PDA

View Full Version : How to get blazing-fast navigation speed?

jmania
2005-10-30, 15:16
Hi All,

I've been using the Slimp3 since early 2003 and recently installed a wireless Squeezebox2 as well.

I've enjoyed these products, but there is one issue that has always bothered me.

I want to speed up the interface reaction speed on these devices. Badly. Feature-wise, everything is great, but sometimes the lag time just kills me (on both devices).

For example, I walk into the room and want to play something quickly -- I hit a button on the remote and there is a wait time for anything to change. I want this thing to be nearly as responsive as the ipod -- just hit a button and immediately see the result. Is this unrealistic?

Perhaps at least the interface should show a "working..." icon or text, so I don't have the "has it crashed?" moment of fright.

What tweaks can I make to my system to make things work much more snappy? Server configuration settings changes? I already disabled album artwork. Should I turn off plug-ins?

This is just for the devices, I am not using the web interface.

General comments are fine, but here is my particular configuration, FYI:

I am running SlimServer 6.2 off of a 1GHz iMac G4 (OSX 10.4.2) with 768 MB RAM. My music collection is about 60GB on an external firewire drive. I have an AirportExtreme wireless basestation and a local wired network via Linksys ethernet hub.

Thanks!

Patrick Dixon
2005-10-31, 01:59
see http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2081

jmania
2005-10-31, 11:00
Thank you for the post. For the benefit of anyone else reading this, I will summarize the link above (or at least what I think it means).

The link above is to a bug report which addresses the need for a "hey, I'm busy with your command, don't worry" UI feedback on the device. It seems that the solution is not yet available, but at least it is a known issue (and not just my own problem).