PDA

View Full Version : SB3 sitting on two IP addys...



dwc
2005-11-22, 13:08
Today I tried to add a laptop to my lan and it was failing to get a dhcp address ("address already in use" errors)...

Investigation leads me to find that one of my SB3's is sitting on an extra address, and neither the s/w side of the SB3 nor the DHCP server displays it.

What do I mean? The dhcp server shows ip addy 100 leased to the SB3 (i.e. to it's mac address). The home/player setting page shows the same thing:
Player Firmware Version: 28
The IP address for this player is: 192.168.0.100:33373
The ethernet MAC address for this player is: 00:04:20:06:03:16
Wireless Signal Strength: 62%

But the SB3 is _also_ sitting on 192.168.0.106
(responds to pings, sniffer shows same mac address as above, turning off SB breaks ping)

Bouncing the SB3 shows it reclaiming its proper 100 adress in the dhcp log, but no mention of the 106 address.

Sorry if I missed this in the docs, but:

1. Does each SBx need two ip addresses? What's the second one for?
2. Can I get the device to let go of the 106 address or does it need it for internet radio or something?
3. I don't have dhcp logs going back far enough to show whether or not 106 was ever leased to the SB3 or not. Is there any other way it could have grabbed this IP?

all clues appreciated.

Thanks,
Dan

dwc
2005-11-22, 15:27
filed as bug: 2620

JJZolx
2005-11-22, 18:05
That does sound like a bug somewhere. There's no reason that an Ethernet interface with a given MAC address can't have more than one IP address, though. I've run web servers with dozens of IP addresses bound to a single NIC.

I'm not familiar enough with the DHCP protocol to say whether or not a DHCP server should hand out more than one IP address to a given MAC address, but I suppose if a client asks for more than one, then it will be granted.

Can your DHCP server do DHCP reservations? It may keep that other IP address from being assigned. I find DHCP reservations to be a good idea for fixed devices like servers, printers, etc. I use them for the SB's on my home network as well.

dwc
2005-11-23, 12:09
Thanks JJ,

Yeah the box can reserve addys, and perma-assign addys to specific nics. Problem is that the dhcp box doesn't know that the SB is sitting on the extra addy, so it it still trying to assign that addy to new clients. The clients refuse the address becuase it's alrady in use and the server continues to try to reassign the same addy, (going nowhere).

The workaround seems to be to take the addy out of dhcp rotation by assigning it to a "fake" name or something on the server side. I'd prefer to get the SB to give up and release the address if possible.

-Dan

JJZolx
2005-11-23, 12:24
Yeah the box can reserve addys, and perma-assign addys to specific nics. Problem is that the dhcp box doesn't know that the SB is sitting on the extra addy, so it it still trying to assign that addy to new clients. The clients refuse the address becuase it's alrady in use and the server continues to try to reassign the same addy, (going nowhere).

The workaround seems to be to take the addy out of dhcp rotation by assigning it to a "fake" name or something on the server side. I'd prefer to get the SB to give up and release the address if possible.

So after you reboot the Squeezebox it still has the 106 address? If its not in the DHCP logs, then it's likely not coming from the DHCP server. Was the Squeezebox ever assigned this IP address statically in the network setup? Have you tried doing a factory reset?