PDA

View Full Version : Screen pixellated, SB3 reset itself, now can't reconnect



stoobie-doo
2005-12-16, 20:00
Has anyone seen and recovered from this?

My SB3 was having streaming problems - the SlimServer moved further away and I was getting drop outs. Suddenly, the screen pixellated with random dots, froze in that pattern, and then after 2-3 minutes, the box reset.

Now, I can no longer connect to my wifi network. I was having problems sometimes getting IP addresses assigned, now it won't connect after I enter my WEP password (I had not had the WEP problem before, only the lose the IP address problem).

Anyone else had an issue like that? And more importantly, has anyone recovered from it?

Stew

Mark Lanctot
2005-12-16, 20:11
Have you tried a reset?

Press and hold ADD on the remote as you power-cycle it
(unplug, replug power).

--- stoobie-doo
<stoobie-doo.205yyb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:

>
> Has anyone seen and recovered from this?
>
> My SB3 was having streaming problems - the
> SlimServer moved further
> away and I was getting drop outs. Suddenly, the
> screen pixellated with
> random dots, froze in that pattern, and then after
> 2-3 minutes, the box
> reset.
>
> Now, I can no longer connect to my wifi network. I
> was having problems
> sometimes getting IP addresses assigned, now it
> won't connect after I
> enter my WEP password (I had not had the WEP problem
> before, only the
> lose the IP address problem).
>
> Anyone else had an issue like that? And more
> importantly, has anyone
> recovered from it?
>
> Stew
>
>
> --
> stoobie-doo
>
------------------------------------------------------------------------
> stoobie-doo's Profile:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2192
> View this thread:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=19186
>
>

liv
2005-12-17, 06:57
Had very similar incident about 2 weeks ago... really ticked me off!!!! After much debugging, the mac address of the slim device was reset to all f's. Really strange.. so I entered the MAC address of the Slim Device and was able to reconnect with no problem.

Hope it helps

stoobie-doo
2005-12-17, 13:18
Reset several times to no avail (both router and SB3).

Have not looked at the MAC address that is now on the router. How do I check with it being stuck in the loop of trying to connect, and where would I be entering the correct MAC address in to fix the problem?

stoobie-doo
2005-12-17, 13:29
Found where to fix the MAC address which was borked. Of course back to DHCP problems, sigh...

dean
2005-12-17, 13:56
Stoobie,

On Dec 17, 2005, at 12:29 PM, stoobie-doo wrote:
> Found where to fix the MAC address which was borked. Of course back to
> DHCP problems, sigh...

What was happening when the player melted down and you saw the
pixellated screen? We haven't seen that here before and we'd like to
be able to reproduce.

-dean

liv
2005-12-17, 15:00
Hey Dean

When I experienced the pixellated display, here is what I can say occurred in my situation.

I had the Slim running for over 24 hours utilizing a random mix across the entire collection. I had paused the device overnight, 'unpaused', ran it for a few hours, paused the device ran some errands, 'unpaused' for a few hours, repeat.... ran for few more hours then it displayed the pixellation and all my settings were blown. When the device stopped playing I looked over at my cable dig display and it was exactly 10PM est. No storms or power surges at the time.

My server was running on a WinXP Pro box that had it's IP assigned via DHCP.... I reassigned it a dedicated IP (which I obviously should have done day 1.... (rushed to set up intially).

If you're wondering why I would use pause... I guess I was just doing a little QA :).

Hope you figure it out... it kinda freaked me out when it happened but haven't this occur since....

BTW... I love this thing!!!

Thanks
Liv

liv
2005-12-17, 15:15
Stoo

Here a few thoughts...

You've reset the device...
reentered the MAC...
reentered security keys...
run through and reset and reconfig...
checked current router setting and all is ok...
router is ok...

Have you tried to connect from wired ethernet connection right to the router?

I feel the pain... hang in

Liv

stoobie-doo
2005-12-17, 20:19
Stoobie,

On Dec 17, 2005, at 12:29 PM, stoobie-doo wrote:
> Found where to fix the MAC address which was borked. Of course back to
> DHCP problems, sigh...

What was happening when the player melted down and you saw the
pixellated screen? We haven't seen that here before and we'd like to
be able to reproduce.

-dean
The player was straining to play a stream from the server (AAC encoded music); lots of drop outs due to low buffer (the server moved and is now connected to the wifi repeater instead of the router, which seems to be causing all sorts of grief). After straining for awhile to play the stream, the melt down occurred.

stoobie-doo
2005-12-17, 20:21
Stoo

Here a few thoughts...

You've reset the device...
reentered the MAC...
reentered security keys...
run through and reset and reconfig...
checked current router setting and all is ok...
router is ok...

Have you tried to connect from wired ethernet connection right to the router?

I feel the pain... hang in

Liv
I think it is the router, I get real flaky handling with this SMC router; some times i get DHCP on the first try, other times I have to reset the SB3 up to 3 times before it gets the magic IP. Now, it can't see my SlimServer (which is on network, but connected to a wifi repeater) - anyone using repeaters or range extenders successfully?