PDA

View Full Version : Hey markonu: _14_ SB2s?



JJZolx
2005-10-18, 16:33
Hi. I read your post and I think I got kind of the same type of problem
My installation
I got 14 SB2 connected to one slimserver
My network is a cisco network

Slimserver is running on a powerfull windows 2003
Symptom : All the SB2 are playing the same album.And sometimes one of the SB2 stop playing when a new song start.

I find a way to crash one of my SB2 each time: all the SB2 are in the same room, so i can command them with one remote : i just have to put it off and on , then press play , and one or two SB2 don't start. If i try again , the non playing SB2 play the song but another SB2 don't start.

One other thing : i tried to slove my problem with installing an other server this time on windows XP ( same network / same SB2 / same network cables) and it worked but the performance on windows XP with 14 SB2 is not as good as windows 2003. So if you can solve your problem , i am interested with a solution

thanks
OK, I've got to ask. Why do you have 14 SB2s in the same room?

And what are the specs of that Win2k3 server?

To someone at SlimDevices: What's the largest number of sync'd SB2s that you've ever driven successfully?

seanadams
2005-10-18, 16:49
To someone at SlimDevices: What's the largest number of sync'd SB2s that you've ever driven successfully?

Haven't tried this specific setup but here are a few data points:

- For factory testing we routinely run 16 at a time (not synced) from one linux machine.

- A long time ago I ran 15 synced SLIMP3s from a Mac (totaly different network protocol though, and the sync machinery was different at the time, too).

- Squeezenetwork can handle hundreds of clients simultaneously on each Linux server, but there is some multi-process load distribution going on, and generally the audio is pulled from elsewhere on the internet.

A great deal of performance work required for Squeezenetwork has also trickled back into SlimServer, so anyone using SlimServer in their own large installation would benefit from that engineering.

I haven't done heavy load testing on Windows but I wouldn't expect network performance to be much different compared to Mac or Linux - these are quite small numbers in terms of throuput and number of clients compared to what any recent OS is designed to handle as, say, a web server.

Michaelwagner
2005-10-18, 18:58
that all brings up another question that's been lurking in the back of my mind for some time:

Just how "synch"ed are synched slims?

If I had 2 of them together, would they be accurately enough synched that they'd be in phase and stay in phase, or would they drift in and out of phase like "skying" effects of the '60s (think tinny, like Itchykoo Park)

dunno if this link will work

http://www.allmusic.com/cg/amg.dll?p=amg&token=ADFEAEE47919DF49AB7520C99B3C4CC8B17FD21DD646 ED8F192E4F47CFFB3249915A6FCC7DA7B997B8B674B466AEF7 31A65A0FD686E75CF9D96C383D9D8EDB&sql=50:9u8m96bogepf~T

kdf
2005-10-18, 19:44
On 18-Oct-05, at 6:58 PM, Michaelwagner wrote:

>
> that all brings up another question that's been lurking in the back of
> my mind for some time:
>
> Just how "synch"ed are synched slims?
>
They are synced in that each song is buffered and started at the same
time. the accuracy seems to vary a bit depending on the network
topology and, to a lesser extent, the types of players. softsqueeze
synced with hardware players is apparently subject to some higher
latency.

Accuracy would be measured more in fractions of a second than degrees
of phase.

there is an RFE open to base sync on a more accurate network clock, but
I'm don't know when that might be implemented.

-kdf

max.spicer
2005-10-19, 00:50
I've unfortunately never managed to get softsqueeze to sync with my hardware player. Even over a single track, the sync gets out by at least a second. I suspect you need a fairly quick pc to run softsqueeze if you want to do this. Mine is a 1GHz machine running XP, which is probably not enough. That said, I'm fairly optimistic about the prospect of syncing two hardware devices.

Max


On 18-Oct-05, at 6:58 PM, Michaelwagner wrote:

>
> that all brings up another question that's been lurking in the back of
> my mind for some time:
>
> Just how "synch"ed are synched slims?
>
They are synced in that each song is buffered and started at the same
time. the accuracy seems to vary a bit depending on the network
topology and, to a lesser extent, the types of players. softsqueeze
synced with hardware players is apparently subject to some higher
latency.

Accuracy would be measured more in fractions of a second than degrees
of phase.

there is an RFE open to base sync on a more accurate network clock, but
I'm don't know when that might be implemented.

-kdf

mikeb
2005-10-19, 01:41
For what it's worth, I've got two Squeezebox2s and SoftSqueeze on a
1.8Ghz Windows XP machine that synchronize fairly consistently (server
is 6.1 on a 800Mhz FreeBSD machine and network is 100baseT to the
Windows box, 802.11g to the Squeezebox2s for those who care).

The SoftSqueeze does tend to get out of sync more often than the
others.. None of them are perfect all the time.

-- Mike

max.spicer wrote:
> I've unfortunately never managed to get softsqueeze to sync with my
> hardware player. Even over a single track, the sync gets out by at
> least a second. I suspect you need a fairly quick pc to run
> softsqueeze if you want to do this. Mine is a 1GHz machine running XP,
> which is probably not enough. That said, I'm fairly optimistic about
> the prospect of syncing two hardware devices.
>
> Max
>
> kdf Wrote:
>
>>On 18-Oct-05, at 6:58 PM, Michaelwagner wrote:
>>
>>
>>>that all brings up another question that's been lurking in the back
>>
>>of
>>
>>>my mind for some time:
>>>
>>>Just how "synch"ed are synched slims?
>>>
>>
>>They are synced in that each song is buffered and started at the same
>>time. the accuracy seems to vary a bit depending on the network
>>topology and, to a lesser extent, the types of players. softsqueeze
>>synced with hardware players is apparently subject to some higher
>>latency.
>>
>>Accuracy would be measured more in fractions of a second than degrees
>>of phase.
>>
>>there is an RFE open to base sync on a more accurate network clock, but
>>
>>I'm don't know when that might be implemented.
>>
>>-kdf
>
>
>

Michaelwagner
2005-10-19, 06:03
In the application I'm considering (several rooms in a spa each with own squeezebox, T-amp and speakers, so each has individual volume control), will I hear ugly phasing effects if I open a door and two areas wash into each other?

Michael

JJZolx
2005-10-19, 08:50
In the application I'm considering (several rooms in a spa each with own squeezebox, T-amp and speakers, so each has individual volume control), will I hear ugly phasing effects if I open a door and two areas wash into each other?
???

If you're going to sync them all, then why not take a traditional approach and use a whole-house audio system with one source (could still be a Squeezebox), a central amplifier, and impedance matching volume controls in each room? The SB/T-amp approach would be both a maintenance nightmare and a more costly.

mikeb
2005-10-19, 13:06
Yes you will.. sometimes. My two Squeezebox2s sit in the family room
downstairs and bedrooms upstairs. They have issues with sync
sometimes. It's annoying but manageable for home use. I wouldn't
find it acceptable for a business though.

On the plus side, I imagine the problem is solvable in software.

If you are really going to be purchasing a large number of them I
imagine you can leverage the situation to have Slim Devices do some
software enhancements to improve the situation. Or possibly hire your
own contractor to do the enhancements.

Also a spa would no doubt make some good possible advertising for Slim
Devices, so maybe you let them take some pictures inside with some
quotes in exchange for the extra work?

Hit them up, you don't know unless you try. They're a business just
like you, you may be able to help each other out.

-- Mike

Michaelwagner wrote:
> In the application I'm considering (several rooms in a spa each with own
> squeezebox, T-amp and speakers, so each has individual volume control),
> will I hear ugly phasing effects if I open a door and two areas wash
> into each other?
>
> Michael
>
>

Michaelwagner
2005-10-19, 14:16
If you're going to sync them all, then why not take a traditional approach
Because depending on the individual esthetician and the treatment being given, each room may play quiet relaxing music or the "general" channel. If the general channel, I have a potential phasing problem when the door opens.

stinkingpig
2005-10-19, 17:35
Mike Benjamin wrote:
>
> Yes you will.. sometimes. My two Squeezebox2s sit in the family room
> downstairs and bedrooms upstairs. They have issues with sync
> sometimes. It's annoying but manageable for home use. I wouldn't find
> it acceptable for a business though.

Clarification -- it's mildly annoying when playing short songs from
local media. It's unacceptable when playing Internet radio stations. I
actually ended up unsyncing when we started getting interested in
Internet radio, and we just play different music in different rooms now.

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's A Scientific Venture...
"If this is Paradise, I wish I had a lawnmower." -- The Talking Heads

Michaelwagner
2005-10-19, 21:09
Thanks. That doesn't sound like a very good situation ...