PDA

View Full Version : SlimServer starting...



Ronny
2005-10-25, 03:09
Hi all,
I just upgraded to 6.2. Now Slimserver is "starting" since two
hours. I can't access the Web IF nor is my Slimp3 activated yet.
(I'm running XP SP2 and my library is about 125 GB)

- Why is SlimServer rescanning the library after each update?
I understand it's necessary if anything in the DB was changed,
but it would be nice to provide more information on what's going
on. (Number of discs scanned...) If no rescan is needed, it
should not be done. I'm sure more people would try out and
provide feedback on the nightly builds if this annoyance was
eliminated.

Regards

Ronny

nickrt
2005-10-25, 03:27
Hi

I have the same problem!

I found if I went to program files\SlimServer\server

and run slim.exe, this got things working.

The slimtray.exe which gets called on startup etc does not seem to work!

JohnD76
2005-10-25, 03:55
When you play something from your playlist, does it play more than 1 track?

Mine is currently stopping after every track! I have to click Play to move onto the next track which is fecking annoying.

technobear
2005-10-25, 04:15
It doesn't work here either. Just says 'SlimServer starting...' and then does nothing :-(

Craig, James (IT)
2005-10-25, 04:19
Hi Ronny,
I'm guessing you don't have a SlimServer service installed?

This should get created automatically but there seems to be a problem
here.

Try reinstalling SlimServer and this should create it.

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is prohibited.

Craig, James (IT)
2005-10-25, 04:32
It seems there is an outstanding bug for this issue:
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1960

You should be able to create the missing service by running
"C:\program files\SlimServer\Server\Slim.exe -install"

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is prohibited.

Ronny
2005-10-25, 05:00
I did a reinstall and the server is running now.

It's still not obvious to me why there is a rescan needed.

Ronny

Craig, James (IT)
2005-10-25, 05:09
You upgraded from v6.1 ?

The database schema has changed for 6.2 so a rescan is required.

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is prohibited.

Ronny
2005-10-25, 05:15
Hello James,

Actually, it was from 6.1.1.
So there will be no rescan anymore when I want to try the service releases of 6.2?

Regards

Ronny

Craig, James (IT)
2005-10-25, 05:22
Indeed, there won't be, unless there is a major database change.

Which one would hope is unlikely this close to the official release.

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is prohibited.

Ronny
2005-10-25, 09:12
Hello once more!

After over four hours, I still see:

Note: SlimServer is still scanning your music library, please
be patient as this may take a while.

Slim.exe doesn't seem to consume any CPU time.

Is there a way to see the progress of the scan or to stop
it?

Regards

Ronny

Craig, James (IT)
2005-10-25, 09:21
Ooops.
That message never gets automatically updated!
(cause of many complaints)

Try doing a refresh...

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is prohibited.

MrC
2005-10-25, 09:24
Slim.exe doesn't seem to consume any CPU time.

Is there a way to see the progress of the scan or to stop
it?

Its not optimal, but you can refresh the browser manually. Also, if slim is not consuming cpu time like it was when it was scanning, its done.

mherger
2005-10-25, 09:24
> After over four hours, I still see:
>
> Note: SlimServer is still scanning your music library, please
> be patient as this may take a while.

Please refresh the browser window. It should go away...

> Slim.exe doesn't seem to consume any CPU time.

This is good news.

> Is there a way to see the progress of the scan or to stop
> it?

Progress - no. Stop - yes: stop/restart the server... But there's little
use for a halfway only scanned collection.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Ronny
2005-10-25, 09:41
I certainly refreshed many times. The note is still
there...

Ronny

technobear
2005-10-25, 11:12
It seems there is an outstanding bug for this issue:
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1960

You should be able to create the missing service by running
"C:\program files\SlimServer\Server\Slim.exe -install"

That seems to have fixed it. Thankyou :-)