PDA

View Full Version : Power on Resume Options in Player problem with stream?



nickrt
2005-11-02, 10:47
Hi

This is a great feature in Server 6.2 - makes it easy to just turn on the Squeezebox and go!

However, I have created a playlist with a stream item (i.e. http:// etc) in it. This plays just fine when I select it manually pushing play.

I turn off the SB while it is playing this stream. When I turn on the SB again, nothing happens - no resume of the stream.

I have tried all the options for the player but none of them will restart the stream in the playlist. If I have a song on the HD it is fine!

Any ideas?

Thanks

Triode
2005-11-02, 12:10
This is by design, the server includes something to stop remote streams automatically starting. This is to avoid triggering
internet connections if users have some form of dial on demand connection. [it also ensures a remote stream is stopped rather than
paused at power off]

You should be able to restart remote streams by pressing play.

>
> Hi
>
> This is a great feature in Server 6.2 - makes it easy to just turn on
> the Squeezebox and go!
>
> However, I have created a playlist with a stream item (i.e. http://
> etc) in it. This plays just fine when I select it manually pushing
> play.
>
> I turn off the SB while it is playing this stream. When I turn on the
> SB again, nothing happens - no resume of the stream.
>
> I have tried all the options for the player but none of them will
> restart the stream in the playlist. If I have a song on the HD it is
> fine!

wr420
2005-11-02, 13:31
>
> I turn off the SB while it is playing this stream. When I turn on the
> SB again, nothing happens - no resume of the stream.
>


I pause the stream before turning off my SB if I want to resume later
without restarting the stream.

Disclaimer about the below disclaimer.

The information contained in this e-mail is strictly confidential and for the
intended use of the addressee only; it may also be legally privileged and/or
price sensitive. Notice is hereby given that any disclosure, use or copying
of the information by anyone other than the intended recipient is prohibited
and may be illegal. If you have received this message in error, please
notify the sender immediately by return e-mail. All e-mail sent to this
address will be received by Acacia Pacific Holding's e-mail system and is
subjected to archiving and review by someone other than the recipient.

Acacia Pacific Holdings has taken every reasonable precaution to ensure that
any attachment to this e-mail has been swept for viruses. We accept no
liability for any damage sustained as a result of software viruses and
advise you carry out your own virus checks before opening any attachment.

nickrt
2005-11-03, 01:52
This is by design, the server includes something to stop remote streams automatically starting. This is to avoid triggering
internet connections if users have some form of dial on demand connection. [it also ensures a remote stream is stopped rather than
paused at power off]

You should be able to restart remote streams by pressing play.

>
> Hi
>
> This is a great feature in Server 6.2 - makes it easy to just turn on
> the Squeezebox and go!
>
> However, I have created a playlist with a stream item (i.e. http://
> etc) in it. This plays just fine when I select it manually pushing
> play.
>
> I turn off the SB while it is playing this stream. When I turn on the
> SB again, nothing happens - no resume of the stream.
>
> I have tried all the options for the player but none of them will
> restart the stream in the playlist. If I have a song on the HD it is
> fine!

Thank you for the reply - I understand the reasoning. However, the stream is a local stream playing from my DAB radio. It would be great if by simply turning on the SB it would start playing - just like a normal radio! Perhaps an option could be added to the server settings to select "auto connect" or not?

Do people really still have dial-in?!

Thanks for help,

Triode
2005-11-03, 03:32
>
> Thank you for the reply - I understand the reasoning. However, the
> stream is a local stream playing from my DAB radio. It would be great
> if by simply turning on the SB it would start playing - just like a
> normal radio! Perhaps an option could be added to the server settings
> to select "auto connect" or not?
>

Not too hard to do, could you raise a bug marked as enhancement for this so we keep track of it.

In the mean time, what server OS are you running on? [if on linux/mac, you could probably comment out the one line which causes
this..]

Thanks