PDA

View Full Version : Cue files no longer work in 6.2.x?



chromeboy
2005-11-07, 14:12
Upgraded to 6.2.0 yesterday, all my cue files now load as empty. The same cue files worked in 6.1.1. I've tried the 6.2.1 release as well, and it's the same problem. Am I missing something?

JayNYC
2005-11-07, 14:39
I basically have the same problem.

6.1.1 is fine
6.2.x is not
6.5b1 is not

you will find that Browse Music Folders is very weak. I think--and I can't be sure--that cue sheet users are in the minority that's why cue sheet support is a little spotty and we still can't fastforward in cuesheet song. Wish I could bribe the developers :-)

But I have reverted back to 6.1.1 until I get confirmation that cue sheets are fully supported in 6.2/6.5. What's interesting is that with 6.2/6.5 I only have problems with SOME of the cuesheets coming up empty, not all of them.

I am willing to bet the heavy hitters here and at Slim Devices don't use cuesheets.

Also see this thread
http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=17817
which is related, I think.

crk1216
2005-11-17, 16:09
Where can I get a copy of 6.1.1?

ceejay
2005-11-17, 16:18
try

http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/SlimServer_v6.1.1/

Ceejay.

radish
2005-11-17, 16:24
Wish I could bribe the developers :-)


Who says you can't? Paying developers is a pretty common way of getting exactly the software you want :)

Ben Sandee
2005-11-17, 17:01
On 11/7/05, JayNYC <JayNYC.1y5bwn (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> I am willing to bet the heavy hitters here and at Slim Devices don't
> use cuesheets.
>

What would I gain by using cuesheets? Are they only useful using FLAC? I'm
pretty sure I've heard of people using MP3's and cuesheets but I haven't the
foggiest idea what it gives them. Truthfully I don't understand with FLAC
either -- doesn't SlimServer play FLAC's back gapless even without
cuesheets?

Thanks for your iinsights.

Ben

radish
2005-11-17, 17:40
Cue sheets are useful with mp3 because it gives you gapless playback (which isn't easy any other way). As for FLAC, I've never really understood the advantage myself. One is I guess convenience - less files == easier to manage? But as you say gapless is no longer an issue. Hopefully one of the CUE converts could educate us both :)

Ben Sandee
2005-11-17, 17:50
On 11/17/05, radish <radish.1yo34z (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
>
> Cue sheets are useful with mp3 because it gives you gapless playback
> (which isn't easy any other way). As for FLAC, I've never really
> understood the advantage myself. One is I guess convenience - less
> files == easier to manage? But as you say gapless is no longer an
> issue. Hopefully one of the CUE converts could educate us both :)
>

OK so you rip an entire album as a single MP3 and create a cuesheet to mark
the track boundaries. Makes sense, and I can see why some would find it
valuable for FLAC too for the less-files issue. How does track tagging work
then? The cue sheet must have embedded tags I guess? It might even make
tagging simpler for normal albums because your one FLAC file has the album
tags and the cue sheet has just the tags that differ between tracks rather
than track having every tag?

Ben

radish
2005-11-17, 19:27
Basically yes, what is normally tags in the files becomes entries in the cuesheet. To me, however, any small convenience advantage that gains is vastly outweighed by the inconvenience of finding software which actually understands them properly. FLAC support is rare enough, but FLAC & cuesheet?

JayNYC
2005-11-17, 20:22
It's very lonely over here in the corner with 150 gigs of cuesheeted flacs that I cannot play with any modicum of reliability with my current squeezebox, unless i downgrade.

anybody out there wanna throw me a bone? thank you for hijacking my thread and questioning the utility of cue sheets. at least my thread ain't dead.

jth
2005-11-17, 20:58
I'd file a bug at http://bugs.slimdevices.com/ with as much
info as you can. That's the best way to get it fixed.

kdf
2005-11-17, 21:06
or maybe more correctly, do a quick search on "cue" and add your cue
sheet to the bug that matches yours
if none match, then add a new one.

d_parse, d_scan debug log would also be useful as an attachment.
Attachments are preferred because the comment windows wrap the logs to
nearly unreadable.

-kdf

crk1216
2005-11-18, 08:35
Okay, I installed 6.2.1 all my cue sheets are now empty. I can see the Titles and Albums, but I get the Can't Open File error message on play.

This is where it gets strange; I stop using the server for a couple of hours come back and the cue sheets are back and working fine....

What is going on?

So, I installed 6.2.2....and hoping this works!!!

JAYNYC- i will throw you a bone.......its called a CD player......Bug#2335....someone needs to re-open this BUG!!! it is listed as fixed....

radish
2005-11-18, 08:51
Okay, I installed 6.2.1 all my cue sheets are now empty. I can see the Titles and Albums, but I get the Can't Open File error message on play.

This is where it gets strange; I stop using the server for a couple of hours come back and the cue sheets are back and working fine....


You are waiting for the scan to finish right?

kdf
2005-11-18, 09:54
On 18-Nov-05, at 7:35 AM, crk1216 wrote:

>
> Okay, I installed 6.2.1 all my cue sheets are now empty. I can see the
> Titles and Albums, but I get the Can't Open File error message on
> play.
>
both empty and non-playing cue sheets are known issues.
please be patient. every effort is being made to solve everyone's
issues as fast and efficiently as possible.

-kdf

BKDotCom
2005-11-18, 10:39
both empty and non-playing cue sheets are known issues.
please be patient. every effort is being made to solve everyone's
issues as fast and efficiently as possible.
-kdfThanks, Kevin, for the update!

Dan Sully
2005-11-18, 10:54
* BKDotCom shaped the electrons to say...

>> both empty and non-playing cue sheets are known issues.
>> please be patient. every effort is being made to solve everyone's
>> issues as fast and efficiently as possible.

Do the FILEs referenced in the CUE sheet actually exist on disk?

-D
--
<iNoah> you know, most free operating systems come preinstalled with their own high horse.

crk1216
2005-11-18, 13:16
Yes the files exist, in my post I explained after an extended amount time the files actually play.

I actually thought that the scan was locking the files, but it took hours for the slim server to work properly again. Though the problem comes back after I rescan the library.

I appreciate the response, as long as Slim Devices is aware of the problem and working towards a solution I will be very patient.

Thank you for the response.

chromeboy
2005-12-09, 12:43
It all depends what kind of music you listen to. I listen to mostly trance & house mixes, where every songs transition into the next one smoothly. So all of my CDs are ripped as one mp3, as well as all the radio shows / livesets that I listen to. I have no desire to fast forward 184 minutes on the remote to listen to the one song I want to listen to in a particular set.

So Slim, please fix this. I miss my cues.

danco
2005-12-09, 14:30
On 9/12/05 at 11:43 -0800, chromeboy wrote
>So all of my CDs are ripped as one mp3, as well as all the
>radio shows / livesets that I listen to. I have no desire to fast
>forward 184 minutes on the remote to listen to the one song I want to
>listen to in a particular set.

Yes, that would be a big hassle. However the Song Scanner plugin,
though still not what you want, does improve moving through a big
file, especially if you edit it to scan in large chunks.
--
Daniel Cohen

autopilot
2005-12-20, 13:54
I'm glad i found this thread, i was going insane trying to get them to work.

I can confirm the Slimserver no longer works with Cuesheets :(

Please fix it, this is one reasons i bought the SB3 - for all my dance mixs, live gigs, audio books, etc!!!

Dan Sully
2005-12-20, 14:35
* dangerous_dom shaped the electrons to say...

>I'm glad i found this thread, i was going insane trying to get them to work.
>
>I can confirm the Slimserver no longer works with Cuesheets :(

Please open a bug at http://bugs.slimdevices.com/

and attach one of the cue sheets in question.

---

Also - make sure that the file referenced by 'FILE' matches what is on disk.

-D
--
Off the record, on the QT, and very hush-hush.

chromeboy
2006-01-14, 10:24
It's bug 2752, please fix.

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2752