PDA

View Full Version : Slimserver 6.2: volume issue



hazel-rah
2005-11-02, 16:48
Hello,

Running my SB2 off a Slimserver on an XP box and I just upgraded from 6.1.1 to 6.2.0. The upgrade went fine, but I'm finding I have a problem with my volume control now... any volume setting below seven (on the web interface) is basically inaudible. I've lost the nice volume gradient I used to have. It's too top-heavy now.

I looked for a server or player setting that might be related to this, but no changes I made had any effect. What's going on?

Thanks,
fh

SuperQ
2005-11-02, 17:13
There is a thread in the developer section about firmware changes and the volume. They did something to make the volume adjustments more linear.

hazel-rah
2005-11-02, 17:23
Interesting. I wonder is there any way to keep the 6.2.0 software but revert back to the previous firmware?

ceejay
2005-11-03, 00:50
There were two different changes made, AFAIK, aimed at responding to people who wanted (1) less volume on the output so they could directly drive power amplifiers and (2) more control at the lower levels.

There is a new setting, though if you haven't found it I guess its unlikely you will have changed it! But have a look anyway: (on the web interface) Settings / Player Settings / Audio / Preamp volume control ... should be set to zero for maximum volume.

Is there a reason why you can't get more volume by turning up whatever you're driving with the SB2? Or is it being used for multiple sources and you're trying to match volume with some other device?

Regards
Ceejay

jhwilliams
2005-11-03, 01:10
Interesting. I wonder is there any way to keep the 6.2.0 software but revert back to the previous firmware?

Yes, look at the server/firmware directory. Take the version 15 firmware and copy it to your 6.2 firmware directory. Then edit squeezebox2.version to point to ver 15.

hazel-rah
2005-11-03, 01:28
Yes, my preamp volume control is set to zero. And your guess is correct... before upgrading my Squeezebox firmware, I had good volume parity across sources. Now the Squeezebox is much quieter than the other sources. But even with the integrated amp volume raised, I still can't seem to get the same level of control over the volume that I used to get via the web interface. I did chuckle to see the volume now goes to 11 however.

Thanks for the suggestion though!

kdf
2005-11-03, 01:36
On 3-Nov-05, at 12:28 AM, hazel-rah wrote:

>
> Yes, my preamp volume control is set to zero. And your guess is
> correct... before upgrading my Squeezebox firmware, I had good volume
> parity across sources. Now the Squeezebox is much quieter than the
> other sources. But even with the integrated amp volume raised, I still
> can't seem to get the same level of control over the volume that I used
> to get via the web interface.

top volume level should not have changed. only the path between 100%
and 0.

> I did chuckle to see the volume now goes
> to 11 however.
>
that's not new.

-k

hazel-rah
2005-11-03, 01:43
Yes, look at the server/firmware directory. Take the version 15 firmware and copy it to your 6.2 firmware directory. Then edit squeezebox2.version to point to ver 15.

Ah, thank you for the instructions. I'm afraid I'm having trouble following them though. I have a file "squeezebox2_15.bin" in my server/firmware directory, but I'm not sure where the 6.2 firmware directory is, and it's not clear looking at the squeezebox2.version file in server/firmware how to make it point to version 15. Just replace all instances of 26 with 15?

I'm running the server on Windows XP... perhaps the directory structure is different?

I emailed tech support earlier and asked them for directions, when I get it sorted out I'll post what I did in case anybody else needs to do it.

hazel-rah
2005-11-03, 02:13
Well, I uninstalled completely and just reinstalled 6.1.1. Easier than fussing around. Everything works perfectly again. Teach me to upgrade for no reason.

Wow, I guess the volume going to 11 isn't new... I'm not very observant am I?

Anyway, the top volume may not have changed but the new volume curve didn't work out for me so I've rolled back. Maybe future versions will give us an option to use the volume curve we prefer and I'll upgrade then.

Thanks to everyone for your comments and suggestions.

Neil Cameron
2005-11-04, 08:15
I'm with you - can we have the old volume curve back...

--
Neil


"hazel-rah"
<hazel-rah.1xwyqz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote in message news:hazel-rah.1xwyqz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com...
>
> Well, I uninstalled completely and just reinstalled 6.1.1. Easier than
> fussing around. Everything works perfectly again. Teach me to upgrade
> for no reason.
>
> Wow, I guess the volume going to 11 isn't new... I'm not very observant
> am I?
>
> Anyway, the top volume may not have changed but the new volume curve
> didn't work out for me so I've rolled back. Maybe future versions will
> give us an option to use the volume curve we prefer and I'll upgrade
> then.
>
> Thanks to everyone for your comments and suggestions.
>
>
> --
> hazel-rah

Ben Sandee
2005-11-04, 08:57
On 11/4/05, Neil Cameron <ncameron (AT) msn (DOT) com> wrote:
>
> I'm with you - can we have the old volume curve back...


I'm against you -- the new volume curve is much better. There's actually a
smooth transition all the way up to max whereas before the first 10 stops
were 90% of the volume.

dean
2005-11-04, 10:05
I'd like to hear some discussion about why the new curve isn't good
for some folks.

The old curve had some very large steps at the bottom levels and
nearly inaudible steps at the higher volumes.

The maximum volume is the same.

At a given spot, the new curve may be lower in output level than the
old one, but the solution here is to adjust the gain at your
amplifier to make those lower steps audible.

My method is to turn the volume all the way down on the amplifier,
and turn the volume all the way up on the Squeezebox and play a
(loud) song that I know well. Then adjust the volume on the
amplifier up until it reaches the maximum I'd ever like to hear from
the system. This way I can take advantage of the full dynamic range
of the Squeezebox volume control and have perceptually linear steps
all the way up the range.

On Nov 4, 2005, at 7:15 AM, Neil Cameron wrote:

> I'm with you - can we have the old volume curve back...
>
> --
> Neil
>
>
> "hazel-rah"
> <hazel-rah.1xwyqz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
> wrote in message news:hazel-rah.1xwyqz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com...
>>
>> Well, I uninstalled completely and just reinstalled 6.1.1. Easier
>> than
>> fussing around. Everything works perfectly again. Teach me to upgrade
>> for no reason.
>>
>> Wow, I guess the volume going to 11 isn't new... I'm not very
>> observant
>> am I?
>>
>> Anyway, the top volume may not have changed but the new volume curve
>> didn't work out for me so I've rolled back. Maybe future versions
>> will
>> give us an option to use the volume curve we prefer and I'll upgrade
>> then.
>>
>> Thanks to everyone for your comments and suggestions.
>>
>>
>> --
>> hazel-rah
>
>
>
>

Jack Coates
2005-11-04, 20:44
dean blackketter wrote:

> I'd like to hear some discussion about why the new curve isn't good
> for some folks.
> ...
> My method is to turn the volume all the way down on the amplifier,
> and turn the volume all the way up on the Squeezebox and play a
> (loud) song that I know well. Then adjust the volume on the
> amplifier up until it reaches the maximum I'd ever like to hear from
> the system. This way I can take advantage of the full dynamic range
> of the Squeezebox volume control and have perceptually linear steps
> all the way up the range.
>
....

No opinion here about the curve, but I would like to point out the usage
pattern in my house as I suspect it may be fairly common.

Squeezebox volume is at 40 all the time. The remote is either next to
the Squeezebox or under a newspaper or behind a cat.

If volume is not good, the person who wants it different steps to the
powered speaker and turns the knob.

--
Jack At Monkeynoodle Dot Org: It's A Scientific Venture!
"I spent all me tin with the ladies drinking gin
so across the Western ocean I must wander" -- trad.

kolepard
2005-11-05, 09:14
I manage the volume by setting it to 11 in SlimServer, 40 on the
Squeezeboxen, and using the device running the speakers to control
the volume. I edit the IR default file so that you can't change the
volume with the remote (both buttons turn it up, which does nothing
since it's already at the maximum). Since I use universal
programmable remotes, it isn't a problem to have the volume buttons
run the receiver.

I've never understood why there are 2 volume controls, the one that
goes to 11 in SlimServer and the one that goes to 40 on the
Squeezebox. Anyone know what that was implemented that way? It just
seems weird to be doing the same function two places with two
different scales.

Kevin
--
Kevin O. Lepard
kolepard (AT) charter (DOT) net

Happiness is being 100% Microsoft free.

seanadams
2005-11-05, 09:20
I've never understood why there are 2 volume controls, the one that
goes to 11 in SlimServer and the one that goes to 40 on the
Squeezebox. Anyone know what that was implemented that way? It just
seems weird to be doing the same function two places with two
different scales.

40 is a legacy number from when we had a 40x2 chracter display. It happens to still be a reasonable number of steps to show on-screen when using the vol +/- buttons.

11 is a reasonable number of absolute levels to choose from when you're going to click on one of them. 40 would be too many.

allanimal
2005-11-05, 10:25
On 05 Nov 2005, at 17:20 , seanadams wrote:

>
> 11 is a reasonable number of absolute levels to choose from when
> you're
> going to click on one of them. 40 would be too many.

I just assumed that the "11" was so that you could say "But ours goes
to 11".

pfarrell
2005-11-05, 10:28
On Sat, 2005-11-05 at 18:25 +0100, Allan Hise wrote:
> On 05 Nov 2005, at 17:20 , seanadams wrote:
> > 11 is a reasonable number of absolute levels to choose from when
> > you're going to click on one of them. 40 would be too many.
>
> I just assumed that the "11" was so that you could say "But ours goes
> to 11".

Of course it is a SpinalTap reference.
But some number like 10 or 11 is about right for the volume selector
on the default skin.

--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com

Mark Lanctot
2005-11-05, 11:49
6.1.1 has a helpful option set device volume fixed.

Has this been removed in 6.2?

BTW I notice this "fixed device volume" doesn't
apply in SqueezeNetwork.

Kevin O. Lepard wrote:
> I manage the volume by setting it to 11 in
SlimServer, 40 on the
> Squeezeboxen, and using the device running the
speakers to control the
> volume. I edit the IR default file so that you
can't change the volume
> with the remote (both buttons turn it up, which does
nothing since it's
> already at the maximum). Since I use universal
programmable remotes, it
> isn't a problem to have the volume buttons run the
receiver.
>
> I've never understood why there are 2 volume
controls, the one that goes
> to 11 in SlimServer and the one that goes to 40 on
the Squeezebox.
> Anyone know what that was implemented that way? It
just seems weird to
> be doing the same function two places with two
different scales.
>
> Kevin

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

kdf
2005-11-05, 11:57
On 5-Nov-05, at 10:49 AM, Mark Lanctot wrote:

> 6.1.1 has a helpful option set device volume fixed.
>
> Has this been removed in 6.2?
>
it is still there. player settings->audio, digital volume control.
for players without digital out (winamp, slimp3) this option does not
appear.
-k

Michaelwagner
2005-11-05, 12:26
For those, like me, who didn't get the Spinal Tap reference the first time, check out
http://spinaltapfan.com/atozed/TAP00160.HTM

The quote out of there I hope Slim didn't pay attention to:

"Early Fender Champs (a small, low-powered amp, probably intended for practice) had no controls except for a volume control that went to 11. And from about 5 on up, they didnít get any louderójust more distorted. A number of artists use them for recording and some (including Neil Young) use them for live performances. Most of us who are lucky enough to own one (mine was built in 1953 or 1954) turn them up to 11 cause they sound so damn good."