PDA

View Full Version : Synchronisation...not quite.



Kevin Weller
2005-10-23, 03:59
I have a Squeezebox 2 connected via 11g wireless synchronised with
softsqueeze running on the server. Whenever a new track starts both
softsqueeze and Squeezebox start a track at the same time but then the
Squeezebox pauses for a second or so before restarting where it left
off. This results in the output not being synchronised.

Before I start trying to troubleshoot that (not that I've any idea
where to start!) is that expected behaviour or is something not quite
right somewhere? I've been having some server CPU issues, is that
likely to be a factor?

Thanks.

Kevin

Kevin Weller
2005-10-23, 04:37
In article <VA.000006f1.03df10b5 (AT) thewellers (DOT) net>, Kevin Weller wrote:
> Whenever a new track starts both softsqueeze and Squeezebox start
> a track at the same time but then the Squeezebox pauses for a second

The delay is actually about 3 seconds.

I've just found the 'display buffer' option and it appears to be a buffer
issue. The buffer builds up to 100% while a track is playing then tails
off as the track is coming to an end. It starts the next track with the
buffer at 0%, hesitates (presumably because it has emptied the buffer),
then continues as the buffer builds up to maximum again.

Is there anything I can do about that?

Kevin (who is sorry for this barrage of questions)

Triode
2005-10-23, 05:30
What server version and file format are you playing?

I've just tried this on the latest 6.2 with flac and it works fine - a small ammount of echo due to different replay buffers in the SB2 and my PC sounds card, but it sychonronises at the start of tracks fine.

Kevin Weller
2005-10-23, 06:13
In article <Triode.1xcuob (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>, Triode wrote:
> What server version and file format are you playing?

6.2b2 and mostly VBR MP3s with an average bit rate around 200 with some
CBR at 320.

> it sychonronises at the start of tracks fine

So does mine but shortly after starting the Squeezebox output pauses
as, I think, the buffer empties. It then restarts where it left off so
the length of the pause equals the synchronisation delay.

Kevin