PDA

View Full Version : Foobar2000 output to Squeezebox 3



akwok
2005-11-13, 16:45
Hello,

I just placed an order for a Squeezebox 3, just for digital out. I was wondering, if my current player is Foobar2000, can I set it to directly output ot the Squeezebox 3? i.e., if I'm playing music on my computer through Foobar, can I send the music to the Squeezebox 3 and listen to the setup plugged into it?

Thanks
Adrian

Ben Sandee
2005-11-13, 17:37
On 11/13/05, akwok <akwok.1yglxb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
>
> I just placed an order for a Squeezebox 3, just for digital out. I was
> wondering, if my current player is Foobar2000, can I set it to directly
> output ot the Squeezebox 3? i.e., if I'm playing music on my computer
> through Foobar, can I send the music to the Squeezebox 3 and listen to
> the setup plugged into it?
>

Adrian,

The only way I can think of to do this directly -- the only way that is
close as far as I know is to set up foobar2000 as radio station (ala
Shoutcast/Oddcast I believe) and then tune your SB3 to that radio station.

Ben

Mark Lanctot
2005-11-13, 18:50
You can also do this the other way around. SlimServer
will recognize foobar as a player. It will say
"player on <local IP address>". You can change this
to "foobar on <computer name>".

Then set a playlist for foobar using SlimServer and
get the audio stream going in foobar. Start the SB3
and synchronize with foobar.

--- Ben Sandee <tbsandee (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:

> On 11/13/05, akwok
> <akwok.1yglxb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
> >
> >
> > I just placed an order for a Squeezebox 3, just
> for digital out. I was
> > wondering, if my current player is Foobar2000, can
> I set it to directly
> > output ot the Squeezebox 3? i.e., if I'm playing
> music on my computer
> > through Foobar, can I send the music to the
> Squeezebox 3 and listen to
> > the setup plugged into it?
> >
>
> Adrian,
>
> The only way I can think of to do this directly --
> the only way that is
> close as far as I know is to set up foobar2000 as
> radio station (ala
> Shoutcast/Oddcast I believe) and then tune your SB3
> to that radio station.
>
> Ben
> >

akwok
2005-11-13, 18:56
Would that degrade the sound quality though? And also, will it show what song is currently playing?

Thanks for the reply!

akwok
2005-11-13, 19:02
Oh! Is there something I should keep in mind while I'm setting it up? Are there instructions which explain how I should do this? :-)

Thanks for the reply Mark!


You can also do this the other way around. SlimServer
will recognize foobar as a player. It will say
"player on <local IP address>". You can change this
to "foobar on <computer name>".

Then set a playlist for foobar using SlimServer and
get the audio stream going in foobar. Start the SB3
and synchronize with foobar.

--- Ben Sandee <tbsandee (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:

> On 11/13/05, akwok
> <akwok.1yglxb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
> >
> >
> > I just placed an order for a Squeezebox 3, just
> for digital out. I was
> > wondering, if my current player is Foobar2000, can
> I set it to directly
> > output ot the Squeezebox 3? i.e., if I'm playing
> music on my computer
> > through Foobar, can I send the music to the
> Squeezebox 3 and listen to
> > the setup plugged into it?
> >
>
> Adrian,
>
> The only way I can think of to do this directly --
> the only way that is
> close as far as I know is to set up foobar2000 as
> radio station (ala
> Shoutcast/Oddcast I believe) and then tune your SB3
> to that radio station.
>
> Ben
> >

Ben Sandee
2005-11-13, 19:25
On 11/13/05, akwok <akwok.1ygrxz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
>
> Would that degrade the sound quality though? And also, will it show
> what song is currently playing?
>

Could be that it would lower the sound quality of the broadcaster (Oddcast
or Shoutcast) were to re-encode the music data (maybe to a lower bitrate).
There may be configuration settings on *cast to work around this.

SlimServer should be able to interpret and display the changing song
metainfo from these streams.

Ben

Ben Sandee
2005-11-13, 19:26
On 11/13/05, akwok <akwok.1ygs6b (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
>
> Oh! Is there something I should keep in mind while I'm setting it up?
> Are there instructions which explain how I should do this? :-)
>
> Thanks for the reply Mark!


Mark's suggestion would result in your Foobar2000 client acting like a
SqueezeBox -- but it wouldn't let you control what is output to your
SqueezeBox from a Foobar2000 client.

Ben

akwok
2005-11-13, 19:36
On 11/13/05, akwok <akwok.1ygrxz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
>
> Would that degrade the sound quality though? And also, will it show
> what song is currently playing?
>

Could be that it would lower the sound quality of the broadcaster (Oddcast
or Shoutcast) were to re-encode the music data (maybe to a lower bitrate).
There may be configuration settings on *cast to work around this.

SlimServer should be able to interpret and display the changing song
metainfo from these streams.

Ben

Hmmm. I tried googling 'Shoutcast flac' and 'Oddcast flac', but no real good hits. Does anyone know if either will broadcast in flac?

Mark Lanctot
2005-11-13, 19:50
Yes, SlimServer would control both. foobar would not
control the playback.

foobar can only play back SlimServer streams in MP3
format. I believe it's high bitrate though, 320 kbps,
so there will be no appreciable sound quality decrease
for playing back an MP3 file or, for that matter, an
MP3 Internet radio stream as they're nearly all of
lower bitrates than 320.

If you had a FLAC file, there will be some potential
quality loss, but most say that a 320 kbps LAME MP3
sounds as good as the CD itself on everything but the
very best audio equipment with some serious golden
ears.

To play back anything other than MP3 via a remote
stream from SlimServer, you have to install the LAME
MP3 encoder. It's free.

To set it up, all you need to do is start up
SlimServer and start up foobar. Point foobar to the
URL: http://<local IP address>:9000/stream.mp3. Press
play. Nothing will happen, but suddenly SlimServer
should show a new player. Put songs and playlists
into that player's playlist and they'll play through
foobar. foobar will show the song title in its title
bar but its playlist will remain as http://<local IP
address>:9000/stream.mp3. You can also rename the
player to something more descriptive.

Then start your SB3. Connect to SlimServer and scroll
up in the menu. Select "Synchronize" and then
"Synchronize with <whatever name you named foobar>".

Instructions are contained in SlimServer's help
section under Remote Streaming.

--- Ben Sandee <tbsandee (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:

> On 11/13/05, akwok
> <akwok.1ygs6b (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
> >
> >
> > Oh! Is there something I should keep in mind while
> I'm setting it up?
> > Are there instructions which explain how I should
> do this? :-)
> >
> > Thanks for the reply Mark!
>
>
> Mark's suggestion would result in your Foobar2000
> client acting like a
> SqueezeBox -- but it wouldn't let you control what
> is output to your
> SqueezeBox from a Foobar2000 client.
>
> Ben
> >

Mark Lanctot
2005-11-13, 19:52
Most Internet audio streams are low-bitrate MP3s, 128
kbps or less.

There are no FLAC streams that I know of. FLACs are
in the 1 Mbps range. This would be considered
extremely wasteful for streaming audio. Most
streaming video is less than that!

--- akwok <akwok.1ygtsn (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:

>
> Ben Sandee Wrote:
> > On 11/13/05, akwok <akwok.1ygrxz (AT) no-mx (DOT)
> > forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
> > >
> > >
> > > Would that degrade the sound quality though? And
> also, will it show
> > > what song is currently playing?
> > >
> >
> > Could be that it would lower the sound quality of
> the broadcaster
> > (Oddcast
> > or Shoutcast) were to re-encode the music data
> (maybe to a lower
> > bitrate).
> > There may be configuration settings on *cast to
> work around this.
> >
> > SlimServer should be able to interpret and display
> the changing song
> > metainfo from these streams.
> >
> > Ben
>
> Hmmm. I tried googling 'Shoutcast flac' and
> 'Oddcast flac', but no
> real good hits. Does anyone know if either will
> broadcast in flac?
>
>
> --
> akwok
>
------------------------------------------------------------------------
> akwok's Profile:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2298
> View this thread:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=18158
>
>

akwok
2005-11-13, 20:49
Oh well, I guess it's time to get rid of Foobar2000 then! I can't live with anything less than FLAC, I've spent too much on my system !

Mark Lanctot
2005-11-13, 21:19
That would be a shame.

foobar is a great player.

The limitation isn't with the player either.

Besides, do some listening tests. Most say that you
can't tell the difference between a 192 kbps
LAME-encoded MP3 and FLAC, let alone 320 kbps.

You should at least do some listening tests to
determine if your audio system is of a high enough
resolution and your ears are good enough to tell the
difference.

I would bet that your computer audio system is not up
to the task. I am totally jaded with respect to
computer audio systems. They just seem totally
substandard compared to audiophile audio equipment.

--- akwok <akwok.1ygx1b (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:

>
> Oh well, I guess it's time to get rid of Foobar2000
> then! I can't live
> with anything less than FLAC, I've spent too much on
> my system !
>
>
> --
> akwok
>
------------------------------------------------------------------------
> akwok's Profile:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2298
> View this thread:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=18158
>
>

akwok
2005-11-13, 21:43
I have spent over $5000 on my headphone setup, and for me every bit counts! I switched from a flashed AV-710 sound card outputting digital to the Squeezebox to hopefully give me a difference in audio quality.

Here is my setup :
http://www.audiocubes2.com/product/Audio-Technica_ATH-L3000_Headphones_with_AT-DHA3000_Amp.html

So going from FLAC to anything less is not an option. I have gone through a variety of DACs, amplifiers, and headphones, and have even went into power conditioning for that extra 3-5%.. the last thing I would want is to degrade my audio just due to a player.


That would be a shame.

foobar is a great player.

The limitation isn't with the player either.

Besides, do some listening tests. Most say that you
can't tell the difference between a 192 kbps
LAME-encoded MP3 and FLAC, let alone 320 kbps.

You should at least do some listening tests to
determine if your audio system is of a high enough
resolution and your ears are good enough to tell the
difference.

I would bet that your computer audio system is not up
to the task. I am totally jaded with respect to
computer audio systems. They just seem totally
substandard compared to audiophile audio equipment.

--- akwok <akwok.1ygx1b (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:

>
> Oh well, I guess it's time to get rid of Foobar2000
> then! I can't live
> with anything less than FLAC, I've spent too much on
> my system !
>
>
> --
> akwok
>
------------------------------------------------------------------------
> akwok's Profile:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2298
> View this thread:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=18158
>
>

m1abrams
2005-11-14, 06:36
Not sure why you would think you would get better sound quality from the SB3 over your previous setup.

Both do a very good job with DAC duties. The SB3 might be slightly better over your soundcard you listed, but that is a good soundcard.

What the SB3 is meant to be better at is not being tethered so closely to a computer. You still need a computer running slimserver but it can be anywhere on your network.

I am seeing more an more people come to the forums, wanting the SB3 to act like a soundcard when it is much more than that. Why is this? Why do so many people want to control thier music from a computer but want to use a Squeezebox? This is confusing to me, I listen to music on my computer, and that is why I do NOT have a SB in my computer room. It is in the listening room where my "good" equipment is. Also that room is much much quieter than my computer room.

radish
2005-11-14, 09:07
I am seeing more an more people come to the forums, wanting the SB3 to act like a soundcard when it is much more than that. Why is this? Why do so many people want to control thier music from a computer but want to use a Squeezebox? This is confusing to me, I listen to music on my computer, and that is why I do NOT have a SB in my computer room. It is in the listening room where my "good" equipment is. Also that room is much much quieter than my computer room.

I use both. There's a SB in the living room for "real" listening, there's also one in the bedroom for lazy sunday mornings. There's also one in my office, sitting right on top of my PC. Why? A few reasons. Sound quality is way better than most soundcards, no interruptions from system sounds. Also, I spend a lot of time working on my various computers, both hardware and software. I like to listen to music whilst doing so and it's a real pain when it stops because something crashed, or I need to switch the machine off.

akwok
2005-11-14, 10:07
Not sure why you would think you would get better sound quality from the SB3 over your previous setup.

Both do a very good job with DAC duties. The SB3 might be slightly better over your soundcard you listed, but that is a good soundcard.

What the SB3 is meant to be better at is not being tethered so closely to a computer. You still need a computer running slimserver but it can be anywhere on your network.

I am seeing more an more people come to the forums, wanting the SB3 to act like a soundcard when it is much more than that. Why is this? Why do so many people want to control thier music from a computer but want to use a Squeezebox? This is confusing to me, I listen to music on my computer, and that is why I do NOT have a SB in my computer room. It is in the listening room where my "good" equipment is. Also that room is much much quieter than my computer room.

The SB3 is known for it's low jitter and extremely good clock. The AV-710 is a cheap $30 card used for only digital out, with poor specs.

And uh.. I am not using either's DAC. I use an external DAC, as mentioned in posts previous.