PDA

View Full Version : Minimum requirements for SoftSqueeze?



nickrout
2005-10-30, 02:07
I have an oldish panel type portable PC that I wish to implement as a
software based squeezebox around the home.

It has a pentium 233 MHz processor. It will be running linux (most
likely gentoo). I cannot recall how much RAM it has as its a while
since I powered it up!

Is it going to run SoftSqueeze? I know I could use something like
mpg321 over the network and then control what I am listening to via a
browser but I'd prefer to get the full usability of softsqueeze.

Also does anyone know any docs on how to write a skin for softsqueeze?
I'd like to design something that will fill the screen on this thing.

I don't really relish studying the squeezebox protocol and implementing
it myself.

Thanks for any help.

clumsyoik
2005-10-30, 04:03
It has a pentium 233 MHz processor. It will be running linux (most
likely gentoo). I cannot recall how much RAM it has as its a while
since I powered it up!

I ran softsqueeze for a while. In my opinion it needs a somewhat more powerful machine than a P233.

kjg
2005-10-30, 08:51
I used a P3/450mhz/768mb machine running Windows 2000 for a while and it
was *just* enough. I'm not sure if the load is any easier under Linux,
but I'd say that a 233 mhz machine is likely to be a bit small.

clumsyoik wrote:

>nickrout Wrote:
>
>
>>It has a pentium 233 MHz processor. It will be running linux (most
>>likely gentoo). I cannot recall how much RAM it has as its a while
>>since I powered it up!
>>
>>
>
>I ran softsqueeze for a while. In my opinion it needs a somewhat more
>powerful machine than a P233.
>
>
>
>

rtitmuss
2005-11-03, 15:53
Nick Rout wrote:

>I have an oldish panel type portable PC that I wish to implement as a
>software based squeezebox around the home.
>
>It has a pentium 233 MHz processor. It will be running linux (most
>likely gentoo). I cannot recall how much RAM it has as its a while
>since I powered it up!
>
>Is it going to run SoftSqueeze? I know I could use something like
>mpg321 over the network and then control what I am listening to via a
>browser but I'd prefer to get the full usability of softsqueeze.
>
>
This does sound a little under powered to run Softsqueeze. Other people
have used slimp3slave to play the audio, and Softsqueeze as a GUI on
similar spec machines. If you music is mp3's this might work for you?

>Also does anyone know any docs on how to write a skin for softsqueeze?
>I'd like to design something that will fill the screen on this thing.
>
>
You can find some brief instructions for editing a skin here, please ask
if you need more info:
http://forums.slimdevices.com/showpost.php?p=33073&postcount=4
<http://forums.slimdevices.com/showpost.php?p=33073&postcount=4>

I am in the process of changing the skinning for Softsqueeze; it should
be less fiddly in a week or so.

>I don't really relish studying the squeezebox protocol and implementing
>it myself.
>
>
No, I would not recommend it ;-). If you feel like contributing some
code I am looking for someone to implement a native audio pipeline (with
PortAudio, MAD mp3 decoder, FLAC, etc) that can be integrated into
Softsqueeze. This would give better audio performance and allow
Softsqueeze to run on lower spec machines. I don't have enough time to
do this project myself at the moment, but would be happy to help and
work on the integration.

Richard