PDA

View Full Version : Feature Request: Squeezebox 3 remote connect to my home server



emarmite
2005-11-27, 23:05
I'd probably buy a second Squeezebox if I could keep one in my office and connect it to my home music collection. I know there is softsqueeze, but it's not as good as having as Squeezebox on your desk.

It be too difficult to allow for an ssh tunnel option in the network setup, would it?

dean
2005-11-27, 23:22
You should be able to use a Squeezebox to connect, assuming your
company's firewall doesn't block the necessary outgoing ports.

max.spicer
2005-11-28, 01:16
You could set up your work pc to handle the ssh tunnel. The squeezebox could then connect to the work pc, which would forward the requests over an ssh tunnel. I think putty can do this if you're stuck with windows.

Max


You should be able to use a Squeezebox to connect, assuming your
company's firewall doesn't block the necessary outgoing ports.

NÚstor
2005-11-28, 18:25
You could set up your work pc to handle the ssh tunnel. The squeezebox could then connect to the work pc, which would forward the requests over an ssh tunnel. I think putty can do this if you're stuck with windows.

Max


I know this is overkill, but even when you dont listen with softsqueeze, you can get it (softsqueeze) to forward the ports you need from your homeserver to your work pc. I usually connect with my ssh client from work to my home pc, using the 22 port thats being forwarded by softsqueeze (while Im listening to some home music). This way I dont have to worry about configuring some proxy stuff in the ssh client, softsqueeze is already doing it... of course, if you forward port 9000 too , you can use the http interface for Slimserver, instead of using the sofstqueeze remote control.

NÚstor
2005-11-28, 18:53
forgot to add...

you can connect with sofstqueeze to a remote slimserver using ssh through an http proxy...

emarmite
2005-11-28, 22:42
Well duh. I really hadn't thought of something so simple. I have a Mac at work, so it will be easy to setup the requisite tunnel on demand.

Generally, I don't like to expose *any* ports to the public, I even hide my ssh behind port-knocking. What's the general view of exposing 9000 to general access (save slimserver password)?

Thanks to everyone who took the time to reply and clear my head.

M.

MrC
2005-11-28, 23:03
Generally, I don't like to expose *any* ports to the public, I even hide my ssh behind port-knocking. What's the general view of exposing 9000 to general access (save slimserver password)?
Why bother? Tunnel it!

NÚstor
2005-11-29, 04:22
Well duh. I really hadn't thought of something so simple. I have a Mac at work, so it will be easy to setup the requisite tunnel on demand.

Generally, I don't like to expose *any* ports to the public, I even hide my ssh behind port-knocking. What's the general view of exposing 9000 to general access (save slimserver password)?

Thanks to everyone who took the time to reply and clear my head.

M.

You only need to be able to access your port 22, the rest are tunneled. Of course, your pc at work shouldnt allow access to its own ports from other pcs there.

rme
2005-11-29, 10:45
Is there any way for sb2 to access an internet address based slimserver similar to softsqueeze parameters to set, without connecting through a pc for tunneling.

For example, if I had an sb2 connected to a router in my office using a url/port/ssh info for the slimserver address?

Is that possible as well?

NÚstor
2005-11-29, 13:48
Is there any way for sb2 to access an internet address based slimserver similar to softsqueeze parameters to set, without connecting through a pc for tunneling.

For example, if I had an sb2 connected to a router in my office using a url/port/ssh info for the slimserver address?

Is that possible as well?

I dont think so. If the ip address of the Slimserver is seen from the network where you have your Squeezebox, and all the ports are reachable, I guess you will be able to connect. But you cant use SSH in the middle.
I think this could be a good idea, just to able to take your Squeezebox on a travel without a laptop, and connect using SSH to your home server. But for this , the firmware of the SB should be able to handle it, and theres no SSH on it, at least that I know.