PDA

View Full Version : WMA Lossless - How does it wwork with theSB3



rmasson
2005-11-28, 15:41
Can someone explain a little more about the SB3 and WMA lossless. I understand that currently there is no "native" support for WMA Lossless but what does this really mean? Are WMA lossless files converted to MP3 via Slim Server and then sent to the SB3 thus reducing the quality? I am primarily concerned about acheiving the best quality audio possible (ideally identical to the original CD) as I am feeding an external Benchmark DAC 1 and a high-end audiophile amp and speaker setup.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Rod

kdf
2005-11-28, 15:48
Quoting rmasson <rmasson.1z8awz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> Can someone explain a little more about the SB3 and WMA lossless. I
> understand that currently there is no "native" support for WMA Lossless
> but what does this really mean? Are WMA lossless files converted to MP3
> via Slim Server and then sent to the SB3 thus reducing the quality? I
> am primarily concerned about acheiving the best quality audio possible
> (ideally identical to the original CD) as I am feeding an external
> Benchmark DAC 1 and a high-end audiophile amp and speaker setup.
>
> Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Each player model requests formats based on a preference.

SB3/2: wma flc aif wav mp3
SB1: aif wav mp3
Slimp3: mp3

when a wma file is detected as lossless, then the wma check fails, and move on
to the next format. Being flac, this means the file is trancoded, but remains
lossless. You should have no reduction in quality, but you will have some
increase in cpu usage.

-kdf

radish
2005-11-28, 17:11
You should have no reduction in quality, but you will have some increase in cpu usage.


And you'll lose seeking, ff/rew, bookmarks, etc.

rmasson
2005-11-28, 17:12
Thanks kdf for the quick response and a great explanation.

Rod