PDA

View Full Version : Problem with SlimServer



mathias
2005-12-11, 22:57
Alright here is my problem...

I have a desktop with SlimServer installecd (duh). I don't have a squeezebox, but on my laptop on my home network i can stream music to Winamp no problem. I can log into the web interface on my laptop no problem. I tried to get to the interface from a remote computer and there was no success. Yes I have opened the ports and did it correctly. On my desktop I also have apache web server installed and it can be accessed remotely with no problems, and I opened the ports in the exact same fashion for the SlimServer as I did the Apache server. One more thing, the Windows Firewall on my desktop is disabled so that is not the problem.

-matt

mherger
2005-12-12, 00:39
> Yes I have opened the ports and did it
> correctly. On my desktop I also have apache web server installed and
> it can be accessed remotely with no problems, and I opened the ports in
> the exact same fashion for the SlimServer as I did the Apache server.

Please give some more information about your system: what OS is your
slimserver running on, what firewall, which ports. If everything was done
correctly (as you say) then there wouldn't be a problem.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

mathias
2005-12-12, 00:57
WinXP Pro
no software firewall, only hardware (router) firewall
port 47002, opened and forwarded to my non-changing local ip
no resident protection of any kind running at all

-matt

if i need to i will PM my DynDNS and the SlimServer can be gotten to through the link on the Apache server, just in case the system i tested from is blocking non-common ports or somethin like that

mherger
2005-12-12, 01:13
> no software firewall, only hardware (router) firewall
> port 47002, opened and forwarded to my non-changing local ip
> no resident protection of any kind running at all

What's port 47002? Please see
http://www.slimdevices.com/su_faq.html#networking-firewall for a list of
ports needed by slimserver.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

mathias
2005-12-12, 18:19
Alright I figured it out. I kept SlimServer running on port 47002, as it does not require port 9000, and can be changed in server settings. I believe the system I was using to test it out on (company internet) is blocking non-common ports or something. I logged onto my SlimServer from a college computer with no problems.

-matt