PDA

View Full Version : Problem with SDB3 .. no radio



wimberrypie
2005-12-08, 09:20
Hi All

Problem 1 : When I hit the slim server icon on the desktop I get "The page cannot be displayed" this is http://localhost:9000

However several desperate phone calls to friends suggested using http://192.168.0.2:9000 which works .. Why, I have no idea !

Problem2 : I have tried to connect to the internet radio stations and I get nothing out of the SB3,

From the top level director of the SB3 I go Internet Radio => radioio.com => radioioBEAT I hit play, it says that its connecting and then nothing :-(

and Ive tried scanning for a new station and nothing also :-(((

Im getting the feeling that the SB3 isnt a product but an on going project pitched to rip you hair out. People without the necessary debug and development skills and TIME, should avoid this box like the plague ... do not expect the "Apple" experience, its a geek gadget.

BTW Im running on 6.2.1 on Xp with a netgeardg834gt and at least the basic PC music to SBox is working !

Mark Lanctot
2005-12-08, 10:08
It sounds like you have some fundamental
networking problems.

If your computer cannot resolve localhost, it
sounds like your computer's HOSTS file is screwed
up. Spyware has been known to rewrite HOSTS files.

Use Notepad and go to your
Windows/system32/drivers/etc directory. If you
select Files of type "All Files" you should see a
HOSTS file, no extension. It may be hidden - you
need to set this via Windows Explorer - Tools -
Folder Options - View - Show hidden files and
folders to see it. Your HOSTS file should contain
a blurb from Microsoft along with a single line:

127.0.0.1 localhost

If the file is missing or contains anything else,
it's been overwritten by spyware, although there
are some anti-spyware apps that will overwrite it
as well, but all will leave the localhost line.

SlimServer's approach follows standard networking
conventions regarding trying to address a local
file. If SlimServer didn't error out here,
another program would have. A lot of programs
that control something via a web interface
reference localhost and all of them would have
errors in your case.

Note: http://127.0.0.1:9000 will also work, and
will work regardless of what IP address your
router assigns your PC. Your 192.168.0.2
reference may not work indefinitely because your
local IP address may change if your router uses DHCP.

Regarding your Internet radio problems, the two
may be related. You may be having problems
resolving IP addresses. Are you having web
browsing problems as well?

Sure, the SB3 isn't perfect but neither one of
these problems seem to be pointing to it. They
both seem to be related to some underlying
networking issues.

Did you set your DNS server and gateway correctly
in the SB3 setup? They should point to the IP
address of your router. But the router must be
set to be a DNS server. Most are by default, but
you should check.

Have you tried SqueezeNetwork? That bypasses your
PC and goes directly from your router to the
Internet. If that doesn't work, the problem is in
your router or how the SB3 is being directed to it
(DNS server, gateway).

wimberrypie wrote:
> Hi All
>
> Problem 1 : When I hit the slim server icon on the
desktop I get "The
> page cannot be displayed" this is
http://localhost:9000
>
> However several desperate phone calls to friends
suggested using
> http://192.168.0.2:9000 which works .. Why, I have
no idea !
>
> Problem2 : I have tried to connect to the internet
radio stations and I
> get nothing out of the SB3,
>
>>From the top level director of the SB3 I go Internet
Radio =>
> radioio.com => radioioBEAT I hit play, it says that
its connecting and
> then nothing :-(
>
> and Ive tried scanning for a new station and nothing
also :-(((
>
> Im getting the feeling that the SB3 isnt a product
but an on going
> project pitched to rip you hair out. People without
the necessary
> debug and development skills and TIME, should avoid
this box like the
> plague ... do not expect the "Apple" experience, its
a geek gadget.
>
> BTW Im running on 6.2.1 on Xp with a netgeardg834gt
and at least the
> basic PC music to SBox is working !
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

lostboy
2005-12-08, 10:37
Mark's advice to look at your network first is sound. Follow his pointers and if, having confirmed your network setup is OK, you still can't play radioio streams have a look at the following.

A quick check on your ability to 'see' radioio's server from your slimserver pc is the first step.

On the pc that is running the slimserver app (this is your XP box right?) open a command window (Start-Run, then type 'cmd' in the dialog box and click OK). In the command window type: 'ping radioio.sc.llnwd.net' and then hit enter. If you can connect to the radioio server you should see four replies with a time. If you get time-outs then you still have a network problem.

If this is OK then open up winamp (windows media player won't help here) and ask it to play url 'radioio.sc.llnwd.net:8270' -this is the radioiobeat stream that slimserver connects to. If you can listen to the stream using winamp but not on your SB3 then the problem is with your slimserver/SB3 setup.

Let us know how you get on and don't give up on the SB3, anything worthwhile takes a little effort :-)

Chris