PDA

View Full Version : SB3/6.1.1 and DTS issues



kkitts
2005-11-22, 09:36
Hi All,
I recently purchased a wired/SB3 and I just love it. It used DHCP to perfectly configure itself right out of the box and worked right away. The sound quality is great. And, considering that Im using an old PII/266 running Linux as the slimserver, I cant believe how responsive the unit is when you hit play it plays almost immediately. I only have about 7500 songs in my library but I just cant believe how fast the unit responds. I am using a 100Mbit wired/switched network so perhaps that helps.

A couple of quick questions...

Id been using Slimserver 6.1.1 with SoftSqueeze before I bought the SB3 and didnt bother to upgrade before installing the SB3. I saw the unit do a firmware upgrade and when I checked information on the SB3 it thinks that it is a SB2 unit. I hope that Ive not done something bad and that if/when I upgrade slimserver later it will still work OK. That should be no problem, right?

Second, I have a few dts/wav files that are in 5.1. These came from DTS CDs. Ive also re-burned these DTS/Wav files back to CDs and they play perfectly in 5.1 my Yamaha receiver seems to detect that they are DTS and automatically switch modes to DTS/5.1. Ive connected the SB3 to the receiver via an optical cable (and nothing else) it was my understanding from reading other audio manuals that digital optical (or coax) was required to get 5.1. However, when I play the DTS Wav files I just get white noise/static. Ive searched the configuration screens of the SB3 but I cant find any settings that might help some other audio devices have DTS or Pass-Through settings. Can you give me any advice in this area?

Also, do you have any recommendation on how to tag these DTS/Wav files and/or organize them within the Library structure. Further complicating things I have some CD (like Pink Floyds Dark Side of the Moon) in both DTS and regular ol CD formats.

Thanks!

Kevin

Ed
2005-11-22, 14:49
"kkitts"
<kkitts.1ywq0n (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote in message news:kkitts.1ywq0n (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com...
>
> Second, I have a few dts/wav files that are in 5.1. These came from DTS
> CDs. I've also re-burned these DTS/Wav files back to CDs and they play
> perfectly in 5.1 - my Yamaha receiver seems to detect that they are DTS
> and automatically switch modes to DTS/5.1. I've connected the SB3 to the
> receiver via an optical cable (and nothing else) - it was my
> understanding from reading other audio manuals that digital optical (or
> coax) was required to get 5.1. However, when I play the DTS Wav files I
> just get white noise/static. I've searched the configuration screens of
> the SB3 but I can't find any settings that might help - some other audio
> devices have "DTS" or "Pass-Through" settings. Can you give me any
> advice in this area?

I'm not entirely sure it's possible, and I keep meaning to check with one of
my own DTS CDs and I keep forgetting. The problem is that, as far as I
know, the Squeezebox cannot handle 96khz/24 bit, which is the format for
most DTS music that I know of. A shame, too, as I have a lot of vinyl
laying about that I plan on converting to 96/24, and I hate to have to have
it in both formats.

In any case, the only other thing you can check is that you don't have
SlimServer set up to do any transcoding to these WAV files. Settings for
this are under Home/Server Settings/File Types on the SlimServer interface
(at least in 6.1.1) or you can edit the convert.conf file located somewhere
in the SlimServer installation directory. Then look at Home/Player
Settings/Audio and make sure that "Bitrate Limiting" is set to "No Limit"
for the player that you are streaming to. Make sure to press the "Change"
button after changing settings.

Ed

machinehead
2005-11-22, 21:18
"Ed" <x84HurstOlds (AT) hotmail (DOT) com> wrote in message
news:dm03pj$4d6$1 (AT) sea (DOT) gmane.org...
> I'm not entirely sure it's possible, and I keep meaning to check with one
> of my own DTS CDs and I keep forgetting. The problem is that, as far as I
> know, the Squeezebox cannot handle 96khz/24 bit, which is the format for
> most DTS music that I know of.

Just to update, I've seen other threads that allude to 48kHz DTS files,
which should be do-able. Another thing is that I think you will need to
keep the Squeezebox volume control at full volume, or disable it via
SlimServer. It is a digital volume control, so anything less than full
volume is changing the actual bitstream, IIRC.

Ed
89CamaroZ28 (AT) nowherenow (DOT) com

giulianoz
2005-11-23, 01:00
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2152

hopefully the passthrough will be in a future release :)
as for the sb2 instead of sb3 message it's only a string passed by the server. if you update the server it will turn to squeezebox

bye

giuliano

kkitts
2005-11-23, 08:37
After setting the volume at full everyting worked perfectly. BTW, the only connection from my SB3 to my receiver is the optical/dgital cable. If I have volume set at full on the SB3 will the sound quality degrade. I'm not an audiophile - but I think we've all noticed that when you crank the volume on source devices that use plain 'ol RCA jacks that you can sometimes get some distortion in the signal. Not sure if that same principal holds for optical/digital or not.

As far as I could tell things sounded great...

Aaron Zinck
2005-11-23, 11:35
> If I have volume set at full on the SB3 will the sound quality degrade.
> I'm not an audiophile - but I think we've all noticed that when you
> crank the volume on source devices that use plain 'ol RCA jacks that
> you can sometimes get some distortion in the signal. Not sure if that
> same principal holds for optical/digital or not.

The principal does *not* hold. In fact, to the contrary, you will get the
*best* sound quality from a digital connection like this when the source is
at full volume. This is because with a digital signal there is a discrete
amount of dynamic resolution, and when you lower the volume you also lower
the amount of resolution. So quiet passages can be lost entirely, and other
elements can lose fidelity. The reason analog audio can sound bad when
driven into inputs at high levels is because the voltages supplied can
literally overload the preamps and cause clipping. This is not an issue
with digital audio as the digital signal voltages do not change based upon
the volume level of the digital signal (just ones and zeros). The analog
preamp stages in a digital processor come after the digital decoding is done
and any DAC will be matched to its accompanying preamp and calibrated in
such a way as to not overdrive the preamp stage.

Ed
2005-11-23, 12:14
"kkitts"
<kkitts.1yyhwo (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote in message news:kkitts.1yyhwo (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com...
>
> After setting the volume at full everyting worked perfectly. BTW, the
> only connection from my SB3 to my receiver is the optical/dgital cable.
> If I have volume set at full on the SB3 will the sound quality degrade.
> I'm not an audiophile - but I think we've all noticed that when you
> crank the volume on source devices that use plain 'ol RCA jacks that
> you can sometimes get some distortion in the signal. Not sure if that
> same principal holds for optical/digital or not.

My understanding is that in this case, full volume on the Squeezebox will
give you the best (100%) quality, and that seems to be confirmed by your
results. Full volume passes the exact bits that are stored on the disk,
whereas anything less is changing the volume _digitally_, and therefore
changing the bits. It's a different animal than an analog volume control.

Ed

machinehead
2005-11-24, 22:39
"kkitts"
<kkitts.1yyhwo (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote in message news:kkitts.1yyhwo (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com...
>
> After setting the volume at full everyting worked perfectly. BTW, the

Glad to hear you got it working, BTW. I did try one of my DTS CD's, ripped
to FLAC, but can't get it working on my Squeezebox 1. Not entirely sure
why, there shouldn't be any bit-mangling, but I can't find any reference to
DTS working on anything less than a SB2.

Ed

smst
2005-11-25, 09:15
I did try one of my DTS CD's, ripped to FLAC, but can't get it working on my Squeezebox 1. Not entirely sure why, there shouldn't be any bit-mangling, but I can't find any reference to DTS working on anything less than a SB2.
SB1 doesn't pass the bits through quite correctly -- I asked the other day and was told, IIRC, that the sign of each 16-bit word is inverted (or something along those lines).

In theory one could modify the underlying WAV to compensate for this...

machinehead
2005-11-25, 11:50
"smst"
<smst.1z293b (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote in message news:smst.1z293b (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com...
>
> machinehead Wrote:
>> I did try one of my DTS CD's, ripped to FLAC, but can't get it working
>> on my Squeezebox 1. Not entirely sure why, there shouldn't be any
>> bit-mangling, but I can't find any reference to DTS working on anything
>> less than a SB2.
> SB1 doesn't pass the bits through quite correctly -- I asked the other
> day and was told, IIRC, that the sign of each 16-bit word is inverted
> (or something along those lines).
>
> In theory one could modify the underlying WAV to compensate for this...

Now that you mention that, I think I remember reading that a looonng time
ago. Thanks, that would have driven me nuts.

Ed
89CamaroZ28 (AT) nowherenow (DOT) com