PDA

View Full Version : SB3 Does Not Find Slimserver



rcerbone
2005-12-26, 08:43
I was excited to receive a SB3 as a holiday present until I tried to get it working. I have the SB3 connected over my wireless network (using a Netgear WGT624v2 router). The connection is valid and I can see that the device is attached to the network.

I have installed version 6.2.1 of the SlimServer software and enable UDP on port 9000 as well as tcp/udp on port 3483. In addition, I have given the slim.exe program permission to access the network. I am running Symantec firewall and Antivirus on the host PC.

I have enabled Slim.exe for port forwarding in my router. I also have a function called port triggering which I also tried with no response.

I tried setting both dynamic and static IP addresses and uninstalling and re-installing the slim server software to no avail.

Can anyone out there help me?

mherger
2005-12-26, 09:44
> I have installed version 6.2.1 of the SlimServer software and enable
> UDP on port 9000 as well as tcp/udp on port 3483. In addition, I have

You'll need tcp on 9000, too.

> given the slim.exe program permission to access the network. I am
> running Symantec firewall and Antivirus on the host PC.

When you're in doubt about the firewall, disable it completely to be sure
it's not preventing slimserver from working correctly.

> I have enabled Slim.exe for port forwarding in my router. I also have
> a function called port triggering which I also tried with no response.

Don't try this advanced stuff before the basics are working. What's your
server's network configuration? What's the player's?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

rcerbone
2005-12-28, 09:47
Thanks for the help...miraculously I awoke yesterday morning, turned on the PC and everything worked fine. I suppose that after I rebooted 500 times, something must have clicked.