PDA

View Full Version : Squeezebox 3 Display failure!!!



happyfishman
2005-12-09, 12:58
I have had my new squeezebox3 for about a week and it has been working just fine. However, a few minutes ago, while I was scrolling to an album, a wide strip of the central area of the display just disappeared leaving just the remains of the text at the extreme top and bottom. I unplugged the device and restarted it three times but the fault did not go away. I did notice, though, that the standby (low brightness) clock and date screen would flicker and gradually the whole display would appear, but, on powering up, the dark strip reappears. After a couple more restarts I now have the whole display back, but I am obviously now worried that this is an indication of a serious fault which will get worse with time.

Is this a known fault? Has anyone else experienced it? If there are any Slim Device people reading: is there anything I should check or should I return it to the retailer?

seanadams
2005-12-09, 13:12
You should get it replaced.

happyfishman
2005-12-09, 14:09
It's back again after about an hour of playing so I guess it is a definite fault...

MrC
2005-12-09, 21:47
I just had the same thing happen to me tonight. The center 3/4" or so is completely dead. I'll drop a line to slim support for a replacement.

Darren
2005-12-10, 01:35
Me too! It happened the night I received it. My replacement is on it's way. :-)

happyfishman
2005-12-10, 03:20
Seems like this is a potential component fault issue.

I have noticed that my device does get a little hot when it is running. It's in a room maintained at around 18-20 deg C and it's not placed close to anything that generates any additional heat so I'm not creating the problem. I think that the heating up is causing the display to fail since if I power down, the standby screen is gradually restored within a couple of minutes. If I turn the device back on too soon the affected parts of the display are still missing. If I wait for 5-10 minutes the full display is restored and will remain for about an hour before failing. The music playing functions are not affected. I have the display set at full brightness and I'm wondering whether this is aggrevating or even causing the problem.

Is the heat generation normal in this device? Also wondering whether this might have a regional slant. I am in the UK operating with 240v (European?) version. Any ideas anyone?

docbee
2005-12-10, 03:36
Hi,
my brother will bring me two sb3 on x-mas when he takes the long way from california to germany to visit my family. I am now quite concerned that importing these babies this way will bring me into serious trouble when they have a production fault like in the situation described above. Oh my god... all this shipping overhead for replacement will drive my nuts (and poor)!

Up to now I thought sb's are stable products where a hw defect is something you normally don't see. But the wave of display failures building up here does make me a little nervous what to think about product quality :-(

After having excellent experience with my slimp3 and the sb2 I hope the sb3's will not wipe out this impression. For international customers (that do directly buy at slim devices) problems like these are going to seriously damage reputation!

Hopefully my two sb3s coming ahead will work fine. Otherwise I will be extremly disappointed! I can live with beta-sw that gets better over time, but I am not willing to live with beta-hw for serious money. As said before, I am really concerned and the happiness about getting these nice babies is mixed with fear that they might fail the next day.

MrC
2005-12-10, 10:56
This screen issue does seem to be heat related. After leaving the unit off for about 10 minutes, the display has restored itself. I'll repost results as the unit reheats itself.

happyfishman
2005-12-10, 14:47
I can confirm that...

I have ramped down the display brightness (from 4 to 3) and the room is a little cooler than previously. The device doesn't seem to be as warm and, importantly, has functioned without loss of display all day.

I guess there must be a threshold temperature that causes a malfunction in the display circuitry.

I'll still be returning it, though...

happyfishman
2005-12-10, 14:51
Still interested to know how hot these things are supposed to get during normal use. Over to you Slim Devices...

JJZolx
2005-12-10, 15:29
I hadn't noticed it before, but now that I look at the SB3 photos... Is there _any_ type of ventilation in the SB3 case? And having never seen one, I'm guessing that the internal volume of the case is a bit less than the SB2.

brothers
2005-12-10, 15:34
...And they went from a switching to a linear power supply: lower efficiency, more heat generated.

- DB

happyfishman
2005-12-10, 15:39
Nope, no obvious ventilation - it's all enclosed and pretty solid. Mine seems to get hot in the top half of the unit - around the display...

seanadams
2005-12-10, 15:46
The issue is NOT that it's getting to warm, but that these particular displays are not functioning within their specified temp range. If you encounter this problem we will swap it out - it does not seem to be widespread. We have the display vendor looking into it.

andyl7777777
2005-12-13, 09:49
Me too! It happened the night I received it. My replacement is on it's way. :-)

My Squeezebox did exactly the same thing after only one week. I have since had mine replaced.

slimpy
2005-12-13, 10:35
...And they went from a switching to a linear power supply: lower efficiency, more heat generated.

The sb3 are shipped with a switching power supply just like all previous models.
And being external it does not add to the heat generated in the unit itself.

-s.

kdf
2005-12-13, 10:43
Quoting slimpy <slimpy.1zzosn (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> brothers Wrote:
>> ...And they went from a switching to a linear power supply: lower
>> efficiency, more heat generated.
>
> The sb3 are shipped with a switching power supply just like all
> previous models.
> And being external it does not add to the heat generated in the unit
> itself.
>
The change was in one of the internal logic supplies (3.3v?).

-kdf