't seem to matter what I enter in the "for" search field; I always get back no results (to be exact, the page contains "' value": 0).


If I do a live search for "the" and press search (ie. search for all songs containing words starting with "the"), I now get back a page containing items 1 to 100 of 685. This first page is displayed correctly (although I haven't determined what order the results are in - looks random to me). If I click on a page link (eg. next), I get a page in white background, containing:
Albums matching "the": 99,
Artists matching "the": 23 (I'm sure I must have more than 23 artists with "the" in their name!), and
Song titles matching "the": 685

The 11 songs listed are ones that were listed on the first page.

Phil

Philip Meyer
2005-03-09, 18:44
>The 11 songs listed are ones that were listed on the first page.
>
Hmmm, there's also a link at the bottom - "More Matches", which takes me to a list of results containing "the": 785. This number is suspiciously exactly 100 more than the number of results returned initially. The list appears to be sorted by title, and the page links actually seem to work.

Phil

kdf
2005-03-09, 18:54
Quoting Philip Meyer <slim (AT) hergest (DOT) demon.co.uk>:

> Hi kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>,
>
> >> Using the Fishbone skin in the latest 6.0a2 (07/03/05), I notice that if I
> >> select "search for songs" and enter something to search for, but then
> change
> >> the search selection type to "Search Music", I get a page of results, but
> the
> >> background colour of the search results panel is white.
> >
> >I have committed a fix for this.
>
> Using nightly 09-03-05, the following now happens:
>
> Selecting "Search Music" brings up the "Live Search" page. The drop-down
> list search option changes back to "search for songs".
>
> Similarly, selecting "Advanced search" brings up the advances search options
> page, and the drop-down list search option changes back to "search for
> songs".
>
> It doesn't seem to matter what I enter in the "for" search field; I always
> get back no results (to be exact, the page contains "' value": 0).

The had to be done, so that the pulldown could detect the onChange and get you
back to a new liveSearch. I could have made these hard links like ExBrowse2,
but then if the search options are expanded in teh server side, I'd have to
change them, instead of being mostly automatic with this. Staying at search
for songs is a valid way to go, becuase the box at the top should trigger a
serach for songs always. using that box is not part of live search.


> If I do a live search for "the" and press search (ie. search for all songs
> containing words starting with "the"), I now get back a page containing items
> 1 to 100 of 685. This first page is displayed correctly (although I haven't
> determined what order the results are in - looks random to me). If I click
> on a page link (eg. next), I get a page in white background, containing:
> Albums matching "the": 99,
> Artists matching "the": 23 (I'm sure I must have more than 23 artists with
> "the" in their name!), and
> Song titles matching "the": 685
>
> The 11 songs listed are ones that were listed on the first page.

probably two different issues at play here. I'll take a look.
thanks!
-kdf

kdf
2005-03-09, 22:22
Quoting Philip Meyer <slim (AT) hergest (DOT) demon.co.uk>:

>
> It doesn't seem to matter what I enter in the "for" search field; I always
> get back no results (to be exact, the page contains "' value": 0).

I accidentally left a typo in the javascript. i've committed a fix.

>
> If I do a live search for "the" and press search (ie. search for all songs
> containing words starting with "the"), I now get back a page containing items
> 1 to 100 of 685. This first page is displayed correctly (although I haven't
> determined what order the results are in - looks random to me). If I click
> on a page link (eg. next), I get a page in white background, containing:
> Albums matching "the": 99,
> Artists matching "the": 23 (I'm sure I must have more than 23 artists with
> "the" in their name!), and
> Song titles matching "the": 685
>
> The 11 songs listed are ones that were listed on the first page.

This is an issue with the pagebar. I've sent a patch in for review, in case
there are better ways than my suggestion :) Hopefully something can get in for
the nightly build.
-kdf

Philip Meyer
2005-03-10, 02:25
>The had to be done, so that the pulldown could detect the onChange and get you
>back to a new liveSearch. I could have made these hard links like ExBrowse2,
>but then if the search options are expanded in teh server side, I'd have to
>change them, instead of being mostly automatic with this. Staying at search
>for songs is a valid way to go, becuase the box at the top should trigger a
>serach for songs always. using that box is not part of live search.
>
Could the drop-down also contain "Search artists" and "Search albums"?

I've added the following to enhancement request 987:

Even better would be to incorporate the live search directly into the drop-down option and "for..." fields. eg. select "Search albums", and then as typing in the "for" field, the results pane updates. This would only search albums (search artists and search songs working the same way). The type of search drop-down could also have a "search all", which would work as "search music" currently does.

Phil

Philip Meyer
2005-03-10, 02:28
>I've added the following to enhancement request 987:
I added the comment to the bug report, but then noticed that Dan has already applied a fix.
I'm not sure what the final effect will be; I'll wait until tomorrow and give it a try!

Phil

Dan Sully
2005-03-10, 02:29
* Philip Meyer shaped the electrons to say...

>>I've added the following to enhancement request 987:
>I added the comment to the bug report, but then noticed that Dan has already applied a fix.
>I'm not sure what the final effect will be; I'll wait until tomorrow and give it a try!

Philip - the nightlies are already up for today (US/Pacific time 1am is when they're built).

Mac build is running behind, but it should be there shortly.

-D
--
There is no emergency. Nothing to see here. Move along.

kdf
2005-03-10, 02:31
Quoting Philip Meyer <slim (AT) hergest (DOT) demon.co.uk>:

> >The had to be done, so that the pulldown could detect the onChange and get
> you
> >back to a new liveSearch. I could have made these hard links like
> ExBrowse2,
> >but then if the search options are expanded in teh server side, I'd have to
> >change them, instead of being mostly automatic with this. Staying at search
> >for songs is a valid way to go, becuase the box at the top should trigger a
> >serach for songs always. using that box is not part of live search.
> >
> Could the drop-down also contain "Search artists" and "Search albums"?

I'm really trying to avoid hardcoded links, but it could be possible. It is more
stuff to be broken when the server changes. However, I'll think about it :)

> I've added the following to enhancement request 987:
>
> Even better would be to incorporate the live search directly into the
> drop-down option and "for..." fields. eg. select "Search albums", and then
> as typing in the "for" field, the results pane updates. This would only
> search albums (search artists and search songs working the same way). The
> type of search drop-down could also have a "search all", which would work as
> "search music" currently does.

Also possible, but I'm going to assume at this point that it will have to be
post-6.0. The goal right now is to fix bugs (and there are a fair number
coming in :) At least having been filed, it wont be lost. thanks!

-kdf

Philip Meyer
2005-03-10, 02:38
>Philip - the nightlies are already up for today (US/Pacific time 1am is when they're built).
>
I'm in the UK. What time is that in GMT? I'm hopeless with timezones ;)

That's earlier than the time that I used to get the 5.4.1 nightly. I used to wait until 3pm around GMT.

Phil

Dan Sully
2005-03-10, 02:39
* Philip Meyer shaped the electrons to say...

>>Philip - the nightlies are already up for today (US/Pacific time 1am is when they're built).
>>
>I'm in the UK. What time is that in GMT? I'm hopeless with timezones ;)
>
>That's earlier than the time that I used to get the 5.4.1 nightly. I used to wait until 3pm around GMT.

9am your time is when builds are kicked off. Available by 10a

-D
--
There is no emergency. Nothing to see here. Move along.

Philip Meyer
2005-03-10, 02:40
>Also possible, but I'm going to assume at this point that it will have to be
>post-6.0. The goal right now is to fix bugs (and there are a fair number
>coming in :)

I understand, and that's absolutely fine. Fixing existing bugs, rather than creating bugs is always a good goal to aim for ;)

> At least having been filed, it wont be lost. thanks!
Well, the bug I added the note to had already been fixed, so it might be lost. I won't forget though ;)

Phil