PDA

View Full Version : Broken SB2 ?



Johnny Stork
2005-11-08, 10:18
My fairly new SB2 (6 months I think) suddenly stopped working? I run SS
6.2 on a RHES 4 box and the SB is wireless. I also have a SB1 on the same
network and it works fine. The behavior is that although it is up and
running, and I can connect to the network and browse music and play music,
the song shows up on the display but it does not increment. I can even go
to playing radio feeds and the behaviors it the same...seems to find
everything but no songs increment, just sits there showing the song, timer
at 0:00 and no sound. Sometimes the display will also look strange with
part of the vu meter under the time display, or the clock will show and
there will be 2 small lines to the right where the vu scale would often
show?
I have powered down the SB many time to no effect.
I have re-uploaded the FW to no effect (hold down brightness)
I have restarted SS to no effect?
__________________________
Johnny Stork
Open Enterprise Solutions
"Empowering Business With Open Source Software"
http://www.openenterprise.ca

---------------------------------------------
Open Enterprise Solutions
This message has been scanned for viruses and
dangerous content by MailScanner, and is
believed to be clean.

seanadams
2005-11-08, 10:49
Try press and hold power until it resets, then hit "1" on the Slim Devices splash screen.

ioncube
2005-11-08, 13:11
Thanks for posting this Sean as it's just what my SB2 needed. I've been used to crashes overnight with 6.2 (maybe due to alarm clock or resscanning), but after moving my Music lib to a different drive just now, rescanning on the server, restarting etc. my SB2 wouldn't play anything, even though the slim server found and could read the files, SB2 was connected, could browse files and so on. Resetting SB2 as you described brought it back to life. Nick

Johnny Stork
2005-11-08, 15:23
That didnt work either, same behavior as before

-----Original Message-----
From: seanadams [mailto:seanadams.1y6vxb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com]
Sent: Tuesday, November 08, 2005 9:50 AM
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Re: Broken SB2 ?



Try press and hold power until it resets, then hit "1" on the Slim
Devices splash screen.


--
seanadams
------------------------------------------------------------------------
seanadams's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=3
View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=18006

Mark Lanctot
2005-11-08, 15:49
Sean (or anybody):

What does "1" do? ADD seems to perform a factory
reset, does 1 do the same thing or something
different?

seanadams wrote:
> Try press and hold power until it resets, then hit
"1" on the Slim
> Devices splash screen.
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

Mark Lanctot
2005-11-11, 08:25
Bump on this question...thanks.

Mark Lanctot wrote:
> Sean (or anybody):
>
> What does "1" do? ADD seems to perform a factory
> reset, does 1 do the same thing or something
> different?
>
> seanadams wrote:
>
>>Try press and hold power until it resets, then hit
>
> "1" on the Slim
>
>>Devices splash screen.
>>
>>
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

radish
2005-11-11, 08:33
From my vague memory it reprograms one of the components...kind of like a super factory reset.

seanadams
2005-11-11, 08:42
It reprograms the Xilinx logic chip, which handles the clocks, s/pdif, and DAC interface. If you remember older computer used to have dozens of 14-pin or 16-pin chips with 74xxxx part numbers. Modern systems use programmable chips (CPLDs or FPGAs) in place of these. They are smaller, less expensive, quicker to design, and allow the circuit to be reconfigured in software. Kind of like having a custom chip that you can change whenever you want.