PDA

View Full Version : Switching off Squeezebox...



Timbo
2005-10-23, 05:44
Hi there - had a good search but can't find any specific problems like mine - perhaps it's because nobody nips back into their living room to see what their SB2 is up to after switching off their router or closing down Slimserver in the bedroom (where my PC is!) :-)

Anyway it's no problem but is this normal? When I switch off SB2 with the power button the display goes off (as you might expect as I have the brightness on the clock saver set to off) right, now I go into my bedroom and exit slimserver and switch off the pc. Going back into the living room I see SB2 has an error message about cannot connect to slimserver or whatever - but I thought I switched the little b***er off. This goes blank after a few seconds but is still their if I press any key on the remote - and the SB2 now won't switch off with the power button on the remote. Then when I switch off my router (too bright those little green lights twinkling all night!) and nip back into the living room ('cus I am now paranoid about SB2 switching itself on and off!) I see SB2 now says 'can't connect to Squuezenetwork' if I have been listening to internet radio before switch off or 'problem with network' if I haven't.

Surely the power button should switch the unit into standby and from then on SB2 should not be looking for network connections or anything - I have even got up in the morning and the damn thing is playing Virgin Radio after I had switched it off the night before - obviusly I didn't switch router off that night (probably a little too much vino :-)

I don't mind my SB2 having a life of it's own - but just checking - do I have to feed it or something? If I had two would they reproduce? I am also getting really worried about it getting lonely all night in their on it's own....;-)

/

Triode
2005-10-23, 05:49
Switching off a player does not actually turn the player off, it means that the server sends it different display screens (clock or alternative) and stops streaming to it.

This means if you take the server away when off, it will do the same as when on - i.e. look for a network connection. The display will go blank after a while though if it does not find one.

Michaelwagner
2005-10-23, 10:02
Switching off a player does not actually turn the player off, it means that the server sends it different display screens (clock or alternative) and stops streaming to it.
One hint to this behaviour (although this isn't immediately obvious) is the fact that you can turn a player "off" and then back "on" again from the web interface. So it's not very "off", because it can be woken up again from the server side.

BTW I used to love listening to Virgin Radio (the Groove "band") when I had an Audiotron. I just tried it with Slim and I can't get virgin radio to play. Any hints?

Timbo
2005-10-23, 11:46
Oh well - at least I know it is behaving as normal then :-) As to Virgin - well I do find this station keeps stopping and starting and it hates the PC being used as well, goes a bit stuttery and eventually just stops - until I switch off SB2 and back on again. Is it just me or does Virgin internet just play the same loops over and over again...my son dubbed it 'no surprises radio' :-)

Michaelwagner
2005-10-23, 12:01
Is it just me or does Virgin internet just play the same loops over and over again...my son dubbed it 'no surprises radio' :-)Yes, they used to loop, a year ago, when I listened with my Audiotron. It was a several hour loop, and it was a convenience when I was working on something else and didn't want to DJ myself while I was programming ...

I don't know if they still loop and how long the loop is now.

The supplied Slim Devices Pick for virgin radio failed to play anything. I had to paste
http://www.smgradio.com/core/audio/mp3/live.pls?service=grbb
into the "radio URL" box in the internet radio help to get it to work.

Neil Sleightholm
2005-10-23, 13:15
BTW I used to love listening to Virgin Radio (the Groove "band") when I had an Audiotron. I just tried it with Slim and I can't get virgin radio to play. Any hints?AlienBBC includes this channel.