PDA

View Full Version : Helping Newbies get the most from SB2

ianjohnson_nz
2005-12-07, 16:34
Hi all

<Thanks to mherger: new thread started on this topic>

As a newbie I have found it quite difficult to find information on enhancements for my SB. e.g. I knew SqueezeNetwork existed but had no idea what it actually was. Beyond the forums I haven't found any documentation on it or how to use it - is any available? (For example: instructions on what buttons to press to turn off the alarm!) To date I have found out by trial & error but this is quite time consuming.

I appreciate this is in part a consequence of using an open source product. But I think adding a Tips page on SlimServer FAQ (and Wiki http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?BeginnersGuide) would be worthwhile, to help newbies make the most of their SB.

I would start by including:
* Popular plugins (e.g. AlienBBC)
* SqueezeNetwork
* Configuring Wake on LAN
For each: explain what it is, why it's cool and basic pointers on configuring it with link/s to more detailed info. Most of the information on the forum is technical and presumes prior knowledge of the functionality. e.g. to facilitate Wake on LAN, it took me ages to discover that all I need to do is configure my LAN card (easy if you know...).

Regards,
Ian
[edited to include reference to Wiki beginner guide]

gorstk
2005-12-07, 17:03
ianjohnson_nz wrote:
> Hi all
>
> <Thanks to mherger: new thread started on this topic>
>
> As a newbie I have found it quite difficult to find information on
> enhancements for my SB. e.g. I knew SqueezeNetwork existed but had no
> idea what it actually was. Beyond the forums I haven't found any
> documentation on it or how to use it - is any available? (For example:
> instructions on what buttons to press to turn off the alarm!) To date I
> have found out by trial & error but this is quite time consuming.
>
> I appreciate this is in part a consequence of using an open source