PDA

View Full Version : Anyone experiment with QoS and SB2?



Mark Lanctot
2005-11-03, 14:35
I'm fiddling around with the settings on my new
Linksys WRT54G. The DD-WRT firmware I'm using
allows QoS.

Has anyone experimented with QoS with an SB2?

I don't see how or why the SB2 would care, it's a
router function only. But it would be nice to
give it high priority and all other connections
lower priority so that streaming audio to the SB2
would always take precedence.

It's not that I've had any dropout problems on my
SB2, but it would be nice to know it was there.
--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

stinkingpig
2005-11-03, 20:09
Mark Lanctot wrote:

>I'm fiddling around with the settings on my new
>Linksys WRT54G. The DD-WRT firmware I'm using
>allows QoS.
>
>Has anyone experimented with QoS with an SB2?
>
>I don't see how or why the SB2 would care, it's a
>router function only. But it would be nice to
>give it high priority and all other connections
>lower priority so that streaming audio to the SB2
>would always take precedence.
>
>It's not that I've had any dropout problems on my
>SB2, but it would be nice to know it was there.
>
>
QoS might help during times when something else was going on (like VoIP
or BitTorrent). However, it will only matter if the router is between
the server and the squeezebox, which would not be the normal SOHO setup.

--
Jack At Monkeynoodle Dot Org: It's A Scientific Venture!
"I spent all me tin with the ladies drinking gin
so across the Western ocean I must wander" -- trad.

mikeb
2005-11-03, 20:27
I have, but mostly just to play around. I don't have enough traffic
to saturate my three internal networks (802.11g, 802.11b, switched
FastEthernet), nor would I expect that schedulers preferring real-time
over best effort would lower jitter to the point that it would be
noticeable over the jitter inherent to my wireless.

But I did rewrite ToS on the slimserver <-> SB2 traffic to be 6, which
is handled out of a low latency queue in my home network.

It would be kind of entertaining to be able to set ToS on packets out
of slimserver (can perl modify that?) and the squeezebox.

... and no, I didn't see any performance difference.

The only QoS differences I've made in my house that are noticeable are
for my work VoIP Phone being preferred outbound on the WAN link (cable
modem) from the house while uploading data somewhere.

-- Mike

Mark Lanctot wrote:
> I'm fiddling around with the settings on my new
> Linksys WRT54G. The DD-WRT firmware I'm using
> allows QoS.
>
> Has anyone experimented with QoS with an SB2?
>
> I don't see how or why the SB2 would care, it's a
> router function only. But it would be nice to
> give it high priority and all other connections
> lower priority so that streaming audio to the SB2
> would always take precedence.
>
> It's not that I've had any dropout problems on my
> SB2, but it would be nice to know it was there.

Mark Lanctot
2005-11-03, 20:40
--- Jack Coates <jack (AT) monkeynoodle (DOT) org> wrote:

> QoS might help during times when something else was
> going on (like VoIP
> or BitTorrent). However, it will only matter if the
> router is between
> the server and the squeezebox, which would not be
> the normal SOHO setup.

<slaps self on head>

Oh yeah...of course! QoS will only give a Squeezebox
priority to bandwidth when it's streaming Internet
radio through SqueezeNetwork. Since these streams max
out at 192 kbps, using QoS in this application is
massive overkill.

SlimServer traffic goes over the LAN, not the LAN ->
WAN, so it would be unaffected.

Sorry for not thinking this through! I'll find a nice
rock to crawl under now...

mikeb
2005-11-03, 22:56
Jack Coates wrote:
> Mark Lanctot wrote:
>
>> Has anyone experimented with QoS with an SB2?
>>
> QoS might help during times when something else was going on (like VoIP
> or BitTorrent). However, it will only matter if the router is between
> the server and the squeezebox, which would not be the normal SOHO setup.
>

Well, while my setup is definitely unique with multiple routers (it's
what I do for a living, I have to play!), there are ways to do QoS
without a router in the middle. It's benefit may be only in certain
situations, but take a look at 802.1p tagging. You can use that along
with proper equipment to prioritize traffic on a Layer 2 Ethernet network.

-- Mike

stinkingpig
2005-11-04, 09:39
Mike Benjamin wrote:

> Jack Coates wrote:
>
>> Mark Lanctot wrote:
>>
>>> Has anyone experimented with QoS with an SB2?
>>>
>> QoS might help during times when something else was going on (like
>> VoIP or BitTorrent). However, it will only matter if the router is
>> between the server and the squeezebox, which would not be the normal
>> SOHO setup.
>>
>
> Well, while my setup is definitely unique with multiple routers (it's
> what I do for a living, I have to play!), there are ways to do QoS
> without a router in the middle. It's benefit may be only in certain
> situations, but take a look at 802.1p tagging. You can use that along
> with proper equipment to prioritize traffic on a Layer 2 Ethernet
> network.
>
> -- Mike


I try to keep my lab and home stuff separate, so I can power-cycle and
travel with the lab stuff without disrupting music, mail, and web :)

I highly doubt that anything in the SOHO space implements that standard
(or does it in a standard-compliant fashion) anyway. Sometime we'll have
to trade war-stories about NetGear's DHCPd implementation...

--
Jack At Monkeynoodle Dot Org: It's A Scientific Venture!
"I spent all me tin with the ladies drinking gin
so across the Western ocean I must wander" -- trad.