PDA

View Full Version : Synchronisation



kweller
2005-11-19, 03:46
Is synchronisation as flaky as it seems to be or it something strange
about my set-up? When I play SoftSqueeze on the server it works
perfectly but as soon as I synchronise with the player in the kitchen
(wireless connected) it all starts playing up.

As an example SoftSqueeze has just stopped. The kitchen player
continued and then SoftSqueeze started again further down the track.
The track on SoftSqueeze ended and it stopped again (presumably waiting
for the kitchen player to catch up). Kitchen finished and they both
started again.

Surprisingly they are both in sync as one or the other is generally
behind after a problem and players and SlimServer are all displaying
the correct track details - I quite often find after that sort of
problem they are displaying details of the previous track.

I guess the answer is not to synchronise them but they aren't far apart
so it would sound pretty awful if one was standing between them and
they were playing different tracks.

As I was about to send this the same thing happened again.

Both SlimServer and SoftSqueeze are at version 6.2.1

Kevin

max.spicer
2005-11-19, 04:53
I've recently got two SqueezeBoxes (a v2 and a v3) so have tried synchronisation for the first time this week. I must admit, that this was pretty much the experience I had as well. I found that sometimes it would be perfectly in sync, but others tracks would restart just after starting and result in the synchronisation being way out. I haven't yet had a chance to look into this properly.

Max


Is synchronisation as flaky as it seems to be or it something strange
about my set-up? When I play SoftSqueeze on the server it works
perfectly but as soon as I synchronise with the player in the kitchen
(wireless connected) it all starts playing up.

As an example SoftSqueeze has just stopped. The kitchen player
continued and then SoftSqueeze started again further down the track.
The track on SoftSqueeze ended and it stopped again (presumably waiting
for the kitchen player to catch up). Kitchen finished and they both
started again.

Surprisingly they are both in sync as one or the other is generally
behind after a problem and players and SlimServer are all displaying
the correct track details - I quite often find after that sort of
problem they are displaying details of the previous track.

I guess the answer is not to synchronise them but they aren't far apart
so it would sound pretty awful if one was standing between them and
they were playing different tracks.

As I was about to send this the same thing happened again.

Both SlimServer and SoftSqueeze are at version 6.2.1

Kevin

greedy_grendel
2005-11-19, 14:50
Is synchronisation as flaky as it seems to be or it something strange
about my set-up? When I play SoftSqueeze on the server it works
perfectly but as soon as I synchronise with the player in the kitchen
(wireless connected) it all starts playing up.

As an example SoftSqueeze has just stopped. The kitchen player
continued and then SoftSqueeze started again further down the track.
The track on SoftSqueeze ended and it stopped again (presumably waiting
for the kitchen player to catch up). Kitchen finished and they both
started again.

Surprisingly they are both in sync as one or the other is generally
behind after a problem and players and SlimServer are all displaying
the correct track details - I quite often find after that sort of
problem they are displaying details of the previous track.

I guess the answer is not to synchronise them but they aren't far apart
so it would sound pretty awful if one was standing between them and
they were playing different tracks.

As I was about to send this the same thing happened again.

Both SlimServer and SoftSqueeze are at version 6.2.1

Kevin


What are your system specs on the system running Slimserver/Softsqueeze? It sounds like your getting a buffer underrun.

-m

kweller
2005-11-19, 15:25
In article <greedy_grendel.1yrkln (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>,
Greedy_grendel wrote:
> What are your system specs on the system running
> Slimserver/Softsqueeze? It sounds like your getting a buffer underrun.

It's an IBM laptop with a mobile 1.1GHz PIII processor and 512MB RAM.
This is dedicated to serving music and the only other things running on
it are MusicMagicMixer, AVG AV and Outpost firewall - it ought to be OK.

The MP3s are on a Buffalo LinkStation and, following the playlist issue
I reported above, I'm beginning to wonder if SlimServer doesn't like it.
If that's the case it'll be a bit of a shame as I only bought it to put
my MP3s on.

SoftSqueeze works perfectly when the players are not synchronised.

Kevin