PDA

View Full Version : Different skins on different devices?



Brian Ritchie
2005-12-22, 18:52
I thought it would be fun to try running the SS web interface on my iPaq, and got it working fairly easily (usually I have no end of trouble with the iPaq's WiFi "support").

I wasn't too surprised to find that my preferred skin on the laptop (Fishbone) is just a tad (!) cramped on the iPaq, so I changed the skin to Handheld. Unfortunately, this also changed it on my laptop - not what I wanted to happen!

Is there a way to have different skins on different devices? Having to change the skin each time I switch device would be quite a pain (especially from Fishbone on the iPaq!)

I thought that Touch(screen) might look better on the iPaq, but alas it's way too big. (Hmmm, but I *do* have a tablet PC for work...)

(I wasn't planning on using the iPaq regularly; it usually has trouble re-establishing a connection after being turned off, and I don't intend to leave it on all the time. However, when I tried it just now, it reconnected fairly quickly. I suppose if it wasn't such a battered old thing I could use it to impress friends, though I think the SB3 is impressive enough on its own!)

-- Brian

kdf
2005-12-22, 19:01
On 22-Dec-05, at 5:52 PM, Brian Ritchie wrote:
>
> Is there a way to have different skins on different devices? Having to
> change the skin each time I switch device would be quite a pain
> (especially from Fishbone on the iPaq!)
>

you can choose any skin on demand by using the url:
http://slimserver:9000/skinname

-kdf

radish
2005-12-22, 19:04
You can select a skin with the URL, e.g. http://slimserver:9000/Fishbone/ so just bookmark the appropriate one on each device.

Brian Ritchie
2005-12-23, 17:59
Thanks for the tips, folks!

I ought to curl up with some SlimServer docs over the festive season - time I got to know this stuff better; heavens knows what else I'm missing!

-- Brian