PDA

View Full Version : Synchronization Questions From Newbie (sort a)



ELOOMIS@woh.rr.com
2005-11-02, 08:56
As a most-of-the-time happy Slimp3 user for three years now, I have
enjoyed the technology. I have one of the old ones in the basement
happily serving up my 60GB of music to my whole house audio system.

Now that the snazzy new slim device is out I have a question for all you
experts. I have always wanted to put another unit on the main floor so
that it display what is currently playing and allow me to switch
playlists, etc. from a remote. Now with the more elegant design - the
boss at home (not me) might allow me to put it on a shelf somewhere.

I ahve a question about synchronization. I am assuming I can somehow
sync the new unit (running on the main floor) to the older one in the
basement that is serving up the audio. SO that I can see whats playing,
force playlist changes, go back, forward, volume control, etc. Is this
hard to do? Is it robust enough so that I dont have to reset everything
each day? I'm not allowed to have a computer on the main floor (again
the bosses rules) and I never seem to have my PocketPC handy when I want
to change music.

Any advice is appreciated.

Eric in Ohio

Mark Lanctot
2005-11-02, 09:08
You can experiment around with this with a
SoftSqueeze.

As soon as there are two Squeezeboxes attached to
SlimServer, an option to "Synchronize" will appear
in the menus of each player.

Select it and it will say "Synchronize with" and
the name of the other player.

I haven't experimented around to see if the
synchronization persists or if it has to be set
each time though.

ELOOMIS (AT) woh (DOT) rr.com wrote:
> As a most-of-the-time happy Slimp3 user for three
years now, I have
> enjoyed the technology. I have one of the old ones
in the basement
> happily serving up my 60GB of music to my whole
house audio system.
>
> Now that the snazzy new slim device is out I have a
question for all you
> experts. I have always wanted to put another unit
on the main floor so
> that it display what is currently playing and allow
me to switch
> playlists, etc. from a remote. Now with the more
elegant design - the
> boss at home (not me) might allow me to put it on a
shelf somewhere.
>
> I ahve a question about synchronization. I am
assuming I can somehow
> sync the new unit (running on the main floor) to the
older one in the
> basement that is serving up the audio. SO that I
can see whats playing,
> force playlist changes, go back, forward, volume
control, etc. Is this
> hard to do? Is it robust enough so that I dont have
to reset everything
> each day? I'm not allowed to have a computer on the
main floor (again
> the bosses rules) and I never seem to have my
PocketPC handy when I want
> to change music.
>
> Any advice is appreciated.
>
> Eric in Ohio
>

Craig, James (IT)
2005-11-02, 09:10
If you don't want any audio from the other player, you might be better
off with the ShadowPlay plugin,
Which mirrors the interface from another player.

Then SlimServer's not doing the work associated with syncronising
players.

That would be somewhat of a waste of a SB3 though!

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is prohibited.