PDA

View Full Version : Moose 0.13



Dr Lovegrove
2005-11-22, 09:00
Just uploaded of new version of my windows front end, Moose, to:
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

The main new addition is scanning of the slimserver database and
hence populating the library window with tags rather than folders/files..
It's pretty easy to get going, although you need to download a couple
of SQLite support dlls.. Full details on the website..

I've kept the old folder scanning code in as some of the features such
as the tagger and copying function still require absolute paths..

The other big feature with this release is the 'popcorn button'..
Basically it's just a blank 'do whatever you want' button. I've put details
on the site of how to map it to starting RandomMix off.. If there's
enough demand, I may add a free pony feature next time.. :-)

Oh, there's a few other bug fixes and featurettes..

--
- Dr Lovegrove
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

waldy
2005-11-22, 13:11
Hey,

Nice work, artwork & a random button's all I need, it's covered.

One question, how do I export/ get at the slim mysql database? Doesnt
seem to be one on the disc I can find

cheers

Waldy

Dr Lovegrove
2005-11-22, 13:29
On 22/11/05, waldy <waldy (AT) wizfamily (DOT) co.uk> wrote:
> Nice work, artwork & a random button's all I need, it's covered.

Good stuff..

> One question, how do I export/ get at the slim mysql database? Doesnt
> seem to be one on the disc I can find

Ah, no MySql support yet - SQLite only at the moment.. MySql
will come though - cant see it being too tricky.. Still some stuff
to sort with the SQLite implementation too..

--
- Dr Lovegrove
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

chris
2005-11-23, 00:28
Hmm - with the new version I get a small window which just says 'Awaiting Server Response'. After a while I realised dragging this so it was much larger from the corner revealed the Moose interface.

Still can't get it to do anything other than sit there saying 'Awaiting Server Response', though.

If it matters, my music and db file are both on a shared drive:

Audio Root: \\kylie\Audio\
db: \\kylie\slimserver\Cache\.slimserversql.db

Dr Lovegrove
2005-11-23, 03:45
On 23/11/05, chris <chris.1yxv7z (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Still can't get it to do anything other than sit there saying 'Awaiting
> Server Response', though.

Hi Chris,

What are your 'Server IP' and 'CLI Port' fields set to in the options
page ?

Also, if your slimserver's password protected, is the
Username/Password correct. If it's not password protected,
these must both be empty.

Oh, also the library window sometimes gives verbose
diagnostic help in its status-line for connection problems..

If all the above are correct, it's possibly a firewall type problem.
Can you telnet to the server from a command line ?

Hope that helps,

--
- Dr Lovegrove
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

chris
2005-11-23, 04:45
Hi,

Earlier version certainly seemed to work.
No firewalls running here. I can telnet to 'kylie 9090' with no problem.

These are my settings:
http://chris.polymathic.net/chris/moose1.jpg

Clicking rescan on the DB just flashes a box, and then returns to the main screen.

The log files says this:
Moose log started: 23/11/2005 11:44:21
CLI: pref audiodir ?

Reply: pref audiodir %2Fvar%2Fshare%2FAudio
CLI: pref audiodir ?

Reply: pref audiodir %2Fvar%2Fshare%2FAudio
**************************
Server version unknown
Scanning DB '\\kylie\slimserver\Cache\.slimserversql.db' for files
DoScan: '\\kylie\slimserver\Cache\.slimserversql.db'
CLI: pref audiodir ?

Reply: pref audiodir %2Fvar%2Fshare%2FAudio
CLI: pref audiodir ?

Reply: pref audiodir %2Fvar%2Fshare%2FAudio
CLI: (close)
CLI: (close)

Dr Lovegrove
2005-11-23, 05:19
On 23/11/05, chris <chris.1yy79b (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> These are my settings:
> http://chris.polymathic.net/chris/moose1.jpg

Ahhh, seems to be a problem with empty player mac addresses. I've
fixed the code and 0.14 is now up.

> Clicking rescan on the DB just flashes a box, and then returns to the
> main screen.
>
> Scanning DB '\\kylie\slimserver\Cache\.slimserversql.db' for files

Is this the correct path to the db file ? I think the default is:
.....slimserver\server\Cache\slimserversql.db

--
- Dr Lovegrove
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

chris
2005-11-23, 05:29
Hi,

Thanks - says it connects now, which is an improvement.

Scanning the db still doesn't work, though.

The log now says:


Moose log started: 23/11/2005 12:27:27
CLI: status - 1 tags:jalyu

Reply: 00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3A30%3Acc status - 1 tags%3Ajalyu player_name%3ASqueezebox player_connected%3A1 power%3A0 signalstrength%3A0
CLI: status - 1 tags:jalyu

Reply: 00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3A30%3Acc status - 1 tags%3Ajalyu player_name%3ASqueezebox player_connected%3A1 power%3A0 signalstrength%3A0
**************************
Server version 6.5b1
Scanning DB '\\kylie\slimserver\Cache\.slimserversql.db' for files
DoScan: '\\kylie\slimserver\Cache\.slimserversql.db'
CLI: status - 1 tags:jalyu

Reply: 00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3A30%3Acc status - 1 tags%3Ajalyu player_name%3ASqueezebox player_connected%3A1 power%3A0 signalstrength%3A0
CLI: status - 1 tags:jalyu

Reply: 00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3A30%3Acc status - 1 tags%3Ajalyu player_name%3ASqueezebox player_connected%3A1 power%3A0 signalstrength%3A0
CLI: status - 1 tags:jalyu

Reply: 00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3A30%3Acc status - 1 tags%3Ajalyu player_name%3ASqueezebox player_connected%3A1 power%3A0 signalstrength%3A0
CLI: status - 1 tags:jalyu

Reply: 00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3A30%3Acc status - 1 tags%3Ajalyu player_name%3ASqueezebox player_connected%3A1 power%3A0 signalstrength%3A0
CLI: status - 1 tags:jalyu

Reply: 00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3A30%3Acc status - 1 tags%3Ajalyu player_name%3ASqueezebox player_connected%3A1 power%3A0 signalstrength%3A0
CLI: (close)
CLI: (close)

My db does seem to have the . prefix:


[root@Kylie Cache]# pwd
/usr/local/slimserver/Cache
[root@Kylie Cache]# ls -la
total 44104
drwxr-xr-x 5 slimserver slimserver 4096 Nov 23 04:18 .
drwxr-xr-x 14 slimserver slimserver 4096 Nov 21 09:12 ..
-rw-r--r-- 1 slimserver slimserver 73195 Oct 3 14:13 fontcache
-rw-r--r-- 1 slimserver slimserver 68 Nov 22 23:50 mDNS.conf
-rw-r--r-- 1 slimserver slimserver 6 Nov 22 23:50 mDNS.pid
drwxr-xr-x 2 slimserver slimserver 4096 Oct 3 14:13 .slimserver-albumreview-cache
drwxr-xr-x 2 slimserver slimserver 4096 Oct 3 14:13 .slimserver-biography-cache
-rw-r--r-- 1 slimserver slimserver 41607168 Nov 23 04:20 .slimserversql.db
-rw------- 1 slimserver slimserver 3384344 Nov 23 04:19 .slimserversql.db-journal
drwxr-xr-x 3 slimserver slimserver 4096 Oct 27 21:19 templates

Dr Lovegrove
2005-11-23, 06:51
On 23/11/05, chris <chris.1yy93z (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Server version 6.5b1
>
> My db does seem to have the . prefix:

Ah, is it a MySql db rather than an SQLite one ? Dont know if
6.5 is using this by default yet ? Didnt get much of a response
on the developer list a week or so back.. Moose is currently
SQLite-friendly only..

Otherwise, might be a locking issue ? If you copy the .db file
locally, does that help ?

Otherwise.. Does the presence of a -journal file mean the db's
still being populated ? Might be a problem ?

Think I need to add a bit of logging to the DB connection code..

--
- Dr Lovegrove
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

chris
2005-11-23, 10:42
Copying it locally makes the scanning window that pops up stay for a little longer, but then it vanishes (without really drawing the window properly, so you can't see what's in it).

Opening the file with a hex editor reveals 'SQLite format 3' as the first line, so I guess it's SQLite still.

The log just reports:


Moose log started: 23/11/2005 17:39:46
CLI: status - 1 tags:jalyu

Reply: 00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3A30%3Acc status - 1 tags%3Ajalyu player_name%3ASqueezebox player_connected%3A1 power%3A0 signalstrength%3A0
**************************
Server version 6.5b1
Scanning DB 'd:\Moose\slimserversql.db' for files
DoScan: 'd:\Moose\slimserversql.db'
CLI: status - 1 tags:jalyu

Reply: 00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3A30%3Acc status - 1 tags%3Ajalyu player_name%3ASqueezebox player_connected%3A1 power%3A0 signalstrength%3A0
CLI: status - 1 tags:jalyu

Reply: 00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3A30%3Acc status - 1 tags%3Ajalyu player_name%3ASqueezebox player_connected%3A1 power%3A0 signalstrength%3A0


Thanks for all the support (and a great application). I'll be happy to test anything that comes along. Hopefully you can get it working :)

Cheers,
Chris

Dr Lovegrove
2005-11-24, 05:57
On 23/11/05, chris <chris.1yynp0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Thanks for all the support (and a great application). I'll be happy to
> test anything that comes along. Hopefully you can get it working :)

Ah ha.. Seems the database schema's not as fixed as I thought..
I was prepared for column indexes to change, but not the actual
column names themselves ! Yikes..

New version up which should handle things a bit better (if a bit
slower).. It now checks the schema version and uses non-hardcoded
strings to map to the column names.. Guess I'll need to keep my eyes
open for more name-changes..

0.15 should hopefully work ok with 6.5 now anyhow.. I've put
some logging in too if not.

Ahhh, databases...

--
- Dr Lovegrove
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

chris
2005-11-24, 09:59
That's just the job, thanks!