PDA

View Full Version : Upgraded Slimserver to v6.2.1, WMA radio stopped working



martinpolley
2005-12-10, 08:30
I have a bunch of radio stations in my favorites that used to work, until I upgraded. Now they don't.

Example URLs:

mms://212.179.112.29/102fm
mms://a1149.l1305038288.c13050.g.lm.akamaistream.net/D/1149/13050/v0001/reflector:38288
mms://202.6.74.109/triplej

The strange thing is that I can still listen to all these stations in Softsqueeze.

Any idea what's going on here?

TIA,

Martin

bflatmajor
2005-12-10, 09:40
Martin,

I know I can't help you but maybe you can help me. I too have the same issue as you and I've logged it as a bug.

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2529

It's slated to be fixed in 6.5 Whenever that is released.

My question to you is; What version did you upgrade from?

I want to go back to the version that I know worked.

Thanks,

B

martinpolley
2005-12-10, 12:37
Heh. If I knew that, I would have downgraded already...

Have you tried contacting tech support? Or did you just open a bug?

Martin

WladiSGE
2005-12-10, 12:42
How can I downgrade from firmware 28 to 26?

bflatmajor
2005-12-10, 17:40
How can I downgrade from firmware 28 to 26?

In theory, if you install a prior version that had a different firmware, then force the SB to do an upgrade, the firmware should revert to the prior version that you are attempting to install.

That's just my theory... :-)

I'm not a trained professional :-)

Try the following link to get to previous versions

http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/

Ok, I've my problem solved.

I downloaded version 6.0.2
I uninstalled 6.2.2
I rebooted the pc
I installed 6.0.2
I pressed the brightness button on the remote to get to the old firmware, version 11.

Once I had the network connection working, I then went into the server software to the internet radio page.

Type in the url that would not play in firmware version 28, click on the 'Tune in' link...

And ALL is working.

So it appears that when changes were made from firmware version 11 to version 28 something got broken.

I hope this helps!!

martinpolley
2005-12-10, 20:36
How did you know which version to use? Why not 6.2.0 or 6.1.1?

Thanks,

Martin

bflatmajor
2005-12-10, 21:19
How did you know which version to use? Why not 6.2.0 or 6.1.1?


wild guess..

Let's see, I was running 6.2.2 I've only had the SB2 for about 2-3 months. Normally major software revisions, where the first number changes, doesn't happen that frequently. So, from that I decided to stay in the 6.#.# series.

I then decided to go to the beginning of the 6.#.# series and work my way forward. The first one to try is 6.0.2. And that one works.

So I'm wondering if I should goto 6.1.1. 6.0.2 is kinda flaky/unstable.

Give it a try, you can always upgrade back to where you were one version at a time.

radish
2005-12-10, 23:34
6.1.1 isn't wonderfully stable either, I'd go for 6.1.2 - I ran that for a while with no problems.

martinpolley
2005-12-10, 23:40
Maybe I'll take the opposite approach and work my way backwards, starting with 6.2.0.

I'll report back on how I get on.

bflatmajor
2005-12-11, 09:57
6.1.1 isn't wonderfully stable either, I'd go for 6.1.2 - I ran that for a while with no problems.


I can't locate 6.1.2, so I installed 6.1.1 with firmware version 15 and the url's that I was having problems with is still working.

So I'm done

Triode
2005-12-11, 10:06
This sounds to me as if the wma stations you are listening to can't be decoded by the player but can be decoded by the server. The newer releases moved wma decode to the player for SB2/3, but not softsqueeze or older players. Hence the difference you see when you upgrade.

I suspect you could probably force server side decode simply by disabling "Windows Media -> Windows Media (built in)" in server-settings file-types. [This would impact all wma files you play, but may be preferable to downgrading..]

martinpolley
2005-12-11, 11:23
I just tried 6.2.0. Same problem. So I installed 6.1.1, and it works just fine.


This sounds to me as if the wma stations you are listening to can't be decoded by the player but can be decoded by the server. The newer releases moved wma decode to the player for SB2/3, but not softsqueeze or older players. Hence the difference you see when you upgrade.

But my player is an SB2, so I'm not sure that that is the problem...

mherger
2005-12-11, 11:30
Triode

> This sounds to me as if the wma stations you are listening to can't be
> decoded by the player but can be decoded by the server. The newer
> releases moved wma decode to the player for SB2/3, but not softsqueeze
> or older players. Hence the difference you see when you upgrade.

I can confirm this for eg. DRS3 (which is also listed in AlienBBC): while
it plays fine on SB1 using server side conversion, my SB2 doesn't play it
any more. And I'm sure it did with a nightly from about a month ago
(slimserver-2005_11_07-1.noarch.rpm).

> I suspect you could probably force server side decode simply by
> disabling "Windows Media -> Windows Media (built in)" in
> server-settings file-types.

I limited the maximum bitrate on the player in question to 320kb to
achieve the same result...

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)