PDA

View Full Version : Noise at track change since FW update for 6.2.1 on SB2



jmpage2
2005-12-23, 16:40
I've just observed some rather nasty behavior from my SB2 which I've only seen since recently upgrading to 6.2.1 and upgrading the firmware on the SB2.

When switching tracks with albums that previously played fine I'm getting a loud pop/click burst of static from the SB. This is with 44.1 khz LAME VBR encoded MP3 files. The files play fine on all of my other devices.

I'm utilizing the analog output stage from my SB2.

Anyone have any info on this issue?

jmpage2
2005-12-26, 11:09
I wanted to provide a followup. The affected tracks all seem to be tracks in which album artwork was added via iTunes 6. Some albums continue to play fine, others have the noise at the beginning of the track.

Why would the ID3V2 tag have anything to do with noise on playback?

Some help here would be appreciated.

dean
2005-12-26, 11:52
Please try a wipe and rescan of your library. The album art may have
been added to the file without SlimServer noticing and it may be
sending the art to the player to decode. It _should_ notice this
change if the file modification date changed, so there's some other
underlying problem, but a rescan should fix it.


On Dec 26, 2005, at 10:09 AM, jmpage2 wrote:

>
> I wanted to provide a followup. The affected tracks all seem to be
> tracks in which album artwork was added via iTunes 6. Some albums
> continue to play fine, others have the noise at the beginning of the
> track.
>
> Why would the ID3V2 tag have anything to do with noise on playback?
>
> Some help here would be appreciated.
>
>
> --
> jmpage2
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
> --
> jmpage2's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=41
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=19398
>
>

jmpage2
2005-12-27, 14:09
Dean,

Thanks, that did fix it. Is this considered a bug? Seems inconveniant to have to re-scan the library every time I add album art to my tags for iTunes iPod goodness.

ianjohnson_nz
2005-12-27, 17:02
You could schedule an automatic re-scan every night in slimserver. Handy way to pick up new albums anyway. Got to SlimServer/Server Settings/Plugins.

Regards, Ian

dean
2005-12-28, 10:15
This is definitely a bug. You shouldn't have to do a rescan. There
are a number of itunes and scan related bugs fixed in the nightly
releases, so if it happens again, please give them a try.

-dean

jmesberg
2006-02-06, 18:39
Dean, this is still an open bug apparently because I'm using a quite recent build (SlimServer Version: 6.2.2 - 6070 - Mac OS X 10.4.4 (8G32) - EN - utf8) and I'm having exactly the same problem. Just wanted you to be aware.

John