PDA

View Full Version : External DAC Issues & Firmware?



Action
2005-11-04, 10:14
I tried hooking my external DAC up to the Squeezebox2 and could not get a lock. I don't have any problem with hooking my CD player up to the DAC, any suggestions about troubleshooting setup that I should try with this issue?

Also, is it possible to update the Squeezebox2 to the newest firmware (via attachment to a temporary Slimserver install) and then operate it with an earlier version of Slimserver without it forcing an update? Are there any issues with doing this?

kdf
2005-11-04, 10:50
Quoting Action <Action.1xzfn0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> I tried hooking my external DAC up to the Squeezebox2 and could not get
> a lock. I don't have any problem with hooking my CD player up to the
> DAC, any suggestions about troubleshooting setup that I should try with
> this issue?

I can' thelp with this one personally, but it might help others to help you if
you mention what DAC you are using.

> Also, is it possible to update the Squeezebox2 to the newest firmware
> (via attachment to a temporary Slimserver install) and then operate it
> with an earlier version of Slimserver without it forcing an update? Are
> there any issues with doing this?

Edit the Firmware/squeezebox.version file. change the from...to line from:
1..15 15

to
1..16 16

That should be enough, but you might have to copy the squeezebox2_16.bin file.

There isn't always an issue with this, but some firmware changes ARE directly
linked with the software. Using older software with newer firmware should be
less problematic, but it is still your risk :)

-k

Nikhil
2005-11-04, 14:09
I tried hooking my external DAC up to the Squeezebox2 and could not get a lock. I don't have any problem with hooking my CD player up to the DAC, any suggestions about troubleshooting setup that I should try with this issue?

Also, is it possible to update the Squeezebox2 to the newest firmware (via attachment to a temporary Slimserver install) and then operate it with an earlier version of Slimserver without it forcing an update? Are there any issues with doing this?

a) use of a shorter cable worked for me, but more info on your DAC might help someone provide a more specific answer

b) This was going to be my follow up question to kdf, so thanks for asking it and answering it.