PDA

View Full Version : Help! SB3 Crashed!



sandbox
2005-12-23, 02:55
I was enjoying my wireless set up when suddenly my SB3 crashed. The display froze and then became blurred and unreadable. I then turned it off and on which seemed to reset everything, prompting me to reconfigure. However, I am now unable to connect to my wireless router. I can't get by the step "connecting to linksys" and the 20 second timer runs all the way down to 0 , whereas before the 20 timer would run off a few seconds before finding my router.

Anyone experience this able to help me out?

Thanks

Neil Cameron
2005-12-23, 04:07
Something similar; make sure that the Wireless MAC address displayed via the
screen is the same as the one on the label on the SB. If not, edit it until
it is....

--
Neil


"sandbox"
<sandbox.20hmeb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote in message news:sandbox.20hmeb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com...
>
> I was enjoying my wireless set up when suddenly my SB3 crashed. The
> display froze and then became blurred and unreadable. I then turned it
> off and on which seemed to reset everything, prompting me to
> reconfigure. However, I am now unable to connect to my wireless
> router. I can't get by the step "connecting to linksys" and the 20
> second timer runs all the way down to 0 , whereas before the 20 timer
> would run off a few seconds before finding my router.
>
> Anyone experience this able to help me out?
>
> Thanks
>
>
> --
> sandbox
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> sandbox's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2956
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=19385

pbjbryan
2005-12-27, 23:24
How does one "edit" thir MAC address to match the sticker as suggested above?

My SB3 MAC address suddenly changed today. I didn't know this was possible.

I was connected to a local icecast server on my LAN, listening to live input from oddcastv3, and experimenting with the oddcast source client's codec settings when it stopped working.

It is possible that this hosed my MAC address? I find it really surprising that something this fundamental could be affected by a stream.

kdf
2005-12-28, 01:25
On 27-Dec-05, at 10:24 PM, pbjbryan wrote:

>
> How does one "edit" thir MAC address to match the sticker as suggested
> above?
>
press and hold the power button, or unplug and replug the squeezebox.
on startup, you'll be shown the setup menu.
scroll down to "view current settings"
in the menu, you'll see the MAC address. press right, and you should
be able to edit it from there.

-kdf

pbjbryan
2005-12-28, 01:41
Interesting.

How do I keep this from happening again?

kdf
2005-12-28, 02:04
On 28-Dec-05, at 12:41 AM, pbjbryan wrote:

>
> Interesting.
>
> How do I keep this from happening again?
>
FW28 from 6.2.1 is supposed to contain at least a couple attempts to
prevent this. If the problem persists, there will be more attempts.
all indications are that it is a hard issue to reproduce on demand,
thus hard to find and fix.

-kdf

Badger
2005-12-28, 09:45
I have had exactly the same problem, and tried your advice of maunually putting in new Mac @ and I am now up and working properly.

My concern here though, is why this happened in the first place. I saw some other threads with the same problem as I initially had, ie, SB3 screen filled up with blur, then box locked up, and then the Mac adress change preventing from connecting to Wireless network. Is this a known bug??

seanadams
2005-12-28, 09:55
We don't know how to trigger this crash - if you manage to reproduce it, please do file a bug and it will be fixed very quickly.

Jetlag
2006-01-13, 15:14
Me too:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showpost.php?p=78021&postcount=1

I was attempting to play a song off of Chesky Records "Circle of Drums" by Babatunde Olatunji.

The track is called "Stepping", ripped using EAC in secure mode and compressed using FLAC at level 8, gain = OFF.

The track is HUGE, 29MB, so there is no way for me to email it to you. I coud upload it to your FTP server if you want to PM me the details.

Tim