PDA

View Full Version : EAC vs Musicmatch

sfraser
2005-10-27, 08:02
Hi, I am new to the SB2 SS products but have been storing wav files on hardrives for years. Quick qustion, I see alot of people like using EAC product for ripping CD's. What are your opinions regarding file/sound quality of using a product like Musicmatch to rip CD's in WAV format VS EAC in unsecure mode? I will assume as long as there are no bit errors in the ripping process the files will be identical and therefore sound the same?

thanks

Scott

jhwilliams
2005-10-27, 18:03
Hi, I am new to the SB2 SS products but have been storing wav files on hardrives for years. Quick qustion, I see alot of people like using EAC product for ripping CD's. What are your opinions regarding file/sound quality of using a product like Musicmatch to rip CD's in WAV format VS EAC in unsecure mode? I will assume as long as there are no bit errors in the ripping process the files will be identical and therefore sound the same?

If you assume not bit errors, then yes, they will sound the same ;-)

There will undoubtedly be errors, but as to how significant an effect they have -- that all will depend on a variety of things, especially your equipment + setup. I'd try an experiment on a few key pieces of music that you have and make an evaluation on that.

I've never bothered with a comparison between EAC unsecure mode and another piece of ripping software - EAC probably has the edge due to the features it uses (even unsecure), but if I had to take a view, I'd say that it would be impossible to tell the difference by ear.

I have re-ripped everything I have using EAC secure to FLAC - of course my starting point was an AAC/MP3 library so it was an easy decision.

sfraser
2005-10-27, 19:59