PDA

View Full Version : How to Bookmark a Specific Player?



David Thomas
2005-11-12, 05:14
I've got two players on my net: an SB2 and a SoftSqueeze.

How can I control which player comes up when I open the browser
window to the slimserver? The combo box always seems to come up
on the "wrong" one. Can I specify the player on the URL for the
slimserver "Home" page, so I can bookmark the page, pre-selected
for a particular player?

It's particularly annoying to my spouse when I inadvertently
add tracks to her playlists...

--
David Thomas

danco
2005-11-12, 06:54
On 12/11/05 at 06:14 -0600, David Thomas wrote
>I've got two players on my net: an SB2 and a SoftSqueeze.
>
>How can I control which player comes up when I open the browser
>window to the slimserver? The combo box always seems to come up
>on the "wrong" one. Can I specify the player on the URL for the
>slimserver "Home" page, so I can bookmark the page, pre-selected
>for a particular player?

yes.

I have a bookmark

http://localhost:9000/index.html?player=00:04:20:05:aa:a2

The player= part gives the MAC address of the player (as found on
the bottom of the SB) or in the Player Information section of the
Settings menu (this works for SoftSqueeze and SB).
--
Daniel Cohen

radish
2005-11-12, 08:16
I've got two players on my net: an SB2 and a SoftSqueeze.

How can I control which player comes up when I open the browser
window to the slimserver? The combo box always seems to come up
on the "wrong" one. Can I specify the player on the URL for the
slimserver "Home" page, so I can bookmark the page, pre-selected
for a particular player?

It's particularly annoying to my spouse when I inadvertently
add tracks to her playlists...

--
David Thomas

Yup, just add a "player" parameter to the bookmark URL. If you use the dropdown to select the player you want as default you should see "?player=..." on the URL - just bookmark that and you're set.

timmorris
2006-11-01, 09:40
Is there anyway to stop the dropdown box appearing so that the browser is "locked in" to a particular player by url?

My brother does a lot of work for Nokia so can get hold of one 770 for each of the 4 Squeezeboxes we have. The last thing I want is for the remotes to get cross-linked and for the less tech-savvy in the household to get confused!

Tim

radish
2006-11-01, 09:49
The only thing I can think of would be to edit the skin html to take the control out - shouldn't be a big change.

mherger
2006-11-01, 09:52
> Is there anyway to stop the dropdown box appearing so that the browser
> is "locked in" to a particular player by url?

You can't stop displaying this field without manipulating the HTML
template. But you can bookmark the player with something like
http://yourserver:9000/Nokia770/?player=yourplayerid

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

kdf
2006-11-01, 09:53
http://<serverip>:9000/<skin>/index.html?player=<player MAC address>

then instruct the less tech savvy to not use the pulldown (assuming
they can follow instructions)
-kdf

bklaas
2006-11-01, 10:13
The only thing I can think of would be to edit the skin html to take the control out - shouldn't be a big change.

Yep, this is a pretty simple hack--

to remove the player selector-
edit HTML/Nokia770/pageheader.html
everything within the <div> tag labeled "playSelect" needs to be html commented out.

Index: pageheader.html
================================================== =================
--- pageheader.html (revision 10530)
+++ pageheader.html (working copy)
@@ -32,6 +32,7 @@
</td></tr>
</table>
<div id = 'playerSelect'>
+<!--
<table bgcolor="#333333">
<tr>
<td align = 'right' class = 'smallwhitetext'>
@@ -62,6 +63,7 @@
[% END %]
[% END %]
</td></tr></table>
+-->
</div>
</div>
<!-- /Element pageheader.html -->