PDA

View Full Version : Help! Tunes aplenty with no place to go



Michael Rubino
2005-12-25, 19:33
I just got a wireless SB3 but after a day of fooling around I can't get the device to find the SlimServer. I make it all the way through the setup process but, in the end, the SB3 times out and goes dark after failing to find the SlimServer. Either that or I get an error message suggesting I try again.

I have tried a number of alternatives (changing the encription and so on) but nothing has worked.

My setup is as follows: I have a Airport Extreme Base Station, a iBook G4 (running Tiger 10.4.3) and a PowerMac G4 (also running 10.4.3). The Airport is administered via the iBook which has an Airport card. The PowerMac is connected via Ethernet. SlimServer is loaded on the PowerMac. I also have a external hard drive connecte to the PowerMac that holds about 100 G of music.

Please, please help.

Thanks,
Michael

Michaelwagner
2005-12-26, 00:01
call the support number or write to them.

http://www.slimdevices.com/au_company.html

danco
2005-12-26, 02:14
On 25/12/05 at 18:33 -0800, Michael Rubino wrote
>I just got a wireless SB3 but after a day of fooling around I can't get
>the device to find the SlimServer. I make it all the way through the
>setup process but, in the end, the SB3 times out and goes dark after
>failing to find the SlimServer. Either that or I get an error message
>suggesting I try again.
>
>I have tried a number of alternatives (changing the encription and so
>on) but nothing has worked.
>
>My setup is as follows: I have a Airport Extreme Base Station, a iBook
>G4 (running Tiger 10.4.3) and a PowerMac G4 (also running 10.4.3). The
>Airport is administered via the iBook which has an Airport card. The
>PowerMac is connected via Ethernet. SlimServer is loaded on the
>PowerMac. I also have a external hard drive connecte to the PowerMac
>that holds about 100 G of music.

This setup should work, but there are always possible issues. If it
gets all the way through the process before failing it shouldn't be
an encryption issue, but it is still worth (if you haven't done so)
trying to connect with all encryption and security off.

I take it that the iBook and PowerMac can connect to each other OK.
--
Daniel Cohen

Michael Rubino
2005-12-26, 06:29
Michael,

Thanks, I'll give that try.

Daniel,

Yes, the iBook and the PowerMac can "talk" to each other. Thanks for the advice.

- Michael