PDA

View Full Version : SB3 and Netgear WGU624 Router



scan80269
2005-12-10, 18:54
I'd like to report some persistent trouble with getting a Squeezebox3 set up with a Netgear WGU624 double 108Mbps wireless router.

SB3 is able to see my home network based on the WGU624, but when the SB3 requests an IP address after connecting to the network, it always gets assigned an IP address in the range of 169.254.xxx.yyy, after which SB3 fails to connect to my SlimServer PC or to SqueezeNetwork. Switching from DHCP to static IP setting also does not work. I have tried varying the 11g settings on the WGU624 (11g only, auto108Mbps, etc.) to no avail.

Next, I switched to a LinkSys WRT55AG v2 router, reset the SB3 to factory defaults, went through the setup again and everything started working. I suspect the key difference is that with the WRT55AG, SB3 will pick up an IP address within the expected range, i.e. 192.168.1.xxx, and SB3 can talk to both a SlimServer PC or to SqueezeNetwork.

Since different router brands yielded different results with the same SB3, I currently assume there may be something wrong with the Netgear WGU624, specifically with its DHCP server on the LAN side. Both the WGU624 and WRT55AG were set up with identical 128-bit WEP keys. I do plan to contact Netgear support to bring up this issue, and I do have access to even more router models to experiment with, but meanwhile I have some questions:

1. What wireless network device name does SB3 use? In other words, if I display the DHCP client table on the wireless router, what should I see as the device name for SB3? Also, is the SB3 device name user-controllable?

2. Is SB3 based on the same Atheros 11g radio as SB2? If so, is there any chance SB3 can be firmware upgraded to support Atheros Super-G (108Mbps)? I suppose the answer will depend on whether the SB3 11g radio hardware is Super-G capable in the first place.

Thanks!

DrNic
2005-12-11, 05:15
I'd like to report some persistent trouble with getting a Squeezebox3 set up with a Netgear WGU624 double 108Mbps wireless router.

SB3 is able to see my home network based on the WGU624, but when the SB3 requests an IP address after connecting to the network, it always gets assigned an IP address in the range of 169.254.xxx.yyy, after which SB3 fails to connect to my SlimServer PC or to SqueezeNetwork. Switching from DHCP to static IP setting also does not work. I have tried varying the 11g settings on the WGU624 (11g only, auto108Mbps, etc.) to no avail.

Next, I switched to a LinkSys WRT55AG v2 router, reset the SB3 to factory defaults, went through the setup again and everything started working. I suspect the key difference is that with the WRT55AG, SB3 will pick up an IP address within the expected range, i.e. 192.168.1.xxx, and SB3 can talk to both a SlimServer PC or to SqueezeNetwork.

Since different router brands yielded different results with the same SB3, I currently assume there may be something wrong with the Netgear WGU624, specifically with its DHCP server on the LAN side. Both the WGU624 and WRT55AG were set up with identical 128-bit WEP keys. I do plan to contact Netgear support to bring up this issue, and I do have access to even more router models to experiment with, but meanwhile I have some questions:

1. What wireless network device name does SB3 use? In other words, if I display the DHCP client table on the wireless router, what should I see as the device name for SB3? Also, is the SB3 device name user-controllable?

2. Is SB3 based on the same Atheros 11g radio as SB2? If so, is there any chance SB3 can be firmware upgraded to support Atheros Super-G (108Mbps)? I suppose the answer will depend on whether the SB3 11g radio hardware is Super-G capable in the first place.

Thanks!

AFAIK, the SB3 will not work if the router is using *any* speed boosting technologies. So you must diable (what D-Link calls) turbo, this may be called Speedstep or whatever in your router. Note this is seperate to the speed setting (ie 108mbps). The proprietory tecnologies use Packet bursting and the like to improve throughput, but obvioulsy have to have eqivalent manufacture hardware on the other end (ie a Netgear wireless card)

Hope that helps

Nic

scan80269
2005-12-12, 09:47
DrNic, many thanks for the tip. I disabled Super-G and Auto108Mbps settings in my WGU624 router, and finally managed to get SB3 to connect properly. You were absolutely right about the need to disable any speed boosting technologies. Atheros Super-G employs data compression, packet bursting and large frame support. Getting the router settings back to standard 11g was what enough to make the SB3 happy again.

The only anomaly left is the WGU624 router occasionally hanging up (cutting off internet connections to all wired & wireless PCs, not bringing up the html config page) after continuously streaming audio to the SB3 for a number of hours. I haven't found what actually triggers the router hang yet, but I'm convinced the problem is with my router, not the SB3.

Thanks again!
scan80269

DrNic
2005-12-12, 15:40
DrNic, many thanks for the tip. I disabled Super-G and Auto108Mbps settings in my WGU624 router, and finally managed to get SB3 to connect properly. You were absolutely right about the need to disable any speed boosting technologies. Atheros Super-G employs data compression, packet bursting and large frame support. Getting the router settings back to standard 11g was what enough to make the SB3 happy again.

The only anomaly left is the WGU624 router occasionally hanging up (cutting off internet connections to all wired & wireless PCs, not bringing up the html config page) after continuously streaming audio to the SB3 for a number of hours. I haven't found what actually triggers the router hang yet, but I'm convinced the problem is with my router, not the SB3.

Thanks again!
scan80269


Your are welcome!
Thats the problem with all these different manufacturers designing "sidelines" to the 802.11g specification. I suppose they want you to use only their equipment. And despite many claims to the contrary some devices will not tolerate these additions, even if they are supposed to be totally backward compatible. Basically its a minefield, and causes more problems than not!
As for the router lockups - it is likely to be the router as you suspect. I used to have no end of problems with my D-Link 624, it would reboot randomly and allsorts! A firmware update sorted that one out, and I have resisted upgrading to anything newer as it does all I *need* it to do right now!

Happy listening.

Nic