PDA

View Full Version : mp3gain made files unplayable?



jowes
2005-12-02, 10:48
I ran mp3gain 1.2.5 (back end 1.4.6) on a set of files to see how well the volume adjustment works. I'm using slimserver 6.2.1. Badness ensued.

The majority of the files now are skipped. The log has the messages: <timestamp> ERROR: Couldn't open song.

I had mp3gain remove the tags and the files are still unplayable. (I'll revert to backups this aft.)

These same files run no problem under winamp with/without the tags. I'd really like to use this feature but...

Unrelated: The web interface is fairly squirrelly with 5 clients. The selected client in the right pane keeps switching to a particular client on every refresh. This makes it really, really hard to control the desired client.

BTW: my setup is 3 slimp3s, 1 squeezebox 2 and 1 squeezebox 3.

Any suggestions?

Ben Sandee
2005-12-02, 12:59
On 12/2/05, jowes <jowes.1zfbxc (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
>
> I ran mp3gain 1.2.5 (back end 1.4.6) on a set of files to see how well
> the volume adjustment works. I'm using slimserver 6.2.1. Badness
> ensued.
>
> The majority of the files now are skipped. The log has the messages:
> <timestamp> ERROR: Couldn't open song.
>
> I had mp3gain remove the tags and the files are still unplayable. (I'll
> revert to backups this aft.)
>

You don't mention your platform... I've had issues on UNIX where files
would be rewritten with different permissions by tools like mp3gain. But
you're using winamp so you're likely on Windows. Regardless, check the
permission of the new files for the SlimServer process, and if that doesn't
work try doing a rescan. Could be that mp3gain somehow changed the name of
the files.

I use mp3gain all the time and haven't run into issues.

Ben

jowes
2005-12-02, 13:18
Yes, I'm running on windows.

First thing I checked was permissions. Not the issue. Also, winamp has no problems reading the file.

Filename didn't change. A different message shows up in the log when the file doesn't exist. "File doesn't exist on disk - skipping."

jowes
2005-12-02, 13:29
I take it back. !#$!@$# windows. Looks like it was some kind of permission issue. cygwin's ls from a bash shell was showing the same read permissions on all the files. I went thru the windows interface and modified the file permissiona and it started working.

My xmas project is to move my media over to a linux server.

Thanks for the help.

radish
2005-12-02, 14:39
So hang on, cygwin displays the wrong permissions and you blame Windows?

MrC
2005-12-02, 14:46
Cygwin has a dual permissions model. I don't think the OP understands the two modes, and how they interact with Windows permissions.