PDA

View Full Version : How to use SB2 remote to wake up server?



boybees
2005-11-03, 12:19
This is supposed to be a feature of 6.2, but I see no documentation about it.

I'd like to be able to put my computer to sleep and have it wake up when I press the SB2 remote control.

When my machine (XP-based) is sleeping, and I press a button on the SB2 remote, the screen says "waking slimserver" followed by "problem: couldn't connect to slimserver." I have to go to my machine, wake it up myself and then everything is fine.

How do I configure this wake-up feature?

thanks.

snarlydwarf
2005-11-03, 12:45
How do I configure this wake-up feature?


You need to configure your server to use 'Wake-on-lan'.

http://www.annoyances.org/exec/show/article04-101 looks like it has the information you need.

kdf
2005-11-03, 12:48
Quoting boybees <boybees.1xxqrb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> This is supposed to be a feature of 6.2, but I see no documentation
> about it.

Check this thread (found after a search for "wake on lan")
http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=15523

-kdf