PDA

View Full Version : Question on Server requirements

Thomas Hitchcock
2005-12-08, 02:03
I am a surgeon at a large medical clinic and am looking to create a central music system for our operating rooms. I am soliciting advice on what would be the optimum operating platform for a server to route music files to 10 to 20 rooms or more simultaneously. I have used FLAC files on my two wireless SB2 units at home with great success! I would assume that wired SB3 units would be optimal and cheaper for this type of project. Could a single Linux box serve FLAC files to 10 to 20 rooms simultaneously, or would another music file format be preferable for this application to lower bandwidth requirements? I would prefer to stick with FLAC files if possible for quality reasons, but I was not sure if a single computer could handle that many simultaneous FLAC requests. What specs would the server/network need to handle that many lines simultaneously? Can Slimserver make use of multiple processors in servers? Could there be any possibility of future expansion to add more rooms if necessary?