PDA

View Full Version : Wireless Signal Strength stuck at 0%



chalky
2005-11-17, 10:46
7Hi,
My Sqeezebox2 has developed a problem detecting my wireless network.
All was fine until this morning when I noticed that it was displaying the "couldn't connect to server" message.
None of the settings had changed (I doubled checked) but the Wireless Signal Strength was on 0%.
The access point (AP) looked fine and my laptop was still able to connect, so I did a factory reset of the Squeezebox. The Signal Strength was now back to 86%. I entered all the settings and tried to connect to the AP, but was still failing. Going back to "View Network Settings" I could see that the signal strength was on 0% again. So I did another factory reset, but this time I stayed in the "View Network Settings" section and watched the Signal Strength meter. It was fluctuating between 0% and 80% to 90%. The fluctuations were about 4 seconds apart. I watched this for 5 minutes, then entered all the network settings again. Still wouldn't connect, and now the Signal Strength is stuck at 0%. No number of power cycles on the AP or the Squeezebox, or chaging the location of the Squeezebox make any difference.


My laptop can still connect through my wireless AP, and every thing else seems fine.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Philip Bouscarle
2005-11-17, 11:04
Could it be a dodgy connection on the wireless card? Mine became unseated
and it was very simple to open the box and push it back into its socket.

Or a dodgy connection to the aerial?

Philip

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of chalky
Sent: 17 November 2005 17:47
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Wireless Signal Strength stuck at 0%


7Hi,
My Sqeezebox2 has developed a problem detecting my wireless network.
All was fine until this morning when I noticed that it was displaying
the "couldn't connect to server" message.
None of the settings had changed (I doubled checked) but the Wireless
Signal Strength was on 0%.
The access point (AP) looked fine and my laptop was still able to
connect, so I did a factory reset of the Squeezebox. The Signal
Strength was now back to 86%. I entered all the settings and tried to
connect to the AP, but was still failing. Going back to "View Network
Settings" I could see that the signal strength was on 0% again. So I
did another factory reset, but this time I stayed in the "View Network
Settings" section and watched the Signal Strength meter. It was
fluctuating between 0% and 80% to 90%. The fluctuations were about 4
seconds apart. I watched this for 5 minutes, then entered all the
network settings again. Still wouldn't connect, and now the Signal
Strength is stuck at 0%. No number of power cycles on the AP or the
Squeezebox, or chaging the location of the Squeezebox make any
difference.


My laptop can still connect through my wireless AP, and every thing
else seems fine.

Does anyone have any ideas?


--
chalky
------------------------------------------------------------------------
chalky's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=1851
View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=18281

meyergru
2005-11-17, 17:23
Does anyone have any ideas?


Yup. You know that WLAN is in the 2.5 GHz ISM range?

ISM = industrial/scientific/medical

This means that this frequency band is not allocated exclusively to WLAN. For example, it is not only shared with you neighbour's WLAN, but also with certain remote control units, Bluetooth and even microwave ovens (which have quite some transmit power if not properly shielded!) along with several other equipment. Depending on the excat positioning of receiver and transmitter, you may experience different behaviour with your Squeezebox and your notebook.

Your problem pattern could be due to an interference with some other device using the same frequency band. Have you tried to change the WLAN channel or repositioning the access point or the Squeezebox yet?