PDA

View Full Version : Routers known to work with Squeezebox and WPA



flatspyder
2005-12-16, 09:57
My squeezebox arrived the other day and I'm gradually getting to grips with it. It's a great product, but getting all the settings on the server just how I want them is gonna take time I guess (no fault of SlimDevices!)

Unfortunately our SB3 refuses to connect to our router when using WPA TKIP. This is a real pain as I need it to be using wireless when located upstairs in the barn. I brought it over to the house and tried it using WPA TKIP and our Buffalo Wireless AP and it was all fine :)

So I guess we're going to have to buy a new router :( Could anyone who has a router that works with a SB and WPA TKIP please post the model and let me know any experiences, good or bad that they've had. Btw the current router is a Kcorp Lifestyle KLS-5810. I'm looking at the Linksys WAG354G. Oh and I live in the UK, if that affects anything.

Thanks

-Oli

Mark Lanctot
2005-12-16, 11:24
I have a version 4 Linksys WRT54G (serial number
starts with CDFA) and can confirm WPA-TKIP works
fine with an SB2 and an SB3, both with stock
Linksys firmware 4.20.6 and 4.20.7 and 3rd party
DD-WRT firmware 2.3 beta 1.

I used it to replace an SMC2804WBRP-G router which
would not connect with the SB2 with any firmware
under any mode (no encryption, WEP or WPA-TKIP).

flatspyder wrote:
> My squeezebox arrived the other day and I'm
gradually getting to grips
> with it. It's a great product, but getting all the
settings on the
> server just how I want them is gonna take time I
guess (no fault of
> SlimDevices!)
>
> Unfortunately our SB3 refuses to connect to our
router when using WPA
> TKIP. This is a real pain as I need it to be using
wireless when
> located upstairs in the barn. I brought it over to
the house and tried
> it using WPA TKIP and our Buffalo Wireless AP and it
was all fine :)
>
> So I guess we're going to have to buy a new router
:( Could anyone who
> has a router that works with a SB and WPA TKIP
please post the model
> and let me know any experiences, good or bad that
they've had. Btw the
> current router is a Kcorp Lifestyle KLS-5810. I'm
looking at the
> Linksys WAG354G. Oh and I live in the UK, if that
affects anything.
>
> Thanks
>
> -Oli
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

JJZolx
2005-12-16, 12:01
I have a D-Link DWL-2100AP, which works very well. This is an access point only, not a router. I'd bet the D-Link DI-624 router, which is similar, will work just as well.

Connecting wirelessly to this AP is both an older SB2, marked N13-AT53V216, and a new SB2 with the newer Atheros chipset, marked Q72QLANTPBG. I'm assuming that an SB2 with this chipset would be functionally equivalent to an SB3. See Sean's post below:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showpost.php?p=70370&postcount=5

fuzzyT
2005-12-16, 12:19
JJZolx wrote:
> I have a D-Link DWL-2100AP, which works very well. This is an access
> point only, not a router. I'd bet the D-Link DI-624 router, which is
> similar, will work just as well.

I am using a D-Link DI-624 Hardware Rev.C running firmware 2.50. Two
SB2s connecting via WPA-PSK (believe this is the same as TKIP).

--rt

MrC
2005-12-16, 13:18
I've created a Wiki page that has tables documenting the known working, reported not working, and verified not working APs.

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?RouterStatus

I've already added the APs reported early than this post, but if the original authors of those posts (JJZolx, fuzzyT, Mark Lanctot) could verify and update their configurations, that would be a nice start.

Other users - please add your configurations.

Mark Lanctot
2005-12-16, 13:36
Great idea MrC, thanks!

MrC wrote:
> I've created a Wiki page that has tables documenting
the known working,
> reported not working, and verified not working APs.
>
> http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?RouterStatus
>
> I've already added the APs reported early than this
post, but if the
> original authors of those posts (JJZolx, fuzzyT,
Mark Lanctot) could
> verify and update their configurations, that would
be a nice start.
>
> Other users - please add your configurations.
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

flatspyder
2005-12-16, 17:27
Thanks guys.

Great idea MrC, I don't want to be really dense, but I clicked the link and I couldn't see how to edit the WIKI, so I could add more information. If you could give me a little guidance it would be gratefully appreciated.

-Oli

MrC
2005-12-16, 17:42
Thanks guys.

Great idea MrC, I don't want to be really dense, but I clicked the link and I couldn't see how to edit the WIKI, so I could add more information. If you could give me a little guidance it would be gratefully appreciated.

-Oli

Sure thing. At the bottom of the page, there are links. One of them is Edit. Another is Formatting. Click it. It will take you to a page to register a username. Once that's done, add a single row in the appropriate table, just like the others, but with your data. Preview the page before you save it, and once you're satisfied, save. See the Wiki formatting instructions if you need more info.

Mark Lanctot
2005-12-16, 17:45
There's an "Edit" link at the bottom of the page.

It will first say it doesn't allow anonymous editing
and will provide a link to give yourself a user name
and set preferences.

--- flatspyder
<flatspyder.205s0b (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:

>
> Thanks guys.
>
> Great idea MrC, I don't want to be really dense, but
> I clicked the link
> and I couldn't see how to edit the WIKI, so I could
> add more
> information. If you could give me a little guidance
> it would be
> gratefully appreciated.
>
> -Oli
>
>
> --
> flatspyder

jimwillsher
2005-12-19, 05:29
I now have it working with the NetGear WG602 V2 (only V2/V3 support WPA).

MrC
2005-12-19, 10:04
I now have it working with the NetGear WG602 V2 (only V2/V3 support WPA).
Jim,

Please add your router config to the Wiki posted earlier in this article. You'll be the first NetGear entry.

jimwillsher
2005-12-19, 10:12
It's done :-)

Jim