PDA

View Full Version : SB2 Firmware Upgrade - Less Volume?



earthbased
2005-12-12, 12:15
Hi,

I upgraded SS from 6.0.1 to 6.2.1 and my SB2's from fw11 to fw28. I have one SB2 hooked to a Bose Wave Radio and have my radio volume level set to 65. I used to be able to set the SB2 to volume 12 and it was good sleeping volume. After the upgrade, I now have to set SB2 volume to 20. Why have a lost volume?

TIA,
Earthbased

Ben Sandee
2005-12-12, 12:23
On 12/12/05, earthbased <earthbased.1zxyrb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
>
> I upgraded SS from 6.0.1 to 6.2.1 and my SB2's from fw11 to fw28. I
> have one SB2 hooked to a Bose Wave Radio and have my radio volume level
> set to 65. I used to be able to set the SB2 to volume 12 and it was
> good sleeping volume. After the upgrade, I now have to set SB2 volume
> to 20. Why have a lost volume?
>

The volume curve was tweaked but you haven't lost volume because the maximum
volume is the same. It's simply a smoother transition from zero to 40. In
particular, you should find much more useful granularity at the lower 25% of
of the scale (0-10).

Ben

dean
2005-12-12, 12:24
The maximum volume hasn't changed, but the curve changed in order to
provide more resolution at the lower levels.



On Dec 12, 2005, at 11:15 AM, earthbased wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I upgraded SS from 6.0.1 to 6.2.1 and my SB2's from fw11 to fw28. I
> have one SB2 hooked to a Bose Wave Radio and have my radio volume
> level
> set to 65. I used to be able to set the SB2 to volume 12 and it was
> good sleeping volume. After the upgrade, I now have to set SB2 volume
> to 20. Why have a lost volume?
>
> TIA,
> Earthbased
>
>
> --
> earthbased
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
> --
> earthbased's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?
> userid=334
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=19056
>
>

kdf
2005-12-12, 12:28
Quoting earthbased <earthbased.1zxyrb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> Hi,
>
> I upgraded SS from 6.0.1 to 6.2.1 and my SB2's from fw11 to fw28. I
> have one SB2 hooked to a Bose Wave Radio and have my radio volume level
> set to 65. I used to be able to set the SB2 to volume 12 and it was
> good sleeping volume. After the upgrade, I now have to set SB2 volume
> to 20. Why have a lost volume?
>
0 is still 0, and 100 is still 100. In-between, the curve was changed
to allow better control in the lower volumes. It seems a large number
of people insisted on hooking up to an am pwith no volume control of
its own and WAY more power than would ever be needed. 1 was too loud.
So, now it isn't. Those of us without a deathwish for our eardrums (or
speakers) get the surprise of waking to an alarm that is way too
silent. I went from 11 to 25 on the player ui scale (max 40). Don't
worry too much. The volume is still there, it is just shifted.
-kdf