PDA

View Full Version : Enhancement request: Full support for iTunes Dynamic playlists

eschurr
2005-12-10, 15:18
Would be very cool if Slimserver could write back to the iTunes database everytime it played a song so that Slimsever could use the "last played" feature in iTunes playlists.

Here's the scenario: you have lots of songs in a playlist, where the order is unimportant (shuffle by song). You'd like to build a playlist in iTunes that says something like:

"Select IF <conditionX> ** selects songs for the list
AND LAST PLAYED IS NOT IN THE LAST Y days"

This would dynamically select songs for a playlist based on conditionX but would also limit the list to just those songs that were only played more than Y days ago. This would let you shuffle songs but ensure you don't listen to the same song in a period of time (say 30 days)

i've been using by SB for over two years and i think it's the greatest. just looking to make the best even better.

radish
2005-12-10, 16:21
Isn't that what the itunes updater plugin does?

eschurr
2005-12-10, 16:26
wow -- i've never heard of it. i see an "iTunes" plugin listed in the "plug ins" part of the server settings, but i didn't know what it does.

is there anywhere i can read more about it?

many thanks!

radish
2005-12-10, 23:41
There are two itunes related plugins, the regular itunes plugin which is included as standard and provides the read functionality (import tunes & playlists), and the itunes update plugin which is 3rd party and you need to download & install.

You can find it (and all the other plugins) here: http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?SlimServerPlugins (look in the Audio section).

eschurr
2005-12-16, 14:22
Thanks tons for your message -- i'm thrilled by what i've read for the iTunes Update plug in. It sounds perfect.