PDA

View Full Version : my SB3 has turned into SB2 ...



firestorm
2005-11-22, 09:09
Got my SB3 last week, very smart looking and sounds great. The first time I hooked it up with Slimserver, I was asked to press the brightness button to upgrade the firmware. After this it restarted and told me my SB3 is a SB2.

Any one else seen this ?

Ben Sandee
2005-11-22, 09:27
On 11/22/05, firestorm <firestorm.1ywomn (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
>
> Got my SB3 last week, very smart looking and sounds great. The first
> time I hooked it up with Slimserver, I was asked to press the
> brightness button to upgrade the firmware. After this it restarted and
> told me my SB3 is a SB2.
>

Sounds like you get one of the black-market SB3's that are just SB2's in an
SB3 case...!

Actually, all jokes aside that's exactly what SB3's are so there's nothing
to worry about.

Ben

Triode
2005-11-22, 09:43
Once the player is connected to the server, all display text comes from the server. Older server code said "Squeezebox2" at startup. This should change to "Squeezebox" with the latest builds [the server treats both versions as the same]. This is nothing to worry about...

kdf
2005-11-22, 09:56
On 22-Nov-05, at 8:09 AM, firestorm wrote:

>
> Got my SB3 last week, very smart looking and sounds great. The first
> time I hooked it up with Slimserver, I was asked to press the
> brightness button to upgrade the firmware. After this it restarted and
> told me my SB3 is a SB2.
>
> Any one else seen this ?
>
they are the same thing as far as the server is concerned. after the
upgrades, you'll no longer see SB2 or SB3, only squeezebox
-kdf

firestorm
2005-11-22, 15:38
hmm, thought as much, I'm running slimcd at the mo, so theoretically if I chance one of the nightly builds, the message should change if I reboot the SB3 ?