PDA

View Full Version : How to turn off caching?



Harald Wilhelm
2005-03-03, 15:30
Hi,

a look at my process list of my server showed 173MB virtual memory for
the slimserver process. How come? I'm using the new database backend.

Is there a switch/option to turn caching off? My databases are fast
enough ;-)

Thanks.

Dan Sully
2005-03-03, 15:34
* Harald Wilhelm shaped the electrons to say...

>a look at my process list of my server showed 173MB virtual memory for
>the slimserver process. How come? I'm using the new database backend.

Harald - how long after SS has been started does the memory look that big?

I'm trying to track down potentially memory leaks, but need some help as to what people are doing to get there. :)

-D
--
You have the puzzle pieces? Good, then turn off the damn walls.

Harald Wilhelm
2005-03-03, 15:43
Dan,

the process was running for 24 hours. Yesterday I had the same problem
as mentioned in my previous mail (Browse Music Folder with a new
folder). So I had to restart yesterday to get any sound ... After the
start I did a complete rescan.

I just started the process. It started with 37M.

It's night here in Germany, so I will keep Slimserver untouched for some
hours. I will check tomorrow morning for the new memory usage. After
that I will start the rescan and look what happens.


Dan Sully wrote:
> * Harald Wilhelm shaped the electrons to say...
>
>> a look at my process list of my server showed 173MB virtual memory for
>> the slimserver process. How come? I'm using the new database backend.
>
>
> Harald - how long after SS has been started does the memory look that big?
>
> I'm trying to track down potentially memory leaks, but need some help as
> to what people are doing to get there. :)
>
> -D

Harald Wilhelm
2005-03-04, 03:18
Dan,

it's now 12 hours later. As promised a small snapshot what happened to
the memory usage:

After restart the slimserver process started with 37MB. This was
constant even while playing.

This morning I started a rescan from within the GUI. At this point the
database was populated with data already (do I have to call that
re-rescan ;-)). Currently the rescan is still in process (after 3 hours)
and I can look as the process increases it's memory usage. Actually it
reports 95MB and it's still growing.

1.) The rescan has a memory problem!

2.) Why takes the rescan that long? The database was populated with data
already and I didn't add a single file. I would expect that a rescan
would fire up two steps. The first step would get all filenames from the
database and check it's existance. Missing files would be dropped from
the database. Step two would collect all files on the drive and check
it's existance against the database. In addition I would check the
timestamp of the files and update (newer files) or insert (new files)
against the database. What do you do?

Hmm?


Dan Sully wrote:
> * Harald Wilhelm shaped the electrons to say...
>
>> a look at my process list of my server showed 173MB virtual memory for
>> the slimserver process. How come? I'm using the new database backend.
>
>
> Harald - how long after SS has been started does the memory look that big?
>
> I'm trying to track down potentially memory leaks, but need some help as
> to what people are doing to get there. :)
>
> -D