PDA

View Full Version : Radio Tune-In Driving me NUTS!!!



topshelfpete
2005-11-14, 04:59
Hey,

I'm using Slimserver 6.2 which for the most part works very smoothly except when I use the Radio Tune-In.

This link works in Slimserver (I hear the radio):
mms://live.eonstreams.com/ccri_ma_boston_wkox_am.asf

Stream Info
===========
Codec: wma2
Channels: 2
Sample rate: 32000 Hz
Bits per sample: 16
Bitrate: 32 kb/s


This link doesn't work in Slimserver (Nothing but silence):
mms://live.eonstreams.com/ccri_ca_losangeles_ktlk_am.asf

Stream Info
===========
Codec: wma2
Channels: 1
Sample rate: 44100 Hz
Bits per sample: 16
Bitrate: 32 kb/s

Both links work in Windows Media Player so I know the links are correct.

There doesn't seem to be any rational explanation why one stream works and the other doesn't. Please help me sort this out.

Thanks,
Peter

bernt
2005-11-14, 05:23
I can play both streams in softsqueeze.

topshelfpete
2005-11-14, 05:29
Does it work on the squeezebox?

radish
2005-11-14, 06:09
They both work for me, SB2 on SS 6.1.1.

EDIT: fixed the version

kdf
2005-11-14, 13:48
the non-working stream shows as having one channel. if that means it
is using WMA Voice codec, then that is the explanation. There is an
open bug mentioning that wma voice is not supported, and the comment
says "waiting on microsoft"

-kdf

topshelfpete
2005-11-14, 18:07
I had it working on Slimserver 6.1 which leads me to believe it's an issue with the newer version. I've tried for hours changing settings but to no avail. I'm going to revert back to 6.1 and see if that fixes the problem. I'm not convinced this is WMA voice bug...it's too easy to blame microsoft for everything.

Ben Sandee
2005-11-14, 18:44
On 11/14/05, topshelfpete <topshelfpete.1yikan (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
>
> I had it working on Slimserver 6.1 which leads me to believe it's an
> issue with the newer version. I've tried for hours changing settings
> but to no avail. I'm going to revert back to 6.1 and see if that fixes
> the problem. I'm not convinced this is WMA voice bug...it's too easy to
> blame microsoft for everything.


SlimServer 6.1 didn't decode WMA on the SqueezeBox so it's actually likely
that the change to decode WMA on the squeezebox in 6.2 introduced the issue
for you.

Track this bug to keep tabs on the issue:
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2127

In the meantime I think that if you modify your convert.conf file to remove
(or comment out) the two lines:

wma wma squeezebox2 *
-

It will revert back to the older behavior decoding WMA on the server. Could
be wrong about that, but I think that's right.

Ben

Michaelwagner
2005-11-14, 19:33
it's too easy to blame microsoft for everything.
Ah, but so satisfying!

kdf
2005-11-14, 23:27
On 14-Nov-05, at 5:07 PM, topshelfpete wrote:

>
> I had it working on Slimserver 6.1 which leads me to believe it's an
> issue with the newer version. I've tried for hours changing settings
> but to no avail. I'm going to revert back to 6.1 and see if that fixes
> the problem. I'm not convinced this is WMA voice bug...it's too easy to
> blame microsoft for everything.
>
erm. it has nothing to do with blaming microsoft for anything.
Slimserver does not support wma voice.
This means that the native coding will fail when it sees wma voice.
6.1.1, or softsqueeze with 6.2 will transcode and therefore work.

The 'waiting for microsoft' simply means that more communication is
needed to arrange licensing or whatever.

give up on the blame game, it goes nowhere.

no doubt it will work fine with 6.1.1, so if you are happy with that,
I'm happy that you are happy.