PDA

View Full Version : Using a SB2 with Netgear wireless but no Internet connection



CraigS720
2005-11-20, 18:50
Can I use my Powerbook with a Netgear WGR614 wireless router to stream music to my SB2 if the router is not connected to the Internet? How would I set up the router to so this?

Thanks for the help.

Craig Simon

dean
2005-11-20, 22:44
On Nov 20, 2005, at 5:50 PM, CraigS720 wrote:
> Can I use my Powerbook with a Netgear WGR614 wireless router to stream
> music to my SB2 if the router is not connected to the Internet? How
> would I set up the router to so this?
Yes. Plug the computer into one of the router's LAN ports and then
set up the Squeezebox to connect to the wireless network provided by
the Netgear.

Will you have other devices connected? Do you have another router to
connect to the Internet? If so, make sure you only have one device
on the network that is set up as a DHCP server.

CraigS720
2005-11-21, 09:01
Dean'

Thanks for the reply.

The Netgear WGR614 router I have won't let me configure it without having an internet connection. Someone on the Netgear forum suggested I set the router up us an access point to get wireless service, but in the instructions form Netgear it indicates Netgear won't support the it's router operating that way. That makes me nervous!:-) Not to mention that I am a complete novice when it comes to networking!

Any thoughts how I get the router to throw of a wireless signal? And should I get an iinternet connection later I assume I can just reset the router for more "normal use?"

Thanks fo the help. MY SB 2 (and the two SB3's I have coming are my favorite devices! What as great product!

Thanks again

Craig Simon

dean
2005-11-22, 21:34
I hate to tell you to do something that the original manufacturer
won't support, but...

You _should_ be able to just ignore the routing aspect of your WGR614
and disable the DHCP server and give the access point a static IP
address on your network. Don't plug anything into the WAN port.

Then you should be able to connect one of the LAN ports to the rest
of your wired devices (you may need a crossover cable for this.)

If you need more details, post some more information about the other
devices on your network and how they are already configured.

-dean



On Nov 21, 2005, at 8:01 AM, CraigS720 wrote:

>
> Dean'
>
> Thanks for the reply.
>
> The Netgear WGR614 router I have won't let me configure it without
> having an internet connection. Someone on the Netgear forum
> suggested I
> set the router up us an access point to get wireless service, but
> in the
> instructions form Netgear it indicates Netgear won't support the it's
> router operating that way. That makes me nervous!:-) Not to mention
> that I am a complete novice when it comes to networking!
>
> Any thoughts how I get the router to throw of a wireless signal? And
> should I get an iinternet connection later I assume I can just reset
> the router for more "normal use?"
>
> Thanks fo the help. MY SB 2 (and the two SB3's I have coming are my
> favorite devices! What as great product!
>
> Thanks again
>
> Craig Simon
>
>
> --
> CraigS720
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
> --
> CraigS720's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?
> userid=729
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=18390
>
>