PDA

View Full Version : Bug? Date/time screensaver language settings



0xdeadbeef
2005-12-16, 04:06
Why doesn't the date/time screensaver use the language settings of Slimserver and Squeezebox?

Even though I have German language settings on the Linux system running slimserver and in Slimserver, these settings are not used which I would consider a bug.

I just learned that when starting the slimserver process in the boot scripts, the locales settings are not yet active.
So I would have to add the following lines to my start script
LANG=de_DE@euro
LANGUAGE=de_DE:de

Then again I don't think making the start script language dependent makes any sense if the screensaver could just take the current language settings used by SQ/SLimserver.

mherger
2005-12-16, 04:34
Please don't crosspost. The original posting is in the right place and
already got answered.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

0xdeadbeef
2005-12-16, 05:31
Though this might seem like a crossposting, it ain't one IMHO since only a few developers will read/understand the German thread.
And only because I know a workaround, this still is a bug.

mherger
2005-12-16, 06:17
> Though this might seem like a crossposting, it ain't one IMHO since only
> a few developers will read/understand the German thread.

It wasn't in the German but in the Unix forum.

> And only because I know a workaround, this still is a bug.

The problem seems to arise from how Linux handles services started at
startup. If what Stinga wrote:

>> LANG and LANGUAGE are not being set by the boot scripts.

is true, then slimserver can't do much about it. You'd have to use the
workaround. Or use the big font when the SB is off - only the time is
displayed ;-).

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

0xdeadbeef
2005-12-16, 07:43
Or it could be fixed in the slimserver software...

Indeed there's not much sense in having a language setup and then ignoring it for some parts of the software...

hickinbottoms
2005-12-16, 07:53
Or it could be fixed in the slimserver software...

Indeed there's not much sense in having a language setup and then ignoring it for some parts of the software...

In this case I think SS is doing the right thing - you can't infer the locale settings from the current SlimServer "text translation" setting. As an example, most of us will probably select "English", but those of us in the UK wouldn't want that to map to a locale that generated US-format dates.

It would be possible to move the "text translation" SS setting to be a more generic "locale" setting (possibly with a setting to say "take it from the environment"), but I would consider that in enhancement territory rather than a bug.

0xdeadbeef
2005-12-16, 08:05
The format of the date can be completely defined in the slimserver setup as can the language of the web interface and all strings displayed in the SB display.
So why the heck does the software need to read the locales at all? And especially since they're not defined at all if you start slimserver as a linux start script...
Sorry, but for me this clearly is a bug.

mherger
2005-12-16, 08:12
> Or it could be fixed in the slimserver software...

It can't. I can cite one more time :-)

"LANG and LANGUAGE are not being set by the boot scripts."

The startup script can not know the language settings when it's run at
boot time.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

radish
2005-12-16, 08:22
Sorry, but for me this clearly is a bug.

A bug is where the software was designed to do one thing, but due to a defect doesn't do it. Slimserver was never designed to do anything other than read the locale from the OS (as indeed all good apps should do) thus, the fact that it does that is not a bug. If you believe there should be an additional feature to allow the locale to be set within Slimserver and have it ignore the OS setting, then file an enhancement request.

Marc Sherman
2005-12-16, 08:46
radish wrote:
>>
> A bug is where the software was designed to do one thing, but due to a
> defect doesn't do it. Slimserver was never designed to do anything
> other than read the locale from the OS (as indeed all good apps should
> do) thus, the fact that it does that is not a bug. If you believe there
> should be an additional feature to allow the locale to be set within
> Slimserver and have it ignore the OS setting, then file an enhancement
> request.

Apps that _do_ read the locale from the OS should not allow language
settings within the UI as well; if some language settings come from the
OS locale, then _all_ settings should. Really, the bug is that
Slimserver allows the language to be set in the UI, when it should be
taken from the locale instead.

- Marc

pfarrell
2005-12-16, 08:48
On Fri, 2005-12-16 at 07:22 -0800, radish wrote:
> > Sorry, but for me this clearly is a bug.
> >
> A bug is where the software was designed to do one thing, but due to a
> defect doesn't do it. Slimserver was never designed to do anything
> other than read the locale from the OS (as indeed all good apps should
> do) thus, the fact that it does that is not a bug.

This is the distinction between the classic line: That is not a
bug, it is a feature.

The SlimServer has a feature of using the locale from the OS.
One could propose an optional enhanced feature to allow the
SlimServer to override the OS. If the enhancement was
stronger than letting the administrator change from the default
feature to this new one, I would be against it. But I'm
almost against everything.

--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

0xdeadbeef
2005-12-16, 11:16
Ok, maybe I'm missing something here.
I really wonder:

1) What - apart from the date/time screensaver's language settings - is influenced at all by the OS locales regarding SB/Slimserver?

2) If reading the locales is the way for slimserver to configure its language, why are there language settings in the software itself?

3) If slimserver ist started from the usual Linux start scripts where the locales are not defined yet, why would the slimserver software expect locales to be set?

I mean, of course I can patch the start script. But this is a hack and thus slimserver is NOT getting the OS settings but the ones I hacked into the start script.

lafontaj
2006-11-13, 17:11
So did you find a solution for that problem, i have the same problem but in french.

I had also post a new message about it before i found this one.