PDA

View Full Version : Changing Listening Ports and its effects on Slimserver



upinya
2005-11-03, 07:23
I use the slimserver software to stream my mp3 collection over the internet. I use a non-standard port, meaning I change the default listening port from 9000 to, let's say, 9876. After I make this change, I double click on the slimserver tray icon, which opens the internet browser, but the page doesn't load. The url is still http://localhost:9000, and so when I change the url to http://localhost:9876, the page loads without issue. I think the software should be changed to dynamically pull the user's listening port, should the user decide to change it.

Opcode
2005-11-03, 09:56
The url is still http://localhost:9000, and so when I change the url to http://localhost:9876, the page loads without issue. I think the software should be changed to dynamically pull the user's listening port, should the user decide to change it.

As a workaround (at least if you are running Windows - I am not familiar with SlimServer on the other platforms), you can change the URL in the "SlimServer Web Interface" shortcut - found in SlimServer's root directory. The tray icon app seems to launch this shortcut.

You'll need to do this manually each time you reinstall or update SlimServer. I do agree that it would be good to have this take place automatically each time one changes the port settings. Similarly, the installation script should check the port settings from an existing installation and modify the port for the shortcut automatically.

upinya
2005-11-03, 12:22
Similarly, the installation script should check the port settings from an existing installation and modify the port for the shortcut automatically.

Here here! :) Also, the documentation throughout the web interface references the 9000 port.

In addition, I would like the convert.conf to remain the same, or maybe the installer could scan for custom settings. I modify this file to limit bitrate over the web, and the new installs erase the file, only to make me add the modifications again and again.

upinya
2006-12-04, 10:58
Here here! :) Also, the documentation throughout the web interface references the 9000 port.

In addition, I would like the convert.conf to remain the same, or maybe the installer could scan for custom settings. I modify this file to limit bitrate over the web, and the new installs erase the file, only to make me add the modifications again and again.

Have either of these issues been addressed in subsequent versions? It's been a while since I upgraded :)

radish
2006-12-04, 11:18
Here here! :) Also, the documentation throughout the web interface references the 9000 port.

In addition, I would like the convert.conf to remain the same, or maybe the installer could scan for custom settings. I modify this file to limit bitrate over the web, and the new installs erase the file, only to make me add the modifications again and again.

Use custom-convert.comf instead, it isn't overwritten.

upinya
2006-12-04, 11:39
And I place this "custom-convert.conf" file in the /server/ directory and its as simple as that?

radish
2006-12-04, 13:05
And I place this "custom-convert.conf" file in the /server/ directory and its as simple as that?

should be... :) you put your special entries in that and leave the regular entries in the normal convert.conf.