PDA

View Full Version : Memory Footprint makes me rethink recommending Squeezebox

baconrad
2005-10-31, 09:45
I've been using Squeezebox for a while now and have enthusiastically recommended it to others (some of whom have actually purchased it). I can't bring myself to recommend it to someone with the caveat that they will need another 70-80mb of memory and additional cpu capacity to support it...even when it's not in use.

I see the memory footprint getting increasingly bloated. Now we have an additional 7mb of memory to run some other process in the tray.

I'm a software developer myself. We have an enterprise wide application that tracks all the assets and associated maintenance, accounting, etc for a VERY large institution. It does not use as much memory and other resources as Squeezebox.

It seems like the software needs to be rearchitected so different plug-ins are only loaded as they are used and are unloaded when not in use (see Eclipse).

Sorry to go negative, but I would like to see the software improved.

radish
2005-10-31, 10:15
80mb is nothing - I just bought 512mb for $30. The old rule:

* Fast Execution
* Rapid Development
* Small Footprint

Pick one. Or if you're very very lucky, two.

Pooh22
2005-11-01, 00:35
On Mon, Oct 31, 2005 at 09:15:03AM -0800, radish wrote:
>
> 80mb is nothing - I just bought 512mb for $30. The old rule:
>
> * Fast Execution
> * Rapid Development
> * Small Footprint
>
> Pick one. Or if you're very very lucky, two.

I think this rule stems from before computer science became an engineering
science. I agree with the OP, memory bloat can be a problem and should be
solved somehow. And memory is not to only thing that's a hog, there are
moments when the CPU is also heavily loaded and the web interface can be
very slow as well (Although I've seen fixes for that come by on this list,
but I didn't have time to go in hack mode for that)

/Simon

clumsyoik
2005-11-01, 02:18